We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not just a dog park”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Runyon Canyon Park

Runyon Canyon Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Runyon Canyon Hiking Tour
Ranked #18 of 539 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located off Mulholland Drive in the Hollywood Hills, this park is especially loved by dog-lovers since they can hike with their dogs without a leash.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not just a dog park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Almost three decades of living in Los Angeles and I only just recently experienced Runyon Canyon. I always thought of it as a dog park--and it does have that reputation, and I did get knocked over by an exuberant mutt--but it is so much more than that. Accessible from the Hollywood area, a round-trip two-hour hike along any of the paths of this park will provide you with majestic views of the city from numerous angles. Unlike Griffith Park--which I also love, but which can sometimes feel intimidating by its sheer expanse, Runyon Canyon is very manageable. It is easy to see where you want to go and how to get there without feeling like you're going to get lost or end up in a longer trek than you were planning on. If dogs bother you, however, Runyon Canyon is not the spot for you. There are a lot of doggies in this area and for much of the park they are not required to be on a leash. Also, the park is popular and generally quite populated so don't expect seclusion. Do, however, expect a nice bit of exercise and an extremely nice view.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank picsoflilyblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    268
    62
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Still one of my favorite hikes in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I've been hiking in Runyon Canyon since 1994 when I lived right down the street. Back in the day when there might be a dozen other people in the whole park at any given time. This canyon is now quite a bit more popular, a tourist attraction you might say with lots and lots of people there at all times of the day, but it's still the same really great hike with the same spectacular views. Runyon Canyon is not only a dog friendly hiking Mecca, but if you take the time to check into it, there's some really cool history behind it all.
One thing I am bummed about... They used to have one big wooden park bench at the top that was set up on concrete blocks so that when you got to the top, your "prize" was to sit on the bench with your feet dangling like a little kid, soaking up the incredible views of the city.
Now, presumably based on volume of hikers, there are two metal benches, ground level, and you're lucky if you get a spot at all.
Regardless, I love Runyon Canyon! The meditative energy, surrounded by Palm trees, brush, singing birds and views of everything from the Hollywood sign and Griffith Park observatory all the way to Century City and
Los Feliz. It's a fantastic way to get some good exercise for you and your furry friend, as well as take in the sights of the city from above all the madness. Please don't take this away....it's a true gem that needs to be protected!
Oh...and good luck finding parking! You'll need it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I see starz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Runyon Canyon, whenever I end up hiking at this location I see all kinds of movie stars. From Tom Cruse, Cameron Diaz, Nicole Richie, Charlize Theron to up and coming celebrities. You can enter the canyon trails from below in Hollywood or from above starting from the all infamous road, Mulholland Drive. If you looking to not be alone on your hike then this is the place for you and everyone else! Remember to bring your own water, water, water and if you bring a pet bring plenty of extra water for your pets too. ;-)
Happy Trails,
Shoe leather express...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We walked from the Hollywood and Highland Centre - about a 10 min walk (at times uphill) - to the Fuller Street entrance. Not carpark - all residential street parking - but you may have to park a few blocks back if you drove. We took a left at the entrance so walked up the paved hill (very strenuous at times) and came back down on the steps which are scary, uneven and extremely steep. Have to be careful not to do yourself a nasty injury on them. There are no railings and just cliffs on either side. Don't know whether it would have been better to go in the other direction as those stairs are very high to have to walk up. Either way you need to be careful of the knees and ankles. Path is shared in both directions by humans and dogs alike. Hoping to see a few celebrities but lucked out on the day we were there. There are a few trails to do but if you're doing the big loop up to the point at the top, take some water as it can get quite hot and wear comfortable shoes. Great views of Hollywood, the Hollywood sign, the big homes in the Hollywood Hills and LA off in the distance (through the smog) but well worth the trek.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsettingaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerot Yitshaq, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place for a run and great views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The park wasn't anything special, but if you're looking for a break from the city and a place to breathe some fresh air (relatively), this isn't bad.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Runyon Canyon Park also viewed

 

Been to Runyon Canyon Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing