We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service - THE WORST - don't go!”
Review of Daily Grill - Downtown LA - CLOSED

Daily Grill - Downtown LA
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 6th & Flower Street
Transit: Metro: 7th & Flower
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Service - THE WORST - don't go!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

AVOID THIS PLACE UNLESS YOU LIKE BEING MISTREATED!!!!
So we never got a chance to eat before we left. The wait staff and especially the hostess(es) are acceptionally rude. They are not concerned about their clients well being at all, just about making money off you poor saps.

They are snooty and look down on you as if you are peasents.

We were waiting outside for the restaurant to open in 10 minutes. It was cold and windy and the women in our group were suggesting to go somewhere else. We asked two difference wait staff if it would be okay to wait just inside the door. Their reply was we are closed. We then knocked on the door to ask the hostesses. They both said the business is closed and you have to wait. Finally thinking that we were going to catch a break one of the hostess opened the door and expected us to hold the door for her while she dragged out two big sidewalk signs right passed us and looked down on us as she walked by like we were peasents. We were not dressed poorly as most of us were in slacks and dress shirts.
I don't know about the food. But I can tell you the service is UNFORGIVEABLE.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    11
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were there on the last night of the World Series. It was nice to see a lively establishment in downtown Los Angeles in the evening. Service was very good, food was tasty, and the wine list sufficiently diverse to meet everyone's taste.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I Can't figure out why it is so popular”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have eaten here twice and can't figure out how they fill so much square footage with barely above average food at barely above average prices. Seems like an upscale Applebees to me.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Solo Dining”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good food and comfortable restaurant for solo dining. Had a good experience Easter 2013. Kitchen really cares about the ingredients used and serves delicious food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service at the table outshined the food "Ifezzett" was a great server”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our experience at the Daily Grill started really bad in the beginning -- we had never heard of this restaurant before so we needed to have a look at the menu to see if it was something that would interest us. The two young ladies in front were not very personable at all but we decided to stay as it was close to our hotel and we were very hungry.

We had a nice lunch during the day at a competing restaurant so we wanted to keep it simple just ordered a cheeseburger and fries. I ordered a soup that was basically a copy cat of the Maryland Crab soup from my home state. Very odd to get this dish in California but it was also a little piece of home while away on vacation. The food was average -- it wasnt bad but it wasnt spectacular either.

Our server "Ifezzett" was terrific- a huge smile after a long day of seeing the sites goes a long way. She is certainly a keeper

One thing I was not impressed about was the restaurant itself. You must go through the bar to get to the bathrooms for instance ... those were filthy inside --- the restaurant was clean but it was very dark and had plastic seperating the inside patrons from the view of the outside which I think is a mistake. Open the restaurant up and brighten it up a bit to show off cleanliness. It would go far for your business. Install some bathrooms in the restaurant part of the business-- I know this would be expensive but long term it would pay off as a diner does not always want to mix with a bar crowd

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daily Grill - Downtown LA also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing