We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly, convenient and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerry's Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jerry's Motel
Ranked #12 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly, convenient and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Small, clean rooms with a very comfortable bed. Double glazed windows mean hardly any noise during the night. Friendly and helpful service. Easy walk to NW part of downtown. Free wi fi is a great bonus and this is a hotel that offers great value. I was in LA for work and was really only using the room to sleep and shower, so it was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MurrayJofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    259
    44
    12
    1
See reviews for
62
329
101
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Great little place very helpful + friendly staff they gave us maps+directions to the area + points of interest,very comfortable great size central to most things.....it takes no longer than 2hrs to get anywhere...free wifi...shower lacked quite a bit of pressure which is the only downer+i loved people watching from the motel...highly recommended + would definitely stay again

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mzjack50n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

small and unfancy but clean motel with very helpful and friendly staff who gave us good tips about where to go in LA, including a good map; very handy for downtown; free WIFI; free parking; microwave; no breakfast but there are plenty of places to eat in LA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sphillips_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

What a great find, we stayed for 3 nights on our way to New Zealand and what a perfect spot. Close to downtown, just off a main street for bus transportation. The staff was great, helpful, room was clean and had all you needed for a stay over.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmmara10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This motel lived up to the reviews and the pictures! A really comfy, clean and smart motel, we were so pleased we chose jerrys as our accommodation whilst we stayed in LA. There is free parking and wi fi. It is a good 15 minute drive to sunset, but all in all a good base.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Check in was very easy, the gentleman that checked us in was very friendly and informative. He gave us mps, directions and advice-- and a little goody bag of snacks. The motel is very clean. It's close to dodger stadium and downtown .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterQ784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is why I love TripAdvisor: were it not for it, I never would have stayed at Jerry's Motel. Maybe I'm a lodging snob, but it just would never occur to me to stay at a motor inn in a big city. My feeling is that I'd rather pay a little more to stay at a place with interior hallways, a lobby and other things that convey -- even if they don't necessarily result in -- a higher level of service. But at Jerry's Motel, the savings is not minimal, and I was very, very happy with my stay.

Here are some things I loved about it: the location is very convenient to downtown, BUT IT HAS FREE PARKING! Unheard of anywhere else in LA, practically. There's a cheerfulness to the place, imbued by the staff, that defies seedy stereotypes of places like this. It's clean, well-kept and comfortable. Nothing is more wonderful about this place, though, than the price. $90/night. What a steal.

Now, if you are someone who is more comfortable with the predictability of a Hampton Inn in a suburban environment, this may not be the place for you. The surroundings represent urban Los Angeles, not Beverly Hills or West Hollywood. I like its lack of pretense, but it's not a fit for everyone. I also think that because we've all seen the seedy underbelly of LA depicted in TV shows and movies, it's easy to jump to conclusions about the Westlake neighborhood. It definitely can feel deserted at night and you'll need a car. But evil lurking around every corner? No... you just need to be smart.

At this price point, it's not appropriate to whine about anything. OK, I'll say this: the wi-fi wasn't great. BUT IT WAS $90/NIGHT!!! I used the personal hotspot on my phone instead... big deal. Jerry's Motel was fantastic. I'm sure I'll be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank George_PConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#42 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,780 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Property: Jerry's Motel
Address: 285 Lucas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#77 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel. We also offer all our guest free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing