We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly wonderful!”
Review of Tasting Kitchen

Tasting Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Tasting Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #436 of 9,954 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Venice
Cross street: Venice
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
168 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful!”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Tasting Kitchen never disappoints! It is always hopping with a younger hip crowd. Their wine list has amazing wines that pair well with the menu, and aren't too badly priced. The star is their wonderfully delicious soulful food. The menu starts with a variety of apps, pastas and entrees, and the idea here is to share, as their portions are large. It can be a little pricey, depending on what you order, especially on the main entree dish. But it is well worth it. The menu centers around grains, farmer's market veggies, and amazing proteins. Reservations are a must, and parking is a little hard. Valet service provided but there is also parking lots 1/2 block down the street. Trick is to get there early to enjoy the beautiful inner garden patio, which is lovely at night!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winenutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    58
    32
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Truly Tasty!”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I had the most delicious burrata with braised rappini - I closed my eyes and thought I was in tuscany - smooth pudding like texture and greens that still were crisp. how toothsome and how good! lentils were superb - expertly spiced - eating veggies for the night and did not feel short changed. my friend has the fusilli pasta and raved about it . The waitress was superbly unobtrusive, very knowledgeable. low key but always there to make a suggestion on the wine or answer our questions about what spices and herbs were used. the desert was pistachio ice cream - wonderful!!!! - and olive oil mini cakes - like a dense sweet bundt cake. who ever is cooking is a fabulous alchemist. My new favorite restaurant.
i booked again tomorrow night so I can try more of the menu! which changes daily -

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Light_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“My favorite food in LA.”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

A friend brought me here for dinner a while ago, and I've been returning religiously ever since. The chicken wings. The Bucatini Arrabiata. The Mussels. But most importantly: The Best Fresh Bread (hot) with Fresh Butter and Rock Salt! You pay for it and it is worth every penny. It can be loud and tough to get a ressie, but Open Table usually can find spots. The front door is not well marked, so you might walk past it the first time. The patio is lovely, the community tables can be fun, and the staff is very well-educated about the menu, so ask away. They have an impressive wine list, and I've tried some unusual wines by the glass. If you love food, you will love Tasting Kitchen.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zeppo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
168 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This restaurant is such a great find! The very low key interiors and great food make it a perfect place to meet friends, and have a beautiful dinner and wine. The food is farmer's market driven, and everything is fresh! The entrees are large enough to share. We had a duck ragu with handmade torn pasta, which was so delicious! The current wine list has been re-vamped by the GM/Sommelier Francois Renaud, and it has a variety of really great bottles at reasonable prices, which pair lovely with the food! Recommend reservations, and also, the main dining room gets a little noisy as it fills up later in the evening.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winenutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Was worth the wait for reservations”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The menu is confusing, just read it and relax as the wait staff is very well versed in explaining it. Loved the food, everything was awesome. Had a squid appetizer, yum. I had the half chicken, it was cooked perfectly with ultra crisp skin. My partner had the Flat iron steak which as amazing as well.

My only complaint was the choice of Vodkas. Nothing close to what I like so had to settle for Hanger One. Not a bad vodka just not on my favorites list.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Summit4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasting Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Tasting Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing