We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & location”
Review of Jerry's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jerry's Motel
Ranked #22 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Totally recommend it. Jerry's a great host and helps out if he can.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven_Tai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 775 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

Just came back from a trip to Los Angeles
I stayed for 3 nights (Sept 4, 5 and 10) at Jerry's Motel.

1) Good Location
You can either walk downtown or hop on the bus # 16 which will take you to the Pershing Square subway station.
Also, it is about 5-10 minutes away (driving) from Union Station.
There are no fancy restaurants closeby but there is a very nice and cheap taco place about a block or two down 3rd Avenue.

2) Good rooms
The rooms are clean, fairly sized and air conditioned.
There is also satellite TV

3) Great staff
Very helpful, patient and professional staff.
Jerry himself will drive you to the train station if it fits in his schedule.

I would recommend this hotel for:
- a short stay
- someone looking for a fairly-priced, well located motel

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

As for me i went out most of time, and only come back to a nice sleep, i just need a clean room and standard facilities. This hotel offered me that, and i am happy with this choice.
It also gives you free parking and plenty of chances to go to the town.

If u want a 4-star or 5 star hotel such as Ritz or Hilton, then waste another couple hundred dollar, otherwise this hotel did the job for me.
Definately recommend for budget travellers

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denellelone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Hi! I'm a tourist from Malaysia who plans to spend few nights in LA and guess what?! This is probably one of the best budget hotel I've ever stay. You probably don't get a bell boy to carry your stuff or limosine to the doorstep but the services provided by Jerry's family is far beyond expectation. Clean towels, bed sheets, drinking waters, plugs, fridge, flat screen TV, High-speed internet and more amenities will definitely not be problem for you. Travelling without own transportation? Is not a problem now since the location is strategic while they're able to provide details needed for public transport which makes your life much easier and cost efficient.Anyway, i would also like to thanks the whole family who treated me so good during the trip. If you guys really want a good room with affordable price, there are no way you're not staying in this motel!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teckwei86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Good sized room with queen sized bed. TV had many channels. Walk in closet. Bathroom is a bit older style, but clean - which is the most important part. We received two bottles of water upon arrival, which was handy as we were thirsty. A/C unit worked perfectly - cooled down the room quickly after coming back from a full day out to find it warm. Very convenient location close to downtown, close to Universal Studios, close to Hollywood and Beverly Hills. You can get to all those places with a 15-30 min drive depending on traffic. Will definitely stay there again if in LA.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captnhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I stayed at Jerry's Motel for 3 nights in August. I was travelling alone and thought it was a great place to spend a few nights. I thought it was great that Jerry offered to pick me up downtown after dark - wonderful service. The motel is about a 5 minute drive to downtown, and there is a bus right around the corner that goes there. The motel was very clean and I was provided with a bottle of water and a piece of fruit everyday. :) Lots of tv channels and awesome air conditioning too. The price was very good and I would definitely stay there again if I'm ever back in LA.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed here for 1 week while sightseeing around L/A.
For $65 a night we can't complain!
Jerry & his family are all very polite and helpfull.
We bumped into them most days and they would ask how we were, where we had been & gave us lots of advise/directions.
We hired a car for the week, Hollywood is 20mis away.
Santa Monica - 30mins away.
Free parking @ Jerrys - brill!
Good size room & it was cleaned daily.
Yes a little dated, but who cares for $65 a night in a good size, clean room!
Fridge & microwave in the room.
We felt safe in the area.
Perfect for us as we were traveling on a budget.
We would definately stay here again.
Thanks Jerry!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike187432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Normandie
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
705 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#93 of 355 in Los Angeles
63 reviews
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#134 of 355 in Los Angeles
316 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Address: 285 Lucas Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90026-6144
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#75 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $107 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel. We also offer all our guest free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing