We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W means WOW”
Review of W Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Hollywood
Ranked #73 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“W means WOW”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are staying in the heart of Hollywood this is the spot. Just a few blocks from the Graummans star walk of fame, and clubs--perfect location. Or you can stay in a lovely room great bed excellent spa techs a nightclub and the Living Room for drink and people watching supreme We also became hooked on the sound machine in our room and slept 10 hours and bought our own. The decor is contemporary and staff very attentive. Party on, relax, or never leave your room and create your own experience.

Room Tip: Cost and location. Ours was a great size, full bar, champagne on ice, and a lovely sitting nook that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    500
    253
    127
    115
See reviews for
248
517
125
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent service when checking in, a great lobby and atmosphere but the room was a bit funky in style and not that big. If you like to party and be seen then this is a good hotel, especially the bar on top. Other posters have said their rooms were noisy but mine was quiet, view out the back of nothing in partucular. For business outside of the entertainment industry (yes, that would describe my group), convenience to the highway was a big plus, and within walking distance to many good restaurants. Room was a little on the dark side even with every light turned on but I would say it was a fun stay with different vibes than you get from a typical business hotel.

I really must compliment the service of the doorman, valet, bellman and check in staff! They make a great impression upon arrival.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren T, Public Relations Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello, and thanks for staying with us in Hollywood and for taking the time to comment on your experience! I, too, love the location - it is central to everywhere in the city and there's always something to see and do. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon!

All the best,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, FL
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Hollywood! The hallways and rooms are lighter and a bit brighter than most W hotels, but all the same comforts and amenities. I love this hotel chain...very comfortable and great beds!! The bath products are from Bliss and they are worth taking home!

The front desk staff is very warm and gracious as well as the valet and everyone that we ran into from room service to housekeeping...all smiles and warm welcomes.

The hotel is walking distance to several bars and restaurants and the train/subway station is under/adjacent to the hotel. To be honest, I don't know where the train goes to or how to use it, but seems like a great way to get other places so long as it's on the train route. From LAX, you would have to change trains 3 times, so sort of difficult, but a cheap way to get to/from the airport.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itrvlfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren T, Public Relations Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
This is exactly the kind of experience we want people to have - the true taste of Hollywood glamour and excitement. Thank you for your comments - we hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was traveling though Los Angeles for 1 day, alone. The room was spacious and perfectly appointed, although at times I felt it was quite dark in the room, which impedes ability to read. However, reading is most probably the last thing you would do at this hotel. It's as if there is a permanent party downstairs where all the guests are made to feel really welcome. Service was impeccable I would not recommend it for elderly couples or couples with kids. If you have an appetite for fun, in a convenient area then this is the hotel for you

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc-hirschowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

When you walk out the front door, you get that leftover morning wino smell by the subway door right outside. Hotel is not really in the great location that other people say.

They seem to be more interested in the night life that comes to the hotel than the actual guests who stay there. Don't know why the put the concierge in an office rather than having him visible where people actually know that he can help!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juantwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren T, Public Relations Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments - we definitely appreciate the feedback. We value all guests of the hotel and I apologize if you did not receive the service that we strive to provide. Our concierge used to be located in the Living Room at a large, open desk; but based on customer feedback, we decided to move them into the glass rooms. While it does separate them slightly, they now can provide guests with their undivided attention away from the activity occurring in the public spaces and are always available to assist you with your every wish.

It pains me to hear that you were not happy with your stay. I hope you choose to stay with us again, so we have the opportunity to show you how amazing W Hollywood should and can be.

All the best,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel seems to be good value, especially on a discounted price via specials on Starwood (SPG) or if it comes up on a Priceline 4* search or name-your-price. The rooftop pool area is good, but it is run as a separate club, so hotel guests are treated no better than anyone else and they have some limits on use at end of afternoon on weekends. You can't bring ANY food or drink to the pool area, lounge chairs.
The hotel is attached to the Metro subway line, which should be useful. I did't use it because I had a car. The valet parking is about $5 too expensive, but the response time was quite good.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on 2nd floor because its same floor as nightclub level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing stay, this is not the property for you. This is the hotel if you want to experience the social vibe of Hollywood. The location is great for sight seeing and exploring Hollywood and Beverly Hills. The lounge bar is crowded and busy every night. Great hotel to have drinks and hang out with colleagues/friends after work. The rooms are spacious, well maintained and comfortable. A couple of incidents made my recent stay not up to par with my expectations of Starwood - the clock in my room had incorrect time and it was not user friendly to correct myself. An engineer had to be called to set the clock! This is highly annoying, especially when you arrive late and exhausted from a different time zone. The second issue was the valet could not find my colleague's rental car the following morning! It took them half a day to locate it! Fortunately we had a second rental to start our day with, but the unfriendly attitude and slow service from the valet in this case was not a good experience! Overall, service is weak but good location if you don't mind the crowds and constant partying!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exotic_Flower21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren T, Public Relations Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and yes, W Hollywood is definitely not the place for a relaxing and quiet getaway. Located on the iconic intersection of Hollywood & Vine, W Hollywood is in the epicenter of Hollywood's excitement and scene.

Lacking service though is not part of this package. I apologize that you were not pleased with your stay and did not get a true Hollywood experience - that is never the impression we want to leave with anyone. Hollywood is an amazing adventure and we strive to make sure all guests have the time of their lives.

I hope to welcome you back, so we have the opportunity to show you how it's really done.

All the best,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,457 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Hollywood
Villa Delle Stelle
Villa Delle Stelle
#129 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hollywood

Property: W Hollywood
Address: 6250 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#58 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#72 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Hollywood Hotel is always ready for its close-up at the entertainment capital of the world's epicenter, where glitz, glamour, power shopping, vibrant dining, and cutting-edge style meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TravelUp, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your W Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing