We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The line forms here...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wurstkuche

Wurstkuche
Ranked #9 of 9,898 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, German, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“The line forms here...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Small in appearance, this eatery always has a line out the door, but walk in and you'll see why. This place serves nothing but sausages, fries and drinks, and a quick glance at the display case will grab your attention....buffalo, crocodile and rattlesnake meat, yikes! With long lines, best to study menu ahead because many will be waiting for their turn at the busy counter!

Once order taken, head down a long, narrow corridor to...surprise, a large seating area! Sit at long tables or cozy booths it's casual funky. Food is brought to you and be sure to try one of the fancy mustards in the caddy. A classic sausage paired w/Belgian fries and truffle oil was heavy, but tasty and the complimentary cucumber water was unusual, but refreshing.

Nice to see this businesses like this one doing well in the arts district....a great reason to eat in LA!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shimadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    167
    27
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solid beer and sausages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This place is great, maybe a little trendy, but its got a great selection of beers at high but not ridiculous prices, and really good sausages with great toppings and sauces, open beer hall atmosphere with a dj spinning in the corner, overall its really good

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Sausages!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Wurstkuche is a great place to meet with friends. So many choices of sausages to chose from so it's a good idea to order family style and share so you can get a chance to taste the many varieties. I'm not much of a beer drinker but my friends who are say there are plenty to choose from.

Atmosphere and ambience is very urban and is quite suitable. Service is excellent as the staff are very friendly and efficient. Wurstkuche is an establishment that has helped to make the Arts District a better destination place for dining.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KamikawaSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great food and beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

i try to make it to Wurstküche every time i'm in Los Angeles. a friend introduced me to this place while visiting and i was so glad they did. the variety of sausages is amazing and the copious amounts of beer to go along with it is as good.

this place tends to have a line every night, but i assure it it's well worth the wait as it's legit. sausages are made in house and the combinations are tasty! seating can be a bit much, but luckily the establishment is quite large and folks are in and out quickly.

if you're in LA and a fan of German food then you have to try out Wurstküche.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank themattkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oktoberfest Year-Round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My friend had heard good things about this restaurant from one of her friends who lives in L.A. and said this place was the "cool" place to be. Three of us decided to check it out, and we were not disappointed. The variety of sausage and beer was extensive, and the prices were very affordable (especially by Los Angeles standards). With twenty different flavors of sausage and at least forty kinds of beer, there really is something for everyone here. Wurstkuche is the place to go if you're in the mood to try something exotic (Rattlesnake and Rabbit, or Alligator and Pork sausages), or if you'd rather keep it simple (Bratwurst or Kielbasa). Their Belgian fries are some of the best fries I've ever had (my mouth's watering just thinking about them), and you can even doll those up with several unique kinds of dipping sauce such Bleu Cheese Walnut and Bacon or Pesto Mayo (which was definitely yum!). I really can't say enough good things about the food at this place. The service was good, and they've mastered the art of keeping people happy while they wait (there was a line out the door when we got there, but a girl serves you drinks while you wait to place your order at the counter. You tend to forget you're waiting for something when you're enjoying a delicious beer or flavored soda). The dining area is slightly mysterious, but the busyness of it makes you feel like you are in one of the city's hottest spots, which you are. When we left, the line was down the block. I loved this place, and I will definitely be going back here the next time I'm in L.A.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wurstkuche also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Wurstkuche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing