We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese fusion”
Review of Chaya Downtown

Chaya Downtown
Reserve with OpenTable
Chaya Downtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #311 of 9,980 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th
Transit: FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE provided to and from major entertainment venues in Downtown Los Angeles. It runs every 15min beginning at 6:45pm.
Description: The Chaya restaurant family originated when Hikage Chaya opened in Hayama, Japan. From this initial tea house, that opened 390 years ago, the Tsunoda family has expanded into French bistros and pastry shops throughout Japan and introduced the brand to the U.S. in 1984 with the opening of Chaya Brasserie in Beverly Hills. Since then, Chaya has opened locations in Venice, San Francisco, Downtown Los Angeles, and LAX. The cuisine at each restaurants can best be described as modern Japanese though each restaurant has a distinct personality reflecting their different locations. Corporate Executive Chef, Shigefume Tachibe is best known for pioneering modern Japanese cuisine and his contributions to the Asian-Fusion movement. His chef coat and knife are in permanent display in the Smithsonian. The most important tenet of Chaya's philosophy is high-level omotenashi (hospitality), bringing the Japanese teahouse tradition of warm and personal service to each guest.
adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Japanese fusion”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great food excellent service and a wonderful blend of Japanese and western cuisine. We shared a selection of sushi hitch was excellent and followed up with the grilled fish of the day with a rocket salad ..fresh and delicious. The deserts were very good with the warm chocolate brownie being a firm favourite.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jshAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    38
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lunched here on a recent trip to LA. Nice atmosphere, service was very good and food excellent. I would agree that portions are a bit small, but just about right for a light lunch. Our waiter, Jeff was great. Would recommend for lunch anytime.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stanmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Nice surprise!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Staying at the Bonaventure few blocks away I went out for walking distance food. This place was packed and noisy with in and out seating and a glass chandelier that took my breath away. I was up for some trendy Japanese style food but not real hungry. I was seated quickly and though I ordered just some soup and a sushi roll was treated like a full service diner. The food was great and service top notch. Of the few similar walking distance places I tried this is the one I would go back to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaquila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Had dinner with my girlfriend and it was awesome. Everything tasted amazing, although the portion size could have been a little bigger. I got a steak and she got salmon. Both were amazing. It is expensive so be prepared for that, but everything, including the service and restaurant, was great. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joewitek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Business lunch”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

First time at Chaya. The decor is appealing. Entertained an important client. Fortunately, his lunch was good. My partner and I both had the Tandoori shrimp salad. The shrimp was okay. While not truly tandoori cooked, it was nicely flavored with tandoori spices. The rest of the salad consisted of iceberg lettuce, a handful at best of the smallest tomatoes I have ever seen (about pearl sized I would say), what must have been one asparagus stalk (no tips at all) cut up into pieces less than 1/4 inch long and so little avocado that it was hard to find. Pathetic for an $18 salad. For that price, you would think they would use mixed greens and a generous amount of vegetables. To top if off, the service was marginal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bioengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaya Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Chaya Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing