We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Los Angeles”
Review of Bradbury Building

Bradbury Building
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Hollywood and Downtown Los Angeles Walking and Subway Tour
More Info
$219.00*
and up
Private Luxurious Tour of Los Angeles
More Info
$19.00*
and up
Old and New Downtown Los Angeles Tour
Ranked #34 of 559 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Famous 19th-century Italian Renaissance building in downtown Los Angeles.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Downtown Los Angeles”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Los Angeles does not have a lot of historic buildings so if you are anywhere near downtown LA, do not miss this building--its totally unique like no other building. Built in 1893, it has been restored and maintained in perfect condition. It's interior is very 'film noir" and has been used in countless movies and TV shows. In one of my favorite movies BLADE RUNNER, the final scene was shot in this building. Also the movie CHINATOWN had many scenes filmed here. Be sure to check out the elevators and stair cases-they are classic.
After seeing building go across street to Grand Central Market for a very different experience.
It is totally LA and reflects the large Hispanic population and their food preferences.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dmahler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    149
    39
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great if you're a history or architecture buff”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I personally love both history and architecture, so I gave the Bradbury Building a 5 star rating. But most people, especially Millennials, would probably rate it a 3 or 4 instead. The attraction is the architecture and metal work in a "cutting edge" building for its time. Most tourists walk right past it without even knowing its significance. Like many of the old movie palaces on Broadway, the Bradbury is an LA landmark. Beware of the pick pockets on the street and in the area of old downtown Los Angeles. LA's Broadway is not nearly as safe as Manhattan's Broadway!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JJCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Architecture fans need this.”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

It is a beautiful bldg. I try and make this a part of any Downtown trip. I like to hit the Grand Central Market and the Angels Flight. I hit Chinatown and I hit The Bradbury. You can't go upstairs unless with a tour of some sort.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deabs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“If you LOVE architecture and history a MUST SEE In LA”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I LOVE this building. I was lucky enough to have an office here in the early 90's right after the building was restored and during the time that Jack Nicholson made the movie "Wolf" or "Wolfman" something like that. I remember them filming there and those of us that worked there were very protective over the way the building was being treated. It has gorgeous marble floors and wood details on the stairs, the elevator is one of the most unique in the world. The bathrooms are gorgeous (yes the bathrooms at least they were back then) and the offices were amazing. I NEVER wanted to leave work. The ceiling of this building makes you feel like you are outside. (The offices are not like that at least my office had a regular ceiling) but from the courtyard and stairs it's definitely something to see in person! They used to give tours and I recently saw a friend of mine post a picture of himself in the building so I'm guessing they still are. If you can get in to see this and you like history and interesting buildings this is a REAL GEM. it's at Broadway and 3rd in Downtown LA. PS- this area is getting better but it's still not super safe. I don't recommend going after dark or alone and if you do go and want to walk around the area - keep it low key. Don't go flashing jewelry, purses, etc..There are parking lots with attendants and i highly recommend paying the money for that. The Central Market is across the street and great for food and an experience! Just keep the above safety advice in mind there as well. Be aware, be safe but have fun!! Bring a camera!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliK222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 815 helpful votes
“Beyond gorgeous and historical”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just to walk into the building is beautiful. If in the area, walk in just to see the majesty of the atrium with amazing ironwork and glass. A must-see when in the area. Also, they usually have very-enthused people working there who can provide a history of the building (employed by the Los Angeles Conservation Agency, I think). Either way, a must-see!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bradbury Building also viewed

 

Been to Bradbury Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing