We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in Downtown LA!!”
Review of Jerry's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jerry's Motel
Ranked #21 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We arrived early Sepetember to be greeted by a lovely lady who kindly explained the current renovations and checked us into our room. She was happy to give us time for a chat and gave us a goodie bag on arrival.

The room was very sufficient for our needs as we were planning not to be there during the day exploring LA and Hollywood. The bed was very comfortable, room was clean, aircon great to combat the LA heat, large TV with a great selection of channels and very quiet considering it was in Downtown LA.

The motel although a little difficult to find originally was in a great area to use as our LA hub. Within walking distance was the bus and 7th street/Metro Central train station which we used to get around.

The best thing about Jerry's is the friendly, welcoming and accommodating service from Jerry's son and wife (apparently Jerry had retired). They were even nice enough to help us with a service that we did not expect nor ask them to help us with but made our stay alot easier.

In short, if you want a safe, comfortable, clean motel to sleep and relax after a long day exploring LA then I highly recommend you stay at Jerry's Motel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elricho87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 771 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at Jerry's motel for 1 night. We were told it is in an ideal area for accessing the 'delights' of LA, which it is if you want to go to downtown LA. It is also cheap for accommodation if you are on a budget. However, the area on appearance didn't look very nice and we were kept up at night by noise from the apartments blocks opposite.

I think this was simple a case of the wrong type of traveller in the wrong accommodation and Jerry's would be perfect for someone looking to stay in LA on a limited cash flow. However in my opinion i would prefer to stay in a cheaper hotel out near the airport that hows all your amenities and is still fairly cheap and then drive to the sites that i wanted to see.

On a side note the people at Jerry's were very helpful and i was given a nice welcome bag which for a motel was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lewie0103850532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The owner very helpful and friendly, good location in downtown LA, little far from train station several block from the motel, but of at all are very good motel to stay.
We stayed there for 3 nights, close to chinatown, and lot of attraction place .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylat4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Wasnt sure about this place when I pulled in to the carpark, however I was pleasently suprised. Check in couldnt have been easier, free wifi, maps of attractions nearby on hand, a print out with the addresses for your sat nav and ideally located. A bag of snacks in the room with pringles, nutri-grain bars etc. was a nice touch. Extremely reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Narcotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Checked the reviews of this place before I booked and everyone seemed to have good things to say .... well now I know why....perfect little place to base your stay in LA.Staff are so helpfull it made our stay very enjoyable indeed...they where able to supply us with information on the places we intended to travel to...great base for our time in LA ...THANK YOU!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramonenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Being from New Zealand, and on a tight budget, we were purely guided by the other great reviews of Jerry's Motel on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed.

The motel was a quick drive to loads of LA attractions, and the owners could not have been more friendly and helpful, even printing us out maps so we didnt have to rely on our sometimes unreliable GPS. A welcome snack bag was provided on check in, which was much appreciated after hours of driving in the heat!! Rooms were very clean and comfy, and just what we needed. Thanks again Jerry's we hope to be back soon :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RPilcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great service, clean room, a nice bed and a wonderful shower in a great location near to Downtown and all the other LA attractions. Very easy check in/check out process. Great TV channel selection and we also received a very sweet welcome bag on arrival.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielbmeireles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,201 reviews
Hotel Normandie
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
689 reviews
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#99 of 355 in Los Angeles
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#63 of 355 in Los Angeles
694 reviews
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#137 of 355 in Los Angeles
313 reviews
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#95 of 355 in Los Angeles
5,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Address: 285 Lucas Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90026-6144
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#75 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $102 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel. We also offer all our guest free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing