We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food Ruined by Inappropriate "Entertainment:” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kravings

Kravings
Ranked #1,844 of 9,847 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse, Latin, Spanish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
Cross street: Yolanda
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Ruined by Inappropriate "Entertainment:”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

How sad. This was our first & last visit to this restaurant. Decor is quirky and fun. We were promptly seated and were told the choices for dinner. We chose the churrascaria dinner. Salad and 1st courses were plentiful and good. The meat courses were EXCELLENT. Service of the meats to our table was mechanical, by bored employees. No explanation of the food preparation was given. The Banana Foster pizza for dessert was VERY good. What RUINED the evening for us was the "entertainment": 2 Samba dancers that periodically performed during dinner. The music was turned up very high, making conversation at the table impossible. A number of customers became routy and boisterous, more appropriate in a strip club rather than a nice restaurant. Having been to Brazil, these dancers made a mockery of Samba culture. Due to this "entertainment," I will not go back to this otherwise enjoyable restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onetaxingguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    0
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carnivore's delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Kravings has a beautiful buffet full of delicious food ranging from shrimp to seaweed salad and everything in between, blah blah blah - yes, that's all nice, but honestly, the reason to go here is for the Brazilian style meat that is brought right to your table. It's all you can eat, and wow, you should eat. Some of the best cuts of meat I've ever had came from Kravings - the Picanha steak is particularly succulent and mouth-watering. Pretty much every meat the pleasant server came to offer to our table was divine. It's not extremely pricey either, considering the amount of food you get. If you're interested in some carnivorous offerings and you're ready to fill up, Kravings is a great buffet choice.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bennett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheesy decor, good eats.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

While a vegan would probably pass out just crossing the threshold of this establishment, carnivores will have a delectable delight in store for them. The decor was a bit on the cheesy side, but with some imagination one can imagine themselves in some far away double 0 movie in the casbah. There are no alternatives to meat but the few select dishes they specialize in are melt in your mouth worth a drive to experience. The live music was fun but too loud. Not a bad blues trio when I was there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank silvatungfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
142 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“NEW YEARS EVE 2011 AT KRAVINGS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had a great time at Kravings for New Years, early 7pm seating. We love the hip and stylish atmosphere, we had a great private booth, and the food was delicious. I don't eat any red meat, but the salad bar is amazing and there was grilled shrimp and chicken also. Really good! Prices are not cheap, but it is all you can eat and we felt it was worth it, much less on regular nights, we paid more for New Years. We also liked the DJ and we all ended up dancing in between the show..it was really fun. The Brazilian dancing girls are also very good and very entertaining. Service is great, they always come around with food and parking is easy also. Have not tried the champagne brunch yet, but that is next on our list. Each time we go, we feel like we are in a cool Hollywood restaurant, rather than downtown Tarzana..(nothing against Tarzana, that part is actually pretty cool with new restaurants and the Whole Foods). We will be trying the brunch soon!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Sunday Brunch is excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have eaten at Kravings a few times and have never been disappointed. It is a cozy restaurant, so make reservations, but that is part of the experience. You can bring your family to a good, well-appointed, intimate restaurant without having to stress. The food is excellent, meat served Brazilian style, and the prices are very reasonable for the quality and service your receive. Trendy, but not pompous. Go here and tell your friends!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daddymosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kravings also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Kravings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing