We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool, small museum with great variety and fine works”
Review of Hammer Museum

Hammer Museum
Ranked #92 of 554 things to do in Los Angeles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in the Westwood Village neighborhood of Los Angeles, the Hammer Museum presents exhibitions of contemporary and historical work in all media of the visual arts plus a full roster of free public programs including film screenings, performances, lectures, readings, and panel discussions on current social issues. Admission to the museum is free.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very cool, small museum with great variety and fine works”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a fun museum. Went with my wife and daughter. My daughter is the kind of kid who gets bored easily in museums. The Hammer has a lot o variety and some ping pong tables outside if you get bored. All kinds of media, modern art, great masters. This is a good place to spend an hour or two.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank familyinnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    16
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Live from LA”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Since the Hammer Museum first opened in 1990 near the Westwood campus of UCLA, "It's come a long way, Baby!" It now pulsates with energy and originality. Come to an exhibition opening and you find yourself among the widest energetic demographic in the city - from 20 Somethings to fashionable folks with walkers! The shows are cutting-edge and sometimes just too edgy for my personal tastes but always fun and interesting.

In any month, the calendar offers fascinating lectures, exhibition walkthroughs, book club discussions, poetry readings, movie screenings, public engagement forums and afternoons for kids.

I recently had a chat with a gentleman sitting next to me and my husband visiting from Vancouver who described himself as a "treasure seeker". He had come to LA to explore our museums and here he was listening to one of three lectures at the Hammer given by our own James Conlon, certainly an LA treasure. This lecture was open free of charge to the public.
Visit the Hammer and even if you're not from the LA area, become a member and support a treasure.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shi Hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“More than just "old paintings"”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was here a couple years ago and liked it then. Yes, some of the great masters are here. (As an artist I appreciate that). Additionally, they feature contemporary artists from many different mediums, cultures, styles, etc. And, with the temporary exhibits, there's always something new. The bookshop is very nice and well maintained. Parking in the same building.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Go in a Thursday”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed the museum, but was glad I went on a Thursday when it is free rather than paying $10 to get in. It has a good collection of impressionist paintings, and the temporary exhibitions on graphic design and paper were enjoyable. The bookshop is also impressive. I couldn't eat in the cafe as the only free tables were reserved, but as you are in the middle of Westwood, there are plenty of other places to eat. I was there for about an hour and a half. Enjoyable, but the Getty centre (free) and LACMA (just $5 more) have much bigger collections so I wouldn't pay to get in here.

Helpful?
Thank CityGirlAimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great afternoon cultural escape”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Contains some great classic pieces as well as very interesting exhibits. Great to have the parking in the building and also has a nice cafe.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Listu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammer Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hammer Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing