We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say, except "full marks"!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerry's Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jerry's Motel
Ranked #12 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
anywhere in the world
Level Contributor
296 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“What can I say, except "full marks"!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Okay, so we picked this place cos of trip advisor ratings. And overall, it lives up to them with bells on!!! Awesome!!! For this price, it is not heaven on earth of course. Let's be real. But a great stay and great value. Let me start with the drawbacks.

It is very close to downtown, but it is not downtown. It's kinda in the middle of nowhere. There is nothing of note nearby if you don't have a car. It's not a dangerous district, we felt perfectly safe, rather it's a dead district. There are no places to eat within 800m (at least, that you would want to eat at). But you can get buses to downtown nearby, so its isn't a real issue. The walk to downtown is not out of the question either, for people who like to stroll.

That said, let's get on to why I gave it a 5.

#1 It is very close to downtown LA.
#2 Very, very nice rooms, recently renovated. Very homely. My wife just loved the room!
#3 Nice bathrooms, all new, and with useful/nice products provided (a nice surprise).
#4 Free parking (useful if you rent a car, and as costs are very low in LA, I suggest you do that)
#5 Free wifi (not the fastest, but it worked)
#6 Jerry is so nice, so polite, so helpful, it was a pleasure to stay at his place. Thanks, Jerry!

Bottom line is this. If you dont have a car, then long term this place is not for you. The public transport system in LA is crap (though as I said, you can connect to downtown LA fairly easily from here), But then, my logic is this. If I book this place, and rent a car, the daily cost is still half of the cost of other places in this location.

So my advice for LA is simple. Rent a car and stay at Jerry's.

TIP1: what we did is this. Landed at LAX. Took the Flyaway bus from LAX to Union Station (cheap). Picked up the pre-booked car from Union Station (also cheap) and drove to Jerry's (5 mins). The reason we didn't hire from LAX is that we were not leaving LA via LAX. But if you are in and out of LAX, just book it from the airport (tho a longer drive of course).

Tip2: If you rent a car, then either rent the GPS with it or use your own GPS (I didn't rent one, I just added the relevant maps to my nokia beforehand and used that as GPS). But note also that I use an external GPS bluetooth unit rather than the internal nokia GPS, which is much slower and less accurate.

Room Tip: Its a small place, I think any/all rooms are going to be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank An0nym0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    260
    44
    12
    1
See reviews for
62
330
101
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were there in September 2012 and the staff was very helpful, we got answers for all our questions, they helped us to call a taxi and also we had a list of some food stores and buffets in our room. The hotel has a good location and we had everything we needed in the room (iron, tv etc). Before we came they warned us that there will be some construction works so we knew what we should expect

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
155 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I spent a week at Jerry's recently and really enjoyed it. The hotel is located very close to downtown and several freeways. The immediate neighborhood has some stores but not much that as a tourist you're going to visit. For me that didn't matter as I was only using the hotel as a place to sleep and spent most days traveling around LA. The central location was convenient for me.

The room was clean, bed comfortable, free parking next to hotel, good TV coverage, in-room safe, goodie basked upon check in, friendly staff. To me the room looked as if it had recently been refurbished.

The price for downtown LA was quite nice. Doubt I would have gotten such a good deal in other hotels.

I can't say anything about public transportation as I had a rental car and that worked just fine with Jerry's.

I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Comfortable bed,clean up to standard, parking included,nice staff,not so expensive but good. The neighouboroud is not really great but the location is good to reach every attraction of LA ina few minutes by car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I really didn't know what to expect when I picked Jerry's Motel for our recent stay in LA, though I was definitely influenced by the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. Jerry's Motel was a very pleasant surprise tucked away off a side street in the shadow of downtown LA. We felt we had all the necessary amenities, staff was very friendly and accommodating, we were exceptionally close to all the freeways we needed to get to friends and family and it was inexpensive to boot! We will definitely stay at Jerry's the next time we return to LA.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms would be preferable because you wouldn't have the noise from people above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aresnick1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Really helpful staff- our sat nav broke and the staff printed us maps and gave us directions to help. clean rooms and tv to watch, small bathroom, great location in the middle of most sights and comfortable beds.

Definately would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGoGadget_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lessines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had to find somewhere to sleep not to far from LA Convention Center as I was running the half marathon and I found this little motel ...
Free parking in the heart of LA with a room at a very reasonnable price , and a free snacks bag offered when you arrived ... it was just perfect ...
This is not a brand new motel but a very welcoming one !

PS : first time I got the whole registration process done on an IPad ! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilippeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#42 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Property: Jerry's Motel
Address: 285 Lucas Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90026-6144
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#77 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel. We also offer all our guest free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing