We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning lobby, good value.”
Review of Hotel Figueroa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Figueroa
Ranked #155 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel is on the edge of downtown, so it isn't quite as convenient to most downtown sights as some of the other hotels, unless you're interested in L.A. Live and the Convention Center, which are close by. It's hard to describe the beautiful and atmospheric lobby -- are you in Marrakesh? Moorish Spain? Casablanca? Down a tiled corridor, and you're in the bar and pool area, but you could be in some exotic corner on the other side of the world; the pool is especially beautiful at night. I had one of the smaller rooms, and it was a bit tight, but the furnishings and colors were lovely and the bathroom was fine. This room did have a small "pantry" with a shelf and a small fridge, which came in very handy. One trip to the Ralph's nearby, and I had it well-stocked for quick meals in my room. One thing that was bothersome is that there is no free WiFi in the rooms; you have to use the computer on the front desk counter in the lobby, which is OK for quick sessions but not if you plan to be online for a while. Otherwise, this hotel is a bargain and has to be seen to be believed. Stops on L.A.'s metro system are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bythemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertuno, Owner at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Thank you very much. Based on some reviews as of late, we needed this boost. In case you weren’t aware, we have WiFi throughout the hotel (AT&T hotspot) and the cost is $5/day -- you connect through AT&T WiFi. Use of the computer at the front desk is complimentary, for guests who don’t travel with a laptop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 742 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

I have stayed here on three separate occasions and have always been impressed with the decor. It really is quite beautiful. I went to stay at the Biltmore two weeks ago and my male friend and I said "we should have stayed at the figueroa". I never had an issue with the dead bolt, hotel keys, etc. I've called for a blanket and they brought one up no problem. No weird smells to complain about...the one thing I would say is that the rooms need black out curtains. that is my only gripe. The heater is kind of old, but it worked! BTW, the beds are super comfortable. Will be coming back in July. Shame on the people giving this place a bad review, I have stayed in some crumby places, this is sure NOT one of them.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertuno, Owner at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2011

Thank you very much. One works so hard to provide a nice, interesting place at realistic prices and then someone (anonymously) will write a scathing review. Thank you for your gracious comments. Please ask for me on your next visit, there will be a chilled bottle of Prosecco waiting for you on the Veranda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

A beautiful, if small hotel. Unless I looked up at the skyscrapers, I would have thought I was in Spain, not the middle of LA.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fantasia035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertuno, Owner at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2011

That's exactly the ambience we like to create! Bougainvillea, cacti and succulents are thriving at poolside. Thank you and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Attended a friend's Bday party in Hotel Fig's outdoor Morrocan style pool bar for the first time. Very impressive with location and the view of the surrounding L.A. skyline. The mojitos were very good and strong, but heard the wine by the glass wasn't too good. The sampler Mexican appetizer platter was expensive (about $50.00) and one of the worst tasting Mexican food I've had in a while. Order a plate of french fries at the lobby lounge, and they'll bring it to you by the pool bar, for only $2.10 instead. The view and the location is worth the visit. Great place to for Bday party.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertuno, Owner at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

Thank you for your comments. Actually, we purchase our taquitos & burritos from Sysco. I am not an expert on Mexican food but will look into your comments. Please try a plate of our spanakopita or Mediterranean artichoke tarts next time, with our compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I've traveled in developing countries. I'm down with staying in not-top-notch places; I'm still under 30. It's cool; sometimes that's what available, sometimes that's what the budget is. But this. Dear me. Some things are unacceptable as matters of health, safety, and security.

In that category:
1) No deadbolt on our door. None. Not ok. And keys only... easy to copy keys. Not safe.
2) No safe in our room.
3) Electrical outlets jerry-rigged and looking extremely unsafe - two prong only! The one behind the bed was impossible to reach, but that was probably good, because it might have set me on fire.
4) Air conditioner, which needed some firm whacks to get it going and seemed circa 1984, had enough dust accumulated in it that we seriously debated turning it on. That kind of stuff is gross. And easy to keep clean; no excuse.
5) Security of your personal information: this place is run on a typewriter-and-carbon-paper system. At the front desk, not only can they not do anything quickly, they also risk the security of guest (and credit card!) information. Upgrade this stuff; no excuse.

In the not-security/health risk but still bad:
1) The towels. C'mon. As small as could be, awkward if you're sharing a room with a colleague, but also thin and worn.
2) Toiletry amenities were kind of vintage-y cute, but insufficient. Thus, not ironically cute. More like you were still in the early 1980s and sort of regretting it.
3) "Breakfast." It belongs in quotation marks, trust me.

On the plus-ish sides:
1) It was clean enough. The beds were old and dorm-like, mattresses bad, and sheets were not nice, but it seemed clean.
2) Someone has clearly tried hard to decorate with care. It is sort of endearing, because they obviously tried, but you can't make an old YMCA into a Moroccan boutique hotel. It still smells like my college dorm - maybe the grout from the tiles or something? Industrial cleaners? It makes me think "no way will I ever go for 'Moroccan,' because it means 'this stuff is old so we'll make it dark and maybe no one will notice.'"
3) The pool area is nice for a drink - the kitsch works there.

The building is old - own it. Don't try to make it into some weird Moroccan theme. Go with the vintage-YMCA/college dorm feeling. That could bring up a lot of interesting memories for people. But to go Moroccan-esque, it only enhances the impression that one is traveling in a developing country. Upgrade the electrical outlets, door locks, and your reservation/payment system, at a bare minimum. Please.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weekenderPaloAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I recently spent 6 nights at this hotel, which was chosen for me by a convention booking agency. I read the mxed reviews on this site with concern while still trying to keep an open mind. Honestly, I've stayed in far worse hotels and if I'd been in Ecuador or Tunisia, I would have thought it was adequate. Its just that you don't expect this class of hotel in the US when there are much nicer hotels across the street for virtually the same price. The lobby is quirky, and the pool is nice enough. The breakfast is probably the best deal in LA. Same is true for the price of parking - very reasonable. I saw many of the rooms because of the nature of the event and the quality varies widely but there are none that I saw that were what I would call acceptable. The rooms are very very dark, no clocks, and a bit on the grim side. Work areas are non-functional. Sheets and mattress pads need to be replaced. Towels are not plush and there is an air of staleness. I had a problem with hot water one morning. Plants were growing inside on the wall of my room- having come through the ouside window. A closed-over elevator ( early 1900's) reminecent of the one I rode on the Tower of Terror was next to our room. There were what appeared to be false doors at the end of the hall leading to what I assume is nowhere. Actually, this is probably just a function of the place being a rehab'd YWCA wherein not all rooms are useable for guests. One door in the hall common area was splintered and appeared to have been broken into recently. I was really glad to get home and have a nice hot shower!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jperez11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertuno, Owner at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

Why in heaven’s name did you stay for 6 nights and not just check-out? No one has reported any problem with hot water, and there is no record of your asking about changing rooms. In room 331 the tulip vine is on the exterior of the wall however if you open the window it’s possible for it to drift in. The service elevator is in full-time use (feel free to check with the City) and I am glad you were not disturbed by its use. The storage closets at the end of the hallways are used daily by housekeeping for their supplies and equipment. The last “break-in” was in 1984 in connection with the Olympic Games when someone attempted to hang a banner from the window of a room. Perhaps you might have been more comfortable had you inquired about changing rooms, or about any of the above issues while staying at the hotel for 6 nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

This hotel was relaxing, the bed was really comfortable, and I like it when I can open the windows. Loved all the decorations and plants around, an effort was made to be pleasing and colorful. The staff was nice and helpful. The pool area is very cool to hang out at, especially at night when the music kicks in, really unique choice of music and good for any age or culture. The hotel is in the middle of all I needed, restaurants, food store, drug store, bus stop, subway, etc. This place was not an insult to my pocket, there was a lot of value.

Room Tip: Pick a nicer room, great price and unique decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertuno, Owner at Hotel Figueroa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Thank you for taking time out to write. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#63 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,299 reviews
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#157 of 355 in Los Angeles
468 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#86 of 355 in Los Angeles
253 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#91 of 355 in Los Angeles
436 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Figueroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Figueroa

Address: 939 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1302
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $416 - $803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Figueroa 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Figueroa was recently restored to its 1920's Spanish Colonial splendor. There are 268 room and suites, all designed with comfortable elegance and in-room technology in mind for today's modern traveler. With two destination restaurants and four bars, a grand and expansive lobby, and breathtaking pool area, Hotel Figueroa stands at the center of Downtown LA's vibrant arts scene, attracting locals, foodies, artists, and all manner of creatives as well as the discerning traveler. At the heart of DTLA’s thriving culinary and cultural renaissance, Hotel Figueroa is located across the street from LA Live, the Staples Center and the Los Angeles Convention Center, and is in close proximity to the Los Angeles Performing Arts Center, the Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) and the Broad museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Figueroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Figueroa Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing