We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A treat for all your senses.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Dragon Restaurant

Golden Dragon Restaurant
Ranked #956 of 9,847 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Norwalk, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A treat for all your senses.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Get ready for a foreign experience at the Golden Dragon in Los Angeles. Lunch time is a must for the Char Siu Bao (bet you can't eat just one) and Sui Mai (baptize with hot mustard and soy sauce)....oh, you'll reach out for other delightful dim sum...relax while sippping hot tea. The 'ceremony' of partitioning off the room with room dividing panels brings back happy childhood memories of lunches with Grandpa. The bonus is free parking next door..but don't forget to tip the attendant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Naninofro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    34
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pine Mountain Club, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always Satisfied”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

I've been going to this restaurant since I was a kid, so maybe 35+ years. Nice next door free parking. Huge inside with rarely a wait. Bar inside for adult drinks. I go with my family and take the in-laws every now and then for dim sum. Old school place with great prices and great tasting food.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Redwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best dimsum around!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Love the dimsum and have been coming here for 10 years now. Great food at a good price. Interior could definitely use some upgrading, though, but excellent service always. Free valet parking is an added bonus, as it's very hard to find street parking.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingerbread_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“For the price, amazing Dim Sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

Have eaten Dim Sum all around Los Angeles, and theirs is among the best. The price is also a lot lower than many of the other places.
Granted, the bathrooms are a bit messy, and the whole place could use some upgrades, but if you want excellent Dim Sum at a fair price, this is the place to go.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank computerprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
“The worst Chinese food I have ever eaten.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

I have eaten Chinese food frequently my whole life. I've lived all over the US and generally Chinese food has gone down in quality over the years. Since living in LA I've been eating at passable Chinese restaurants on the west side. I decided to go to Chinatown to have "better" Chinese food and ended up at Golden Dragon. What I really wanted was good fried rice, it seems impossible to find. Order the house special fried rice....when it came.....first thing, it was white, it did not seem fried at all. Second, the shrimp tasted of nothing at all.....how is that possible?? The pork tasted as if was just going off. The sizzling house special Chop Suey also completely tasteless.....had no sauce on the plate whatsoever. The sizzling seafood platter had a little flavor, I guess. Even the tea was terrible. By far and wide THE WORST CHINESE FOOD EVER. They should be ashamed of themselves.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesPatrickS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Dragon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Dragon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing