We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale neighborhood restaurant”
Review of Tavern

Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #371 of 9,953 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Westside
Cross street: Darlington
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Upscale neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Tavern is an upscale neighborhood restaurant. Excellent menu, kept to a short list of well-prepared seasonal items. Very good wine list. Always busy with knowledgeable foodies from Brentwood and it's environs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    62
    22
    15
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Tavern was a great spot to reconnect with some friends. Great friday night scene and great service. Would definitely go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a find! Could have eaten here every night!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had just arrived in LA and wandered down from the Brentwood Inn desperate for a beer. On the verge of giving up we stumbled across this place. It had a proper bar - the first we had found that evening. It also houses a large restaurant that we decided would be wasted on us owing to travel exhaustion.

We returned the next night to discover that the food service stops at 2130 and with only a few minutes to go we did not want to rush.

So on our third night we 'took the plunge' - and what an experience it turned out to be. You can eat in the bar or the large atrium - which we chose.

On our first visit we shared a Roasted Peach Salad - fantastic. So good we had one each on our second visit. The fish on the first night was perfectly cooked as was the lamb and belly pork on our subsequent visit. There is an extensive wine list carrying many domestic varieties. The Stephen Ross was excellent. Our server on our last night was Sarah T - what a gem - worth twice what they are paying her. She really made the evening for us.

The service could not be faulted - with an unusually high ratio of staff to customers. The manager and Maître D' were on hand to ensure the smooth running. The only minor criticism is that some of the tables are a bit close together - that's probably why they employ 'slim' staff.

We have been fortunate enough to eat in some amazing restaurants on three continents and this rates as ONE OF THE BEST.

Stephen and Paul

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonWeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Jessica Alba was in the house.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I had lunch with 5 co-workers this week. I thought the restaurant was really unique. The glass ceiling was covered on the inside by fabric that let the light in. The room was very bright and really made it feel outside.

Everyone thought their food was excellent. Service was perfect.

Being able to see Jessica Alba was pretty cool. No one bothered her other than my table taking a couple pics from the distant. My understanding is that this is a good place to spot celebrities.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York, United States
Level Contributor
199 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice but not memorable”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This restaurant is supposedly a "hot" LA place. We did see one celebrity but the food was nothing special. Menu was limited, service a little slow and I would not rush back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FredSiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing