We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great school”

University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Double Decker Bus Tour
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Malibu Stars' Homes Tour and 48-hour Hop-on Hop-off Double Decker Bus
More Info
$157.50*
and up
Los Angeles Air Tour Experience
Ranked #26 of 559 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a great school”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Went for a visit and this school did not disappoint. What a awesome campus and the tour guides do a pretty good job of showing of there wonderful school. Totally enjoyed the experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brightsmile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    144
    40
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vandenberg AFB
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Medical Care”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Staff at UCLA is above and beyond ANY other hospital we have ever been to (and we have seen more than our share). They have a uniqueness where they strongly incorporate family in every decision they make. They're extremely thorough, precise, quick & open communication. They always have a smooth process in the way they do things no matter what area/department/service you are getting care through. I trust the care and decisions 100% that our Doctors make at UCLA. They have time and time again gone above and beyond what any other hospital has ever done. Because of them, they have saved my son's life. For us, it's most certainly worth the long distance travel for medical care.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseVandenbergAFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic college and great campus”
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Very large campus, almost a little city on its own. Near the city LA. Great buildings and well maintained. Friendly and helpful students. Highly ranked college, although UCLA is a state school. Worth visiting if you consider going to college in CA.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendler-Philipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“UCLA, One of Two L.A. Campuses Worth A Visit”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I will begin by admitting that I am biased, I am a Bruin. If one has the time there are two campuses worth visiting in Los Angeles, UCLA and USC. By far the most beautiful, architecturally, is UCLA. There has been a cross-town rivalry that began way before I was born (I'm 68) and I suspect this rivalry will exist way past my time on this earth.

Royce Hall is the architectural centerpiece of UCLA and serves as a concert hall as well as other functions. I have attended jazz concerts by John Coltrane, Miles Davis and Kenny Burrell here. Other significant places on the campus include Pauley Pavilion built by John Wooden after UCLA had won its first two NCAA Basketball Championships and Bunche Hall named after Ralph Bunche who negotiated the treaty that helped to establish Israel,

I attended UCLA during the early 60's when Westwood was pretty much dead after 6:00 p.m., so much so that Sears had to move out. Then, Westwood had only two movie theatres. Today, Westwood is bustling, all hours of the day and evening with crowds who come to visit multitudes of restaurants and movie theaters.

Notable Bruins include Jackie Robinson, the first African American to play in Major League Baseball (for the Dodgers); Ralph Bunche, U.S. Dept. of State whose accomplishment is already noted; John Wooden who won more NCAA Basketball Championships than any coach in history whose first team went 30-0 with the tallest player being 6'-5"; Walt Hazzard who led Wooden's first Championship team, started "The Wooden Dynasty" and later became UCLA's Coach; Arthur Ashe who rose to the top of the Tennis World and sponsored several humanitarian efforts; and Mayor Tom Bradley who became the first African American Mayor of Los Angeles.

UCLA's history in Los Angeles and the world is rich and so is, I must admit, is that of USC which is an older institution. Again, both institutions are worth a visit if you are in Los Angeles. But, in my opinion, UCLA's campus is the more noteworthy, today.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cgmeigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Westwood Village Farmer's Market”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We made a brief stop off the hwy and ended up in Westwood Village, UCLA area. It was a fun area with many eateries, stores and best of all, we found a small farmer's market! I love farmer's markets! fresh produce, goods and music!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank FlipFlopWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) also viewed

 

Been to University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing