We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turned out better than it started.”

Whisper Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Whisper Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,349 of 9,980 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: Fairfax
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Turned out better than it started.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband made reservations online, and he was contacted by email twice and called to confirm our reservation. When we arrived approximately 15 minutes early ( we were out shopping), the hosted said our reservation wasn't for another hour. We said we would wait at the bar. We weren't treated great until I showed her the email confirmation...then they were apologetic. Since we were waiting we asked for a booth, and we got it. Our waiter was ok, but apparently the guys next to us were famous, because the waiter was fawning over them, while we were being rushed. Our appetizer and entree came out itching two minutes of each other. We were disappointed, because we were so excited to have a romantic dinner out! BEST PART...BARTENDER WAS INCREDIBLE, AND SO APOLOGETIC.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jjeennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great for drinks before a show of after a shop”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Good service and great drinks. I've never had a full meal here, but I've had lots of great appetizers and some good cocktails. It's a great place to kick back after a shop.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Examine your bill before paying!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We recently dined here after strolling around the farmers market and the grove. The restaurant looks very presentable and has a nice atmosphere. I ordered a peach Bellini (great) and the crab and chilli pasta (nice, but the portion was very small and I'm not a big eater!).My boyfriend ordered a lasagne and about 7 minutes after ordering was advised it was not available. He then ordered something else, however when the bill came we were charged for the lasagne on top of everything else! We still tipped although we're resentful due to the error and service. We were still hungry after leaving.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sully_009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, CA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Upscale dining in the middle of the mall”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Friends invited us to join them for dinner here and we had no idea what it would be like but were pleasantly surprised to find a lovely restaurant in a sea of chain joints at the mall. Drinks and food all excellent, service was good, but a little slow... They did accommodate all our requests, except for a birthday dessert. Portions are very generous, and they didn't rush us at all. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekero, Sweden
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Definitely no first come first served policy”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I walked in this restaurant after a full day of sightseeing and shopping, hoping for food. We asked for a table and were seated at a tiny table right next to the waitress' station, very close to the door on a pretty chilly night. The table was clearly one of the two worst tables in the restaurant, and as there were quite a few other tables free I assumed they were already reserved for the evening.

I ordered chicken with a side dish, and was eventually served only the chicken and had to ask the waiter to serve my side dish!

As we were eating, more guests arrived and I was very surprised to see that even though they had clearly not reserved beforehand they were given the far more comfortable tables in the room. I'm guessing the hostess staff just didn't consider us looking as potentially "good" (well-paying) guests. She would have been wrong, but after that treatment naturally we payed the exact amount on the tab and left without ordering dessert.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whisper Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Whisper Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing