We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at this hotel 4 times but my first review, I like it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Figueroa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Figueroa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   939 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“stay at this hotel 4 times but my first review, I like it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I've Stayed at the Figueroa several times, the the Moroccan theming. This visit the wifi was no longer included in the price that was disappointing. The hotel is perfect for anyone wanting to stay near LA Live. The Bathroom are on the small side but ok. The room was clean and comfortable. The price is affordable for the area. Parking is $20 per overnight. up from the $12 of my visit last year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    237
    164
    69
    98
See reviews for
79
191
68
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is conveniently located in a neighborhood with a lot of restaurants and bars. The hotel has a parking and a very nice pool and Jacuzzi. It’s very charming with an unique style. It’s probably good to know that the owners have recently sold the hotel to a company that wants to renovate it and turn it into a boutique hotel, with higher prices. We already experienced the first results as during our stay the prices at the bar went up by more than 20%. Our room was very small, with a very small bathroom, but apparently rooms will be enlarged in the planned renovations.
The breakfast buffet where you pay what you take was very convenient. Wifi has to be bought from AT&T, and doesn't work at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Spent 2 nights here last week for my niece's wedding. The decor was amazing, its too bad they were getting ready to renovate it. Bed was comfy but our room was quite small. Saw many other rooms that were a bit larger for the same price. Water pressure in shower was amazing but the shower head is a bit low. The pool was nice but there are no lounge chairs. Across the street from LA Live/Staple center. I would probably stay here again to see the new decor but I have a feeling I would be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Mo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSCGM, Manager at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Mo1932,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Figueroa, and even more pleased that your niece had a wonderful event for her very special day! Yes we are soon to be undergoing extensive renovations to address a number of the issues you brought forth, the hotel was built in 1926 and our goal is to create a property that while still maintaining the unique feel and style it will also provide world class facilities and venues that will enhance our guests stay into a truly world class experience. Stay tuned for more as we set forth to create a truly memorable guest experience!

Again thank you!

Colin McBeath
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Another great stay for us at the Figueroa...Sally just loves it....The trolls that review this place negatively belong at Applebees,Walmart and the Sheraton....THIS IS A UNIQUE PLACE AND SHOULD BE APPRECIATED FOR WHAT IT IS....AN OLDER HOTEL WITH CLASS AND CHARM
AND INDIVIDUAL ATTENTION....I read one review about not having an iron in the room-a simple
phonecall downstairs alleviates this...as for the food offerings,there are plenty of places within 100 yards to eat-I personally love the cafe...offerings are limited but delicious and the best and most reasonable breakfast in town.Clean,unique hotel run by a man of taste....

Room Tip: Be nice and you will be treated the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank_king99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hotel is very unique compared to many other hotels. It is Moroccon theme and some families with children may not particularly like the walkways to the rooms, it's a little bit scary at night cause its dark. Rooms were fairly big, breakfast was small, dinner has a small manu. Location wise is ok, Metro was a 10-15 min walk, Staples stadium was next door. There was a FANTASTIC dinner near by, opens 24 hours, the breakfast was DELICIOUS. Overall good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSCGM, Manager at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Max L,

Thank you so much for your review, we truly appreciate the feedback. Without feedback such as this we cannot continue to improve our service and our property! Again thank you so very much! Yes are in the midst of a pending renovation so our food and beverage offerings are limited however they are still very good in our opinion. That being said as we go forward we will eventually be offering a much wider range of food and beverage offerings that truly encompass the spirit and originality of the property.

Again thank you so very much and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Colin McBeath
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarhurst, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I didn't stay here but I spent a LOT of time in the bar/pool area. It was a beautiful oasis after sitting in the convention center all day long. You don't even realize you're in downtown L.A. It was relaxing and calming. My friends and I enjoyed the atmosphere and the AMAZING Mojitos!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a stop over in LA for 5 days and wanted something cheap as we wanted to do the Tourist bit and have a look at LA. This Hotel was just the Job, the decoration is amazing and I think most of the stuff comes from Maroco. The room was not so hot (well it was hot if you didn't have the AC running), It was small with a very small bathroom, the Windows were barred and mostly taken up with the AC machine. Well we were not there for the room so it didn't seem to matter.
The pool in the garden was a highlight and the Drinks were not so expensive.
It was very cheap, I think around €80 a day with breakfast. LA is a great City and we were glad we stopped there.

Room Tip: If you want a good room you must pay a bit more. We had the cheapest but there were other ones that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los An...
#209 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#26 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#130 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#188 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#27 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Figueroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Figueroa

Property: Hotel Figueroa
Address: 939 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90015
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Figueroa 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unexpected oasis amidst an urban metropolis, Hotel Figueroa is a timeless and enduring gem in downtown Los Angeles. Located just a stone's throw from L.A. Live, Staples Center, and the Los Angeles Convention Center, this beloved downtown LA hotel is a true classic, a place that embraces the multicultural history and old-school glamour of southern California, while still remaining friendly, genuine, and completely unpretentious. Hotel Figueroa is one of the most stunning and photogenic boutique hotels in downtown Los Angeles. Built in 1925, the building retains much of its original Spanish Mediterranean architecture and is accentuated by a dramatic decor with rich colors and intricate patterns. Elegant archways with glowing lanterns lead into the hotel lobby, resplendent with its coffered ceilings and ornately painted tiles. The rooms and suites, unique in their bold and colorful style offer the perfect respite from exploring Los Angeles. The city itself is right at the doorstep to Hotel Figueroa. Our L.A. boutique hotel is a gateway to all that is downtown Los Angeles, a burgeoning center of arts, culture, dining, and nightlife. Just across the street is L.A. Live, home to Nokia Theatre, Staples Center, and the Los Angeles Convention Center. The neighborhood is also abundant with restaurants, cafes, bars, lounges, and clubs. From Michelin-starred chefs and multicultural cuisine to whiskey bars and sultry speakeasies, it's no wonder that GQ magazine calls downtown Los Angeles "America's Next Great City." So whether you're heading downtown for business, pleasure or you simply want to enjoy the Lakers game-Hotel Figueroa promises a stay that has that authentic L.A. feel and is truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Figueroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Figueroa Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing