We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True story -- Jerry knows customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jerry's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jerry's Motel
Ranked #11 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Worth Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True story -- Jerry knows customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

True story: I made my plans for a business trip to Los Angeles about three weeks ago. Swayed by the positive reviews of Jerry's Motel here, I booked a room. Important note: Jerry (yes, there is a Jerry) does not ask for credit card information prior to arrival. Unconventional and while a little unnerving for some business travelers (who connect giving a CC# with locking in a reservation), it is, on the other hand, a fair gesture and one that conveys trust. Rest of story: Through a business contact I secure lodging closer to my business event (E3 at the LACC, the largest convention in Los Angeles), at no cost to me, so of course I choose to stay at that hotel. However, I forget to inform Jerry that I no longer need the previously reserved room at his motel. Fast forward to the first day of the event -- the day after I was to have checked in at Jerry's. I get a call on my cell phone and it is Jerry, who in the friendliest and an almost gentle manner, asks if I intend to stay at the hotel. I am shocked at my own forgetfulness. I feel terrible. I apologize to Jerry. I offer to make good on the reservation. Repeat apologies. Jerry will have none of it. He understands. He asks if I made it to Los Angeles safely. How my accommodations are. He says there is no need to send any money but to come by the motel to have a look and to please consider his operation on my next trip. Bottom line: Jerry is clearly a fair, honest, stand-up guy. I flaked on him and he never made me feel like the idiot I was. I certainly cost Jerry a couple hundred dollars in lost revenue during the biggest business week in Los Angeles. My hats off to you, sir. May the good reviews for Jerry's Motel continue -- you very likely deserve them. And I will definitely consider your motel on my next trip to LA. Thank you Jerry for your unconventional and unusually fair approach to business.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlos99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    284
    47
    12
    1
See reviews for
67
366
107
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

If you have plans to be gone most of the day and just need a clean and tidy place to refresh yourself ... I recommend this motel. The only negative is that it's wedged in between two less-than-desirable properties, although I still felt safe. EZ walking distance to rapid transit system and convention centers. Owner/manager is very willing to accommodate any special needs.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debcopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

Stayed there twice - have no problem recommending it. What I need is a clean, comfortable room, big clean bed, nice bath, TV, free WiFi. Jerry's Motel had all those, plus very friendly, cooperative staff. And free parking!. Close to downtown!

If you want a Hilton, and have an extra $200 to spare, go to the Hilton. if your needs are more modest, like mine, then stay in Jerry's.

Michael
IRELAND

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneofmanyMikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

As part of my relocation to Los Angeles I needed to find a new place to live. In the interim, I discovered Jerry's Motel and stayed there for a few days while I searched for housing. What a great experience! Conveniently located near downtown and most of the major freeways, I was able to use Jerry's as my home base until I secured a place of my own.

The service is outstanding, the rooms are clean, and parking is included. The area is not what some would consider ideal but I liked it and never felt like my security was at risk.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptych42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

I stayed at Jerry's for 4 nights in March and had a great experience. I was attending a conference downtown at the Westin, where rooms run over $200 per night. Jerry's was about at 10 minute walk away, and charged $65 per night. The staff, which is one family, was very friendly, and helped fix the wireless internet when it was broken. The rooms were very clean and very safe (though nothing too fancy). I ended up needing a receipt months later to get reimbursed for the stay, and they promptly emailed a copy of my receipt to me. For an inexpensive place to stay when visiting downtown, Jerry's is good option.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Washington123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

If you are looking with competitive rates in LA downtown area, this is the one.
The hotel's location is great and the service excellent.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raygm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

I was skeptical at first, but some good reviews on this site convinced me to give this place a shot. At $65/night with free parking, free wireless (that works), cable TV with a large flat-screen, microwave/fridge, and just minutes' walk from downtown, you definitely cannot beat the price. On top of that, the room was clean and comfortable, and the owner was friendly providing good service.

Remember that to a certain extent you get what you pay for, so don't expect luxury. Also don't expect it to feel like a budget chain hotel such as Super 8 or Knight's Inn. This is less... shall we say "updated" than those chain motels tend to be. It feels instead like a really great $15 room you'd find while backpacking through Latin America. And once you shift your paradigm in this way you can appreciate how nice the room really is. It's small and the old building feels outdated and a bit drab. But it's clean and comfortable with personable details.

The parking and rooms are open to the outside (not gated) and some prior reviewers described the neighborhood as sketchy. The motel is very close to downtown (I walked in 5 minutes to the Marriott) but located in a rapidly-changing neighborhood that is mixed-income quickly turning toward low-income depending on which direction you walk. I felt 100% comfortable and safe staying here for two nights alone, as a White woman in my 30s, and visibly pregnant at the time. One night I walked home from dinner downtown alone after dark, at about 8pm. The next night I drove home around midnight and parked in the motel lot. Never did I feel unsafe or uncomfortable during my stay here. And even as a pregnant woman, I slept like a baby in the bed.

There is no bathtub, just a standup shower. But it's clean with plenty of hot water and water pressure. The owner even gives you a Pert-Plus shampoo and body lotion when you check in.

If you want a VERY reasonable price in a central location then Jerry's Motel cannot be beat. I will definitely stay there again if I need to be in downtown LA.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kysa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hotel Normandie
#20 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#54 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Property: Jerry's Motel
Address: 285 Lucas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#76 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel. We also offer all our guest free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing