We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tres Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Tres Inn
Save
You added El Tres Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We loved El Tres. The apartment was modern but had a quaint Mexican feel and is in a really good location just on the border of Silverlake. Maria serviced the rooms and she was Incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    4
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
23
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed in "uno".

The suite is fabulously decorated in a hip, modern way. Great Mexican/western theme, modern media (huge tv), retro feel (record player), in the middle of LA's hipster area. Walking distance to a movie theater, some coffee shops, restaurants, grocery store, etc. The suite is perfect for partying, romance, vegging out. The maid staff was very friendly.

I have to mention that if you are sensitive to noise, this suite won't work for you. We stayed on Friday/Saturday (not one of the loud DJ nights), and it was still "noisy" by hotel standards - it's above a bar and you can hear people talking and faint music playing until the bar closes. This wasn't a big problem for us (at most a mild annoyance but we slept through most it). If you are planning on being up anyway, no biggie. If you are deep sleeper, no biggie. If you are a light sleeper and going to bed at 10PM, you might bring a white noise track on your ipod (they have ipod docks). Also, there was a very-low pulsing noise through most of the day (couldn't figure out if it was the restaurant A/C or maybe a dishwasher/laundry machine?).

There were a couple of other minor annoyances (the universal remote was hard to work, the hair dryer didn't quite work, the lighting is great for mood lighting but not great for being functional), but these were super minor and easily outweighed by the great room and unique experience of staying here.

I would definitely stay there again were I to visit the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I'm in LA for business quite often and have stayed at a lot of places. Lettme say, this place rocks! First off, it's set up like an apartment. A really cool apartment with your own private bedroom, TV room, living room with plush rockstar furnishings, kitchen, cute little balcony, and even your own record player (They had Black Keys on vinyl, my experience rating instantly went up a star). The decore is sweet. Loved the Oxacan lion statue and cowskin rug in Room Tres. The staff is very friendly and attentive should you need help and knowledgable of the area. Your room/new abode is located in Silverlake, which is a fantastic neighborhood to hang out in - fun laid-back bars, good restaurants, independent coffeeshops, and being a runner, a short jog to Silverlake Resevoir. Also, big bonus, you are just above a cool Mexican joint, El Chavo (love the tamales) and the bar Chavito (they make a mean margarita). A free drink comes with your room...need I say more?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotswood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I've stayed many places in my life, but i gotta tell ya, when it comes to hip and convenient, you can't beat the El Tres. It's hip without arrogance and in the neighborhood you want to be in Los Angeles, Silver Lake. Close to everything cool, so much so that except tp travel to and fro to the airport, I totally got to avoid freeway traffic. Plus, i got to walk to many bars and restaurants that i wanted to go to. who ever heard of that! Nobody walks in L.A.. But I did.
But the convenience aspect is only one part of it. Get this, the rooms at the El Tres are actually apartments. My room had a patio/balcony, den, living room,bed room, kitchen,breakfastnook, foyer with a huge walk-in closet, and of course a bathroom. the place was also appointed with two TVs, dvd player,excellent coffee table books, i-pod thingy AND a turntable and crate of excellent and eclectic LPs. VINYL! wow.
I've been telling everybody that this joint is the cat's meow. you'd be silly not to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

There's only three rooms. Above El Chacho restraint and bar on Sunset Blvd. Chic stylish and comfy. More like apts than hotel. Staff was super cool and accommodating. Mind you there is a restaurant and bar downstairs. Great, different alternative to normal hotel fare.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swankzine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I travel to LA frequently for business and almost always stay at El Tres. It feels like having your own little apartment as the rooms have kitchenettes, record players, books, and nice TVs which provide a cozy place to watch a movie or chill out when you need a break from the hustle of Los Angeles. Also, the restaurant downstairs El Chavo has excellent mexican food and margaritas.

I would recommend this place to anyone who is visiting LA and doesn't want to deal with valet parking, long check-in lines, and just a big hotel scene in general. The staff is really nice and will go above and beyond to make sure your room has everything you need and your stay is enjoyable.

Room Tip: Uno is great for one person but I would recommend Dos or Tres if you are sharing the room with anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were in town for a show down the street at Echoplex. We feel very lucky that we found El Tres. The subway station is just a couple of blocks away, so we added an extra night, hopped on the subway to Staples Center and caught a Kings game. It's a 20 minute ride downtown for $1.50 each way and parking is free at The Inn. Can't beat it!

We stayed in Uno. It was great. We were able to see the other rooms as well as the Salon. The whole place is beautiful! Now I just need to find an excuse to rent the whole thing and get some friends and family down there.

Yes, it can be a little noisy. So head downstairs to El Chavito and make some noise of your own. We are a pretty adventurous 40ish couple that loves finding hidden treasures like El Tres Inn. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#43 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,055 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#113 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,272 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tres Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tres Inn

Property: El Tres Inn
Address: 4439 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90027-6017
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Tres Inn - Silver Lake only Luxury Inn located by the Historic 5 point Intersection of Sunset & Hollywood.... private ~ urban ~ self-catered luxury suites ~ comfortable ~ romantic get-away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Tres Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing