We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of LA Prime at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel

LA Prime at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Reserve with OpenTable
LA Prime at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #281 of 9,848 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 4th
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Good food and wine was not overpriced.
We were part of a group but what I saw of the menu looked reasonably priced. There were many selections but I had the cod. Large portions.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    69
    28
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The view from the restaurant is very good, the food was good but pricey, my gripe is with the staff who appeared to be pleasant at the start but it didnt last. I was offered water as is the norm with other restaurants i have been to. It wasnt until i got the check that i realised that they had charged me $7 for the water which is free in other places. When i ordered my main course the waitress said it would be nice with an additional side that was not mentioned in the menu neither did she say that it would cost extra. i believe that these things should be mentioned at the time. It took the shine off a nice meal. I didnt leave any tip for her and that didnt go down to well

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service & view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The service was great; the food was as expected in this type of restaurant, but the view and service were above expectations. The steak was outstanding.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanadianJ975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Overpriced everything!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here 2 nights, overall this is a business hotel in downtown Los Angeles...lovely looking public areas, revolving restaurant on 35th floor, very dark (couldn't see what we were eating), and very expensive, as was the bar and restaurant in the lobby. The service there wasn't very good either, not very interested in a couple having drinks as opposed to a single man! Parking, which is necessary, was $40 per day, which is ludicrous.
View from room average, looked down onto office buildings. Pool was ridiculously small for a hotel with over 3,000 rooms, with only around 30 beds. None of the shops and the best looking bar/restaurant were all closed while we were there, apparently because it was Labor Day...I would have thought more reason to be open with more people holidaying there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrielynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
230 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Overpriced , avg service.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Not recommended as the prices are $$$$$ and the service average at best...while the views are good they are not worth the prices! If you do visit recommend having drinks and lite eats in the cocktail area to enjoy the views and eat elsewhere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MEProfenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Prime at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel also viewed

 

Been to LA Prime at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing