We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but the area was not the best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jerry's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jerry's Motel
Ranked #11 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok, but the area was not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at Jerry's motel for 1 night. We were told it is in an ideal area for accessing the 'delights' of LA, which it is if you want to go to downtown LA. It is also cheap for accommodation if you are on a budget. However, the area on appearance didn't look very nice and we were kept up at night by noise from the apartments blocks opposite.

I think this was simple a case of the wrong type of traveller in the wrong accommodation and Jerry's would be perfect for someone looking to stay in LA on a limited cash flow. However in my opinion i would prefer to stay in a cheaper hotel out near the airport that hows all your amenities and is still fairly cheap and then drive to the sites that i wanted to see.

On a side note the people at Jerry's were very helpful and i was given a nice welcome bag which for a motel was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewie0103850532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    281
    47
    12
    1
See reviews for
66
363
106
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The owner very helpful and friendly, good location in downtown LA, little far from train station several block from the motel, but of at all are very good motel to stay.
We stayed there for 3 nights, close to chinatown, and lot of attraction place .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylat4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Wasnt sure about this place when I pulled in to the carpark, however I was pleasently suprised. Check in couldnt have been easier, free wifi, maps of attractions nearby on hand, a print out with the addresses for your sat nav and ideally located. A bag of snacks in the room with pringles, nutri-grain bars etc. was a nice touch. Extremely reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narcotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Checked the reviews of this place before I booked and everyone seemed to have good things to say .... well now I know why....perfect little place to base your stay in LA.Staff are so helpfull it made our stay very enjoyable indeed...they where able to supply us with information on the places we intended to travel to...great base for our time in LA ...THANK YOU!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramonenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Being from New Zealand, and on a tight budget, we were purely guided by the other great reviews of Jerry's Motel on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed.

The motel was a quick drive to loads of LA attractions, and the owners could not have been more friendly and helpful, even printing us out maps so we didnt have to rely on our sometimes unreliable GPS. A welcome snack bag was provided on check in, which was much appreciated after hours of driving in the heat!! Rooms were very clean and comfy, and just what we needed. Thanks again Jerry's we hope to be back soon :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPilcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great service, clean room, a nice bed and a wonderful shower in a great location near to Downtown and all the other LA attractions. Very easy check in/check out process. Great TV channel selection and we also received a very sweet welcome bag on arrival.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielbmeireles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed four nights at Jerry's Motel and really enjoyed our stay. The motel was clean and very comfortable and reasonably quiet. Our hosts were great, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Rosalyn even took us in her car to the local post shop so I could post some postcards.
We didn't have a car and felt it was a little out of the way, but soon learn't how to catch the buses (the bus stop was just across the road) and trains. If you are on a budget or looking to save money this is the place to be. My only complaint was that the air-conditioning was a bit noisy, but we just turned it off because it wasn't that hot. We found this to be a problem America wide even in 5 star properties. I can strongly recommend Jerry's and hope to be back one day.

Room Tip: We had a room down the end which was very private and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingtui10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
The Garland
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#8 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Normandie
#22 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Motel

Property: Jerry's Motel
Address: 285 Lucas Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#76 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerry's Motel is less than a 5 minute drive to major attractions like the Los Angeles Convention Center, Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA Live, Staples Center, Grammy Museum and much more. We are also nearby major public transportation hubs and a short 15 minute commute to tourist hot spots like Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Citadel shopping outlets.Guests at Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles CA will enjoy a great place to wind down after a day out on the town with over 100 satellite television channels. Jerry's Motel in Los Angeles, CA provides a great location and price that is perfect for those who have meetings in Downtown or at the Convention Center and don't want to pay $200 or more at a major hotel. We also offer all our guest free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Jerry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing