We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime maybe”

Venice Beach Boardwalk
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Small Group Highlights Tour of Los Angeles
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Double Decker Bus Tour
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Los Angeles Highlights Tour: Santa Monica, Venice Beach, Hollywood and Beverly...
Ranked #46 of 559 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Anything and everything on this famous concrete strip - from hippies to skateboarders, you will see it all here.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime maybe”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Were from the midwest maybe that was the problem a little to extreme and over the top for us. It is one of those things you might want to do in your life but don't plan on spending a lot of time here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    921
    745
    434
    161
    113
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, West Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Filthy”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Why travel overseas to a third world, when you can visit Venice Beach?. For such a well known location I was dissapointed and concerned with the local people who seemed to live by the beach in boxes etc. I guess this is just the social divide of USA.
With people hanging around the public toilets and signs saying "no public toilets available" inside restaurants I would make sure you are prepared if you want to make a visit.
Vagarants abound in this area, maybe I'm just a concerned parent

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank talk2me33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Sketchy and Creepy”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

First of all, people were smoking pot right out in the open. I'm not cool with that, sorry. I was too nervous holding on to my purse to really do much people-watching. The only enjoyment we had was watching the skateboarders. They are pretty talented!

If you are going to Los Angeles to get the whole "LA" experience, I guess this is a good place to go, but it was not for us.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just as amusing as everyone says it is”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Husband and I had to wait until our hosts got home where we were staying, so we drove out from the L.A. airport to spend a couple of hours sightseeing in the meantime. We drove out Venice Boulevard, parked at the first, open-air, lot we saw, for a $5 flat fee. The next block we saw another parking lot, covered, with a $7 rate. We walked a long way northward, mixing in with the crowds shopping, strolling, hawking wares, etc - what a swarm of different people: students, seniors, kids, babies, drifters, well-heeled, yuppie, hippie, skaters, Segway riders, cops on horseback on a slow patrol. You can sunbathe on the beach itself and surf or swim under the watch of lifeguards, rent a Segway, watch skateboarders do all kinds of tricks and cheering each other - girls look sexy doing this for some reason - eat all kinds of junk food (I forget what it was called, but the veggie burrito with basil and a pasilla chile at Big Daddy was really tasty with a nice mix of crunch and gooeyness, followed by a hot churro). You can also get yourself qualified for medical marijuana at several places. Lots of tantalizing pictures to take. Besides the people, there's one store where the owner is a mechanical/welding whiz and made his own "Transformers", and he only charges $1 for your photo privilege. We watched the sun set, a Chinese (?) calligrapher at work brushing out your favorite word, a huge wall of graffiti art (with a note to like them on Facebook), and all kinds of dogs camping out with their human friends with not much else place to go. Bring a good sweater for when the sun goes down and the breeze picks up.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Magdalena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Venice Beach is a fun spot to see at least once. There is a bike path and walking path, and you can rent bikes and bike from Santa Monica to Venice Beach. There are lots of tourist shops and tattoo shops. We visited in the daylight but I wouldn't really want to be there in the evening. We visited here twice. First time it was early Sunday morning and there weren't a lot of people around but there were a lot of homeless people and people sleeping everywhere. The next time we went, it was in the afternoon and it was better with more people, and the atmosphere seemed better. We felt safer. There is a new skate park which was fun to watch the skateboarders. We found a cute Mexican restaurant on one of the main streets out of Venice Beach and had margaritas and nachos! The Venice Canals are a good quiet spot in the middle of a busy area. We enjoyed a walk there too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaCanada4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venice Beach Boardwalk also viewed

 

Been to Venice Beach Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing