We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beer and affordable / innovative eats”

Daily Grill - Downtown LA
Ranked #3,574 of 9,895 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 6th & Flower Street
Transit: Metro: 7th & Flower
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“beer and affordable / innovative eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

A recent visit involved beers and some casual dinner. We stuck to the “bar” area – I believe it was called Public School – but I understand there was a restaurant side as well. Good selection of beer, and some unique food offerings – LA hotdog, thai rolls (a light, refreshing appy at only $2) – and some very tasty mini- burgers (6 bucks for three of them). It was a fairly quiet night when we went, but I would imagine good atmosphere for the after work crowd. Casual service - order at the bar. Would consider going back for sure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billybob101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    11
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy Hour - eat like a king”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

With only 18 hours downtown it's hard to find a place that has good food at a great price. Thank Goodness we stumbled upon this gem!! Their happy hour menu (between 4-7pm) has an incredible selection of the not so ordinary priced at $2, $4, & $6 categories. They have a ridiculous selection of beer, signature cocktails and wine as well as regular entrees.
If you're not impressed with that- go there for the public school atmosphere. Yep- it's an experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dev227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We did not eat here, just had a couple rounds of drinks. Pretty average, but nice fun atmosphere. The bartenders are cool and offered nice insight on the local scene. We will probably go back next time we are in the area, would love to try the food!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Daily Grill Downtown LA is a class act”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

When most of the downtown LA heads for the suburbs the Daily Grill in downtown Los Angeles is a great find for either a casual dinner or nice night out. The menu could be described as "imaginative comfort food" with everything from Chicken Pot Pie to excellent seafood and steaks. The service was quite good, the decor was clean and slightly art deco, and even the background music was tasteful. A notch above the typical corporate (aka franchise) restaurant but not a total budget buster. Dinner for two with cocktails, a glass of wine, dinner and dessert was about $120. Not cheap but you can practically spend that at your local theme restaurant and wind up with a talking moose.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank upfrontguitars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A reasonably priced downtown eaterie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was close to our hotel and recommended for a quick meal. It has a nice atmosphere and the food came quickly. Not exactly gourmet cooking but very wholesome and welcome after a long flight. Recommended for a quick bite if you are in the area. A good extensive menu.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oilmanDorset_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daily Grill - Downtown LA also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Daily Grill - Downtown LA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing