We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit”

La Brea Tar Pits and Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$12.00*
and up
General Admission Ticket: La Brea Tar Pits and Museum
More Info
$148.99*
and up
La Brea Tar Pits Tour by Segway
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Small Group Highlights Tour of Los Angeles
Ranked #19 of 560 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore the world's only active, urban Ice Age excavation site. Inside the Page Museum is where we showcase the best fossils, animals, and plants that have been discovered here - mammoths, saber-toothed cats, dire wolves, and more. Experience the Ice Age come to life with our Ice Age Encounters show. Outside check out the La Brea Tar Pits where tar is still bubbling and our active fossil excavation sites to see what our excavators have uncovered today. Make the most of your visit with our Excavator Tour. Get the behind-the-scenes story and see scientists working on recently excavated fossils, walk around our famous Lake Pit, and visit our live dig site where scientists discover new Ice Age specimens every day. Free with museum admission.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We loved going here. Really cool to see a museum where all of the fossils are collected from the surrounding areas. They are still actively excavating and you can go into the park and see where they are doing their work. The museum is a perfect size. You learn a lot, but don't have to spend the whole day. 1 to 2 hours is great. They have a quick film about the tar pits, and its fossils, which is worth seeing.

I also liked learning about the history of the museum. The modern history of the tar pits and museum goes hand in hand with the history of L.A. Very informative.

The museum is right next door to the LACMA and there are food trucks right across the street. Makes for a fun day in L.A.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank texan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,217
    867
    227
    20
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Museum still active in preserving specimens”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I was impressed that the museum is still working on getting specimens from the active bubbling tar pits located around the museum. Was even more impressed by the cute elderly volunteers at the museum who introduced the background of certain species with much enthusiasm to the children visitors. Thumbs up for their efforts!

The biggest exhibit is a woolly mammoth found in 2010. No dinosaurs but still an nice good museum that is still actively working on uncovering and preserving specimens.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank P_Koe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Museum”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Tucked away in central LA, this place should not be missed if you like fossils. One of the largest collections of ice age fossil in the world. Woolly mammoths, saber tooth cats, giant sloths, birds and wolfs. We took the 30 minute tour of the grounds and found it very informative and interesting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TexasTeaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“no dinosaurs”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Before you bring your dino-crazy kids, be advised that the fossils here are from the Pleistocene Era- saber tooth cats, mammoths and the like. And boy howdy do they have specimens from that time! Hard to picture it now, but the whole area was once a giant tar bog. There are still some working digs next to the museum which give great insight into what it takes to get these bones out of the ground. These are not 'stone fossils' but rather bones that were preserved in the tar. The exhibits are amazing and the best specimens of their kind. There is a very nice atrium/green house in the center of the building. You can watch the staff cleaning up the specimens. Recommended for children with an interest in the subject- other 'too-cool' kids are going to be bored. There is also a bit of an asphalt smell if you are odor sensitive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank got-the-pin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent for dinosaur lovers”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

it was a good experience for my kids, who love dinosaurs and think they know everything about them. I would have liked to see more guided activities or a kids worksheet. The video is good and simple. The exhibition is perfect. The grounds are really nice, and it is fun to find tar holes around the premises.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Brea Tar Pits and Museum also viewed

 

Been to La Brea Tar Pits and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing