We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy 4-night stay”
Review of Jerry's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jerry's Motel
Ranked #16 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at Jerry's Motel for 4 days the first week of April.

We really enjoyed our stay in Room 8 (second floor). The room was a very good size and comfy, with a large TV and nice ensuite shower. I loved that housekeeping provided a make-up remover wipe along with the shampoo and body washes each day. Nice touch!

Jerry and staff were also very helpful and the welcome snack bag was much appreciated after our long flight.

The only thing I would say about the motel is be careful if your car is quite low down as the curb into the driveway is quite high up.

Nonetheless, we will definitely stay at Jerry's next time we visit LA.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harrietthespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 775 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had a great experience. The guy at the front desk was super friendly and helpful. We got a top floor room and helped us carry our luggage. He also welcomed us with a little bag of snacks. The location is superb. Staples center is just a 5 minute drive. Around the corner there's a mexican store and a mexican restaurant with actual mexican food. The room is small, but has every detail considered. Bathroom amenities, TV, internet, safe...everything convenient and at an excellent price. Would definitely consider it again for another visit to LA.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room. Get early, parking lot gets full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatriciaHuerta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Picked this because of it's location, and excellent Tripadvisor reviews.

I think we picked the wrong weekend to visit LA, as it was the Marathon on the Sunday, and a lot of the roads wewre closed.

The motel was OK, and check-in was pleasant and informal. Our room was on the ground floor and fairly noisy. people walking past our window frequently. It was however well equipped and clean.

Our main problem was the location. It's juust on the outskirts of the city centre, and appears to right in the latin/mexican quarter. Really didn't seem to be a salubrious end of town at all. Certainly would not like to walk out at nights to a restaurant.

I had to fill our hire car with petrol, and was struggling to find anywhere that spoke decent English.

Overall, a reasonable place for citty centre, but would not rush back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lochspouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a small (verging on tiny) old motel that has been stylishly updated and is a great value. I found the bed very comfortable and slept extremely well. I was on the upper level and I noticed the floor creaking under my feet a little, so I wonder if maybe the lower rooms might be a bit noisier.
The manager was helpful and courteous, the room was well appointed (although I did notice dust in the closet), and overall it was an enjoyable stay.
A word about the neighbourhood... it's very closer to downtown but other destinations are much easier to reach from here if you have a car. Visitors walking in the surrounding areas may feel a bit out of place. One great feature nearby, however, is the Echo Park Deep Pool. A ten minute walk away, you can swim in this fantastic facility for only 2.50. The day I went wasn't too crowded.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolmillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I really can't say anything bad out this motel. our room was room 7 on the upper floor, it was spotlessly clean with plenty of towels, toiletries and a fantastic shower. The bed was queen size and very comfortable. The owners were a lovely a couple who answered all our questions and were always on hand to help if we needed it.

The location: easy walking distant to downtown and many attractions and we chose the hop on hop off tour bus to get around LA. Now if you leave the motel and walk directly towards the big building as directed by the owners it feels very safe (during the day at least)but if you wander the wrong the way (one street behind the motel) it is a different matter. Our bus driver called it the ghetto and it felt like it. My advice would be don't wander and you will be fine. Their was some yelling and banging from the apartments behind on our second night but other than that we slept well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna1981xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

best motel we stayed at! wonderful service from the staff and easy to find. very neat and clean rooms and good price! can warmly recommend to stay at Jerry's if you are going to Los Angeles. I will stay at Jerry's if i am going to Los Angeles again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoFille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Luckily, we stayed for only one night. I don't think I could stay for another night in the room whihc was claimed to be non-smoking but was soaked in smoke. Not fresh cigarette smoke but the type that you would get from long period of smokinf that was soaked into the furniture and carpet. We had our child with us which they charged and didn't provide any extra bedding. I wouldn't recommedn this place for families with little kids.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nurcadisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerrysMotel, Manager at Jerry's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take all feedback seriously and after inspecting your room after check out, we were unable to find the smell of smoke in your room.

All of our rooms are non-smoking and we have a zero tolerance policy for smoking in any of our rooms. Smoking inside a room results in a $250 or more cleaning charge. Luckily, our guests have been respectful of our strict no smoking policy and we have not had to charge this fee in more than 1 year.

Although you did not request a change of room, we wish we could have accommodated you in a different room if you felt uncomfortable. Unfortunately, this was not possible since we were sold out. But rest assured that our carpets and furniture are deep cleaned on a regular basis to keep our rooms as fresh as possible. From time to time, if you leave your door or window open for too long and there is a strong breeze, you might end up with outdoor smells inside your room. This is easily resolvable by turning on either the A/C or fan.

Additionally, as mentioned during check in, all of our rooms have only either 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Beds and can only accommodate a maximum of 2 people per room. Since you arrived with 2 adults plus 1 older child, the room you reserved with two small twin/single beds could not comfortably accommodate all of you. We do not offer nor advertise the availability of rollaway beds. Typically, under no circumstances is a third person allowed to stay in a room. But as a courtesy we allowed you to keep your reservation with an extra person charge – a fee that is standard in the hotel industry. Please note this policy is strictly enforced along with our no smoking policy.

We are sorry we do not provide any rooms that fit the needs of 3 people in 1 room. We always recommend our guests do plenty of research on where they are staying to make sure we will be able to provide everything they need to make their stay comfortable and enjoyable.

If you have any additional questions, feel free to contact us directly. Thank you for staying and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Normandie
#21 of 355 in Los Angeles
705 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#34 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#91 of 355 in Los Angeles
63 reviews
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#135 of 355 in Los Angeles
316 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Address: 285 Lucas Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90026-6144
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#75 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $107 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel. We also offer all our guest free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing