We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A top choice for a cool LA dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Church and State

Church and State
Reserve with OpenTable
Church and State is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #390 of 9,895 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Mateo
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A top choice for a cool LA dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Cool atmosphere even though it's a bit noisy. The lighting and layout are quite inviting. The menu is great... wanted to order almost everything. Highly recommend the goat cheese with lavendar/honey + coq au vin + steak frites and the tartes... all VERY good! Looking forward to going back soon.

The server was nice but not exceptionally good or bad. The sommelier was a bit stiff, but again, not exceptionally so. It wouldn't keep me from coming back... but I would give the place 5 stars if the service were more on the level of a restaurant like Craft.

Overall... a top pick in LA.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank avideno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    53
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good food, service not so much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a downtown adjacent gastropub worth checking out. From the crusty bread and plugrum butter to the hot coffee, food was well prepared from first rate ingredients. Had the steak tartare, which is a rarity in today's menus, which was made from chopped tenderloin and served with excellent crispy french fries. Salads were slightly overdressed, but that's a quibble, the chicken salad comes with a generous amount of very juicy meat. Preparation is classicly French, except the Salade Nicoise which had the typical LA style pieces of seared tuna (and not enough olives or green beans).

Service is slow and rather indifferent as the place is busy and the kitchen struggles to keep up with the order volume. Would have tried the desserts but that would have been another hour of parking to consider. Ate outside as it was a nice day and the interior seemed crowded and loud.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UtahMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food in the industrial district of LA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Everything was wonderful from the French Onion Soup and bone maro to the Charcuturie plate, it is a little pricey but worth the money. There is free 2hr parking on the street where the restaurant is instead of spending four dollars across the street just watch out for the large trucks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ltiggertaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sunday Supper”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Sunday supper for $39 per person cannot be beat. Delicious freshly baked baguette. We ordered the puff pastry with snails, and mussel as side dishes.

Main server appeared to be bored at times. Food runner and others were great and friendly. Wine pairing was great.

Food was delicious. Dessert was ok; nothing extraordinary.

This place did not stand out. Sunday Supper at Lucques was always excellent with satisfied feeling. Here, since the dessert was ok, then the ending was not as memorable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeyRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love going to Church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I got Xmas gift card from our son to Church and State. Loved the restuarant and loved the food! I miss my foie GRAS but their chicken liver pâté filled the void. I had the scallops and it was wonderful but my wife had the duck combo of breast and confit and it was the best duck we ever had! We know what we want for every Xmas now! Thx son

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gotojanstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church and State also viewed

 

Been to Church and State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing