We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coral Sands Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Dixie Hollywood(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hollywood City Inn(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harvard House Motel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hollywood Stars Inn(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunes Inn - Sunset(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,054)
Filter reviews
1,054 results
Traveler rating
248
511
223
49
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
511
223
49
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai townfree parkingmetro stationcommon roompool and jacuzzigriffith parklaundry roomralph's supermarketcentral courtyardwashing machinehollywood walk of famemin walkstayed here for nightsuniversal studiossmall bathroommini fridgewould stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 1,054 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2010

This formerly gay motel is now 'gay friendly' and on this stay I saw three hetero couples hanging out by the pool and a child(!) in the whirlpool. The selection of magazines in the 'gym' / crushed ice area has been pared down - and there are no more porn movies on channel 3 anymore.

I'm sorry to say this will be the last time I stay here. I had many fond memories of it as a gay hotel. Shame.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alexkloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I was due to stay here for 3 nights and in fact ended up staying over a week and a half! The room and bathroom was comfy, clean (spotless in fact!) and perfect for me. The hotel has a pool, and sauna which are both great, but the thing that really makes this place special is Brian, the front desk manager. He is so helpful and friendly, always ready with a smile and helpful suggestions, a real character.The actual hotel is enclosed and so to get inside you must go through a security door, which makes hotel safe. The door is manned all night by Pablo... (again lovely man!) . I think anyone can feel comfortable at this hotel, it isn't a ' gay bath house' as some reviews would suggest. I was travelling with my girlfriend and never felt unwelcome. Whilst I was staying here, we saw families with children, couples and single people staying here ( everyone was really friendly!) . When I come back to LA I will definately stay here again! The only bad thing I can think off is that we had to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleverfoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I have been coming here for almost 4 years, and I find it hard to understand why anyone would not gives this place a thumbs up. It is a gay friendly hotel (as are most motel/hotels in the area) with all the good that comes with it. I have seen more "straight couples" here in the last week then ever before. The place is alive and has a great feel and energy about it. The staff are AWESOME, FRIENDLY and most of all HELPFUL. Coral Sands is only one small block away from the Red line subway and is next door to a major grocery store. It is one block away from Hollywood Blvd. The price to quality ratio is high, and they have reduced the room rate's recently. A swimming pool and hot tub to relax at night with just makes this place better then ever. It is safe and secure, your guest have to check in at the front desk, you are called on the phone to say you have a guest waiting, then they buzz him/her in, No one can just walk in. Most rooms have been remodeled and are CLEAN and COMFORTABLE. Tons of FREE parking on site, most hotels/motels charge up to $25.00 a day for this in Los Angeles. I can't speak highly enough of this place, I love coming here, for my money it is the BEST value in all of Los Angeles.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ITrvltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The Coral Sands has a reputation of being a slightly edgy (cruisy) gay men's hotel. They advertise as a gay hotel but on this trip there were famillies with babies staying there. The place is not clean and management is not friendly. The place seems to be changing into a flop house. The evening desk clerk when we checked in was nice but the morning clerk was not. The neighborhood has improved since the Metro subway was built and there is a stop just a half block away. However, I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I've stayed in several hotels during vacation trips to Los Angeles, but I keep coming back to the Coral Sands, because of its low prices, free parking, clean, comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful staff. Every time I visit I notice improvements, and that goes for the neighborhood as well. A big shopping center, with a Ralph's and a Starbucks, is right next door. Sitting poolside, it's easy to meet people at the Coral Sands, and, thanks to the big, firm mattresses on the beds, I slept like a log each night I was there. I'll be going back on my next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank writer43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews