We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High energy”
Review of W Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Hollywood
Ranked #75 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Lots of energy. Lots to see. The rooftop deck is fantastic. Loved the daily pool parties. And the nightclub...drai s is high energy and great music. Try to get a drink in the living room is tough and the waitresses and bartenders won't even look at u....but that seems to b very LA. But the vibe is really nice great place to people watch. If u need anything at the hotel the guy I recommend is Kelly. One of the concierges He is good. Don't expect any help or anything but attitude from Brian the other very unhelpful and rude concierge The location of the hotel is great. Only change I would make is this is a very pet friendly hotel. But no grass area on which to walk your pet. Found that odd. But we love bringing our dog

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 927 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very nice hotel in Hollywood. Location is great for first timers that want to see all of LA very central for all sites around LA. Upscale hotel that will not disappoint. Pool isn't great from a price perspective as its a hot spot club pool bar so drinks are pricey. Nice setting though. Easy to get around with a car rental from this location. Hotel is nicely kept.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon Y, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Hi Justin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are a great hotel for exploring Hollywood and Los Angeles. Drai’s Hollywood throws great parties, day or night. Our Living Room bar is also a great spot to grab some cocktails and lounge. I’m glad you enjoyed the location and décor. We will see you again soon.

All the best,
Leon Y.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in june 2013. The hotel is in a fantastic location next to the hollywood walk of fame and facing the hollywood sign!
There is a pool and pool bar on the roof. Which was amazing!
Reception were helpful and courteous!
We were upgraded to a suite And also received a free bottle of champagne as it was our honeymoon! The room itself was quite large, clean and had an amazing shower.
One criticism was that there was only valet parking @ this hotel. Which cost 40$. I thought this was excessive. There was no option for self parking.
Overall this was a fantastic hotel and I would recommend it for people to stay in downtown Hollywood!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandybenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel was very disappointing of all w hotels we have stayed at. Staff gave away my reservation to someone else as im standing in line which caused argument between staff. it took 30 min to check in cause they didn't have any other rooms. No apology at all. Room had just been cleaned yet it smelled of smoke. Sheets were stained and blankets on bed were frayed and tattered. Very disgusting. felt like i was at motel 6. Complaints to staff went unheeded. Will never stay there again.

Room Tip: downtown area-they need security at front doors 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tbosurfer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon Y, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay. I apologize for the confusion during check-in and that you had to wait an additional 30 minutes to get into your room. We usually have each room inspected very thoroughly after it is cleaned and I am sorry to hear that it was not up to our usual standards. Please reach out to me at gmleon.young@whotels.com. I would like to connect with you on your recent stay and hopefully come to a resolution.

All the best,
Leon Y.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My key routinely got deprogrammed, and you need your key to ride the elevator anywhere as well as to access your room. The place is noisy with a relentless disco beat throughout. The room was comfortable and quiet, once I had managed to get in, with a view of a wall. Be prepared to be charged extra for everything, $12 for wifi, $5 for bottled water, $36 for parking. And don't be over 30, god forbid. The parking staff were the best feature - polite, efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crabbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon Y, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Hi,

We are a very lively property. Loud music and guests celebrating is a common feature of the hotel. We also host a lot of large events regularly. I am glad to hear that your room was comfortable and noise free throughout your stay. Sometimes our room keys do get re-programmed, mostly as a security feature. It was an oversight for you to experience it each day. I apologize for the inconvenience.

All charges for our internet, parking and beverages in the guest rooms are comparable to other hotels in the area. We do offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the Living Room and our Whatever/Whenever talent members are more than happy to deliver additional water should you need it.
I will be happy to pass your compliments along to our valet. Their efficiency and friendliness is complimented often. I hope we can welcome you back for another stay soon.

All the best,
Leon Y.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Love the central location in down town Hollywood. Look to your right see the Hollywood sign, look to your left capitol records. The walk of stars is right out the door. Metro is right next to hotel and goes everywhere! Entering the hotel is like waking the red carpet. The rooms are so clean, and stylish. Bliss products are left, facewash, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc.. The gym is first rate. 24 hours, Great selection of machines with built-in ipod docks and tv. Free earphones. Bliss tidy towels, water and apples, plus variety and Hollywood reporter. Nice yoga studio, with mats, Pilates equipment, boxing gloves and bags, and more. Staff is very friendly and helpful. House keeping also left little extras (slippers, etc) Now for the issues.. the pool on the roof was closed to anyone under 21 as.they were constantly hosting a loud club like party. My daughter was heartbroken... also very crowded and loud at night. Club scene here is active... lines out the door.. people who were intoxicated were swearing and making out in front of my daughter. No parking options except for valet and it is 40 a night. Overall nice place, just not too family friendly.

1  Thank Deena F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Attended there after a lead for singers, Dancers & great bands.

Was not disappointed. Great venue, lead singer was fantastic, band brilliant & dances the best, whole nite was a great buzz. Packed.

Get there early, pre book some seats, either way just attend if your into great musicians & entertainers. A must if you can fit in the late night & lack of sleep whilst cruising the world & Los Angles.

Loved the architecture, spiral stairs, hanger bridge & chandler, nice building & setting.

Room Tip: We did not stay there just went for the entertainment but would like to stay there next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon Y, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Hi Ross,

Thank you for the compliments. Sunday Jazz is a very popular event we host every Sunday. I’m glad you were able to experience it. I agree that those wanting to attend should make reservations in advance for the best seats in the Living Room. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,
Leon Y.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,067 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#22 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,879 reviews
Hollywood
Dream Hollywood
Dream Hollywood
#35 of 355 in Los Angeles
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Hollywood
Kimpton Everly Hotel
Kimpton Everly Hotel
#5 of 355 in Los Angeles
106 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hollywood

Address: 6250 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#57 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#71 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $264 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Hollywood Hotel is always ready for its close-up at the entertainment capital of the world's epicenter, where glitz, glamour, power shopping, vibrant dining, and cutting-edge style meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your W Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing