We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little oasis in Hollywood!”
Review of Coral Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Sands Motel
Ranked #63 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice little oasis in Hollywood!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

An older property with cleean rooms and great staff! The property was safe...in/out through front office only. Fun atmosphere...we hung out with other guests nightly by the pool/ hot tub in the courtyard. Great location near metro, Hollywood Bowl, and other attractions. Also close to a grocery store and other services. Definately check out Thai Town which is right around the corner! Definetely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hmoses1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    450
    205
    44
    23
See reviews for
145
465
83
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Doesn't look great from the street but much better when you get in. The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was clean and adequate for our needs.

Hotel is very close to Metro so for us visiting Universal it was perfect. Left the car at the hotel and spent $3 on the train instead of the car and then paying to park at the theme park.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank millhouze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Washington, Kentucky, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This motel isn't much to look at from the outside, but we had a pleasant stay for 2 nights. The staff was helpful in talking to us about attractions and where to find things. We paid $100 per night.

The room was clean, no bugs. It was quiet when we slept. The courtyard inside the hotel is pretty with nice landscaping and a pool and hot tub. I was fearful about getting in the hot tub though as there was a sign on the gate to it that said you shouldn't get in if you have diarrhea. Lol

This hotel is close to the subway and bus line but has parking if you have a car. Close to all the Hollywood usual sights. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room is in the back so that may be why it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night and I really enjoyed my stay.
Simple place but good!
There is a swimming pool and jacuzzi. The entire place feels homely.
The room is clean and the space is just right.
The bathroom was really clean :D

The location was really good and it felt really safe, even at night.
There is a Ralph supermarket just beside so you can easily get groceries there :D

It is near to Griffith Observatory and Hollywood Blvd too.

Good location! Thumbs up for Coral Sands Motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia_Ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

not been to LA before and as we were doing a road trip we was scrimping slightly when booking accommodation. have to say we found the location to be excellent. we hired a car and the car park is available and free which is a bonus. we were close to the Hollywood sign and Griffith park which we didn't go to. left the car parked up and walked to Hollywood boulevard. you can catch the metro or the bus aswell. hotel is a bit dated needs a lick of paint and tlc but seemed to be clean and definatley comfortable. we stayed 2 nights but would stay again. starbucks is on the next block and a cvs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dustybin1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you are looking for a fairly cheap place to stay in LA that is a good location in relation to Hollywood then I would recommend Coral Sands. The beds were huge and the subway is only a minute walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at the Coral Sands for 2 nights 27-29 May 2013. Check in was quick and convenient. I must say the place does not look amazing or fancy, but the value isn't bad at all. Checked me in a little early which was good. This was my first time in LA and the staff were very helpful giving me tips of where to go and what to do .. they even printed out a map for surrounding area. Free parking is always a plus!

now the Cons:
1 Not so clean at the entrance .. a lot of flys and smelt a bit weird
2 room was a bit outdated .. but for $90 a night I can't complain
3 If it's your first time in LA .. try to stay as close as you can to Hollywood blvrd .. the further u go .. the more ghetto it could get - The hotel was a little far from the vibrant areas in hollywood

Other than that it was a very pleasant experience .. There is a convenience store right next door which was excellent and a starbucks.

I would stay here again if im traveling on my own.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil6150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#109 of 351 in Los Angeles
668 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#123 of 351 in Los Angeles
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,112 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Hollywood
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Dunes Inn - Sunset
#102 of 351 in Los Angeles
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Motel

Property: Coral Sands Motel
Address: 1730 N Western Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-4830
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coral Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gay resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sands Hotel Los Angeles
Coral Sands Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing