We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful library” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Angeles Central Library

Los Angeles Central Library
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Team Challenge Game in Downtown L.A.
Ranked #56 of 536 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Restored, historic library with Egyptian influenced architecture.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Beautiful library”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you are at downtown Los Angeles try not to miss the Central Library. The architecture is beautiful, and the collections of books inside are wonderful. They have a docent led tour, which is worth while to wait for. You really get to learn about a piece of the LA history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tirza_ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    91
    25
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los angeles
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fascinating look at a piece of Los Angeles history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a free docent led tour about the history and architecture of the central downtown branch of the Los Angeles library. Our guide was full of interesting facts and stories about the design and construction of both the original building and the new addition. We came away with a new appreciation for this beautiful building and it's history.
I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dragonhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting architecture”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The exterior is quite interesting and the library is huge with unlimited resources but do travelers really want to spend their time in a library? I wouldn't.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pixer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarzana ca
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you like libraries, you'll love this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Incredible selection (a whole room of mysteries), even some ways better than UCLA's medical. Unique architecture and layout; parking's quite better than expected. If I had a week to kill, I could easily enjoy it here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank equally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Te library itself is old, and has a strong cultural history. The architecture is unique, and is a gem for the City of Los Angeles. I don't like the parking arrangements downtown, but if you're there, you might as well visit. It's worth seeing, once.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Advantage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Angeles Central Library also viewed

 

Been to Los Angeles Central Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing