We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jerry's motel”
Review of Jerry's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jerry's Motel
Ranked #10 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse, Franche-Comte, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“jerry's motel”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

once more we went to jerry's motel last summer and again ..... great! Welcome outstanding always a smile!!!! Definitely a place to go in Los Angeles!!!! Quiet, clean, close to everywhere in LA and Jerry's family always ready to help you!!! See you next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thierry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    287
    47
    12
    1
See reviews for
68
371
109
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I am extremely happy that we booked woth jerrys for our 4 night stay in LA. The price was at least $500 cheaper than quotes from our travel agent. Upon driving in we were a little skeptical but the whole checkin process put our minds at ease. The owner was extremely helpful & we loved the little goodie bag. The room was awesome much better than I was expecting. Modern tv & loads of space to store our bags & a large shower. Perfect for what we needed & very good pricing. We had a hire car so the location didn't bother us. I would definitely recommend hiring a car it makes life easier & the traffic wasn't as bas as I was expecting :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooper_Girl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived late in the evening to check in, and were greeted by a lovely young lady who was more than welcoming. We received a goody bag full of treats, and she gave us great directions and suggestions of what to do.
Our room was on the first floor. It was just as described online. Clean, comfortable and basic - everything we needed for our quick stop in LA.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovingLifePhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

So, I have been to this motel couple of times with my wife and we were extremely satisfied each time with our stay.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. Stayed in different rooms both downstairs and upstairs - no noise complaint in both floors.
Easy and fast check in with an I pad! Was presented with a box of gifts ( snacks, juices etc) each time. Easy check out - just leave the keys on the desk in your room and walk out. Free wi fii and parking.
Neighbourhood is ok. I have read some people were suspicious of the surroundings. It is just a miiddle to lower class neighbourhood but no need to get streesed, I have only seen families around.
You also get a list from the reception giving you address details of what is around for breakfast, dinner etc. You can also order delivery - we tried the pizza place they recommended which was very good food.

We left the car in the parking lot and walked to the nearest metro station ( 15 minute walk - 7th street station, you can ask the helpful employee's in the reception how you should walk to downtown, they hand out a map and also give you instructions). After you get a metro card and a day pass ( 5+1 dollars), you can travel within the downtown area and visit the major sights easily. Last time, we were there we watched the 4th of July fireworks at Grant Park and then since it was late we took a cab from Union Station ( 10 dollars with the tip).

Overall, very nice and affordable motel close to Downtown LA, we always stay here when we visit LA in a weekend trip. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzgurRosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I started off our gap year in LA, spending 6 nights at Jerry's Motel.
We arrived before our room was ready, but the staff allowed us to store our baggage. They even gave us water, metro cards and a map to allow us to explore the city whilst our room was getting prepared.
Its a downhill 5 minute walk into downtown LA, where we easily caught the subway or a bus to many of the city's tourist destination. You can also catch a metro bus outside the motel straight to The Grove and Farmers Market (a must see!).
The rooms are definitely well equipped.
The beds were extremely comfortable and clean.
We had a flat screen tv with cable, as well as a microwave
And mini fridge.
The rooms also had super strong A/C- very effective mid summer.
Whilst the bathroom was nothing special, it was trumped by all the positive aspects of Jerry's.
If I were to go back I'd definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Sumit welcomed us perfectly despite our late check-in. Just call the reception with the outside phone and someone comes and greets you. He provided us good tips for restaurants, breakfast and activities in LA with corresponding adresses (very helpful when you have a GPS), plus a lovely welcome bag with cereal bars, small bottles of water, apple juice and other treats.
Very good location only if you have a car. You're close to Downtown and to the highway which goes to most parts of the city. Only 15-20 minutes drive from West Hollywood and Universal Studio ! There are laundries just 2 minutes drive from the motel.
The rooms are spacious, clean, well-furnished, fully equipped, with a queen size bed. The bathroom is a bit small and it is quite dark when you're in the shower. The neighbours (private appartments behind the motel) can be quite noisy some evenings but just close the bathroom door and it should be OK.
Very good value in LA considering the service, location, and the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiliSwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This place was really nice, the air conditioning was great, bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. We had to check out by 11am but the motel was happy to hold on to our luggage until we needed it again so we didn't have to drag it around while we waited for out shuttle at 7pm. The location wasn't all the best, at least 10-15min drive away from downtown LA or Hollywood, but overall it's good if you want somewhere clean, friendly and just generally nice to stay at for a while. We were also given complimentary wine, which was a nice touch!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantallouise44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
661 reviews
Hotel Normandie
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,087 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,946 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#59 of 351 in Los Angeles
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Property: Jerry's Motel
Address: 285 Lucas Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90026-6144
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#76 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel. We also offer all our guest free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing