We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value with Challenges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Venice Breeze Suites
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Value with Challenges”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have been back from our vacation for a couple of months and I am finally writing a review. I felt very mixed feelings at the end of our stay. I really struggled with what I felt following our stay. So I will keep it simple.

Pros
-good price
-located on beach
-parking
-rooftop patio
-staff generally friendly
-well equipped suite
-easy access to other beaches and LA area
-laundry

Cons
-Nice amenities but we had problems with fridge twice
-We had issues outside of the office hours and it took a significant amount of time to get a response and resolution---ex. key stopped working and could not get in our room
-timing on the boardwalk is everything
-people were partying and not watching kids in hotel in the evening
-beach front rooms might be too noisy

Room Tip: I would avoid beach front if you are a light sleeper. The flip side is the view is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeniceBreezeSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Venice Breeze Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and our amenities as well as our beachfront location. Venice Beach is certainly a very unique place to stay...between the artist community and the sheer mass of people that come to this world famous Boardwalk, there is never a lack of events to witness! Although Santa Monica beach may be a little more low key, we still welcome families and have many families that love to come and experience the zaniness of Venice. While our desk is not open 24 hours, we do have staff on site 24/7 when the front desk is closed and they are available for important guest needs. Our appliances were all replaced a few years ago. Had you informed us of a malfunction we would have fixed it immediately and reimbursed for any loss. Thus, we invite you to come back and try Venice again as it becomes more and more of a paradise by the beach. Thanks for reviewing us and we'll look forward to your return.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    149
    36
    14
    16
See reviews for
137
162
38
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at Venice Breeze Suites. Our family of four had one bed and a sofa bed. The rooms are very small, but well appointed and comfortable. The kitchen and bathroom were modern and new - very nicely done. The ocean front room had a fabulous view of the beach and boardwalk. Fortunately, noise ordinances have been put in place and most of the crazy stuff dies down around 9 or 10. With windows closed, the noise isn't much of an issue. The rooftop deck is great with fabulous views of the beach and surrounding Venice. You can even use the grill on the roof and enjoy a meal al fresco. The staff is warm and very accommodating. Parking is about 4-5 blocks away, which is not the best scenario, but not a deal breaker. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend VBS!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaMarijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeniceBreezeSuites, Manager at Venice Breeze Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hello MamaMarijke,

Thank you for staying with us and writing this positive review. We are glad you took advantage of our roof deck and were happy with your suite. Back in the 1930's not everyone had cars therefore our building was not made with parking. We did purchase a parking lot as close as possible and unfortunately it is a few hundred yards up the beach but we do offer the parking at no additional cost. Great pictures you shared and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Venice Breeze Suites was a great place to stay in LA. The apartments were well equipped, clean, cosy and spacious. The host, Michael, was wonderful and willing to help out at any request. We had an issue with our car but Michael made sure we weren't inconvenienced by helping us arrange an alternate means of travel for the day. We would recommend these apartments to anyone! The beds were super comfortable as well!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeniceBreezeSuites, Front Office Manager at Venice Breeze Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Holly,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Although we don't have a full staff to serve your every need, we try and be as helpful as possible to our guests; and we really appreciate when you acknowledge it! We love seeing people happy on their vacation! So when you return- whether its a recommendation on where to eat, get a bicycle rental, a good walk for the day, or where to catch the waves...please ask, we love to help out!

Thank you for staying with us, and we'll look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

great room. great location. great service. i travel alot (work and pleasure) so i know a good value. This place is it. right on the board walk. brand new kitchen and bath. i went with my teen daughter for a mini-vacation before a conference. wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: right on the board walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjaminkgreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeniceBreezeSuites, Front Office Manager at Venice Breeze Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks for writing us such a wonderful review. We may not have all the frills like a bellboy, concierge, or room service, but great value is what we aim for.

And thank you for the compliment! We underwent a five million dollar renovation in 2006, and we aim to maintain our beautiful hotel to keep it looking sparkling and new.

We'll look forward to your return! Just to let you know, we do discount for weekly stays, so when you do return for a longer period - we can just be that much more valuable.

Thank You,

Robbie
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I spent a lot of time looking for accommodation to stay at in LA. Not knowing much about LA, I initially began looking around the West Hollywood and Beverley Hills area. Eventually I decided to check out the beach areas and I am really glad I did.

Venice Breeze Suites are really clean, bright, full of character and a chilled out place to stay. Their location right on the boardwalk in the thick of it all was also great. We had a 4th floor studio at the top and back of the building, which was really quiet but still with views of the beach.

Venice Beach blew my mind - it totally exceeded my expectations. It is one of the craziest places I have ever visited - in a good way! Anything goes at Venice Beach, it's full of super friendly people and there's never any shortage of things to do or look at. Try to stay on a weekend as its a completely mad and unforgettable experience. Venice Beach is way more fun than Santa Monica, although Santa Monica is probably better for families.

What I thought was just going to be just a pit stop to get over my jet lag on route to New York turned out to be an awesome experience. Thank you Venice Beach and LA - I am now a huge fan!

Room Tip: 4th floor studio at the back and rear of the building is really quiet, roomy and still with beach vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeniceBreezeSuites, Front Office Manager at Venice Breeze Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
California Dreaming is a good way to describe a great stay with us on Venice Beach!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! I couldn't agree more, Venice Beach is certainly a very unique place to stay...between the artist community and the sheer mass of people that come to this world famous Boardwalk, there is never a lack of events to witness! And although Santa Monica may be a little more low key...we still welcome families and have many families that love to come and experience the zaniness of Venice!

We're so pleased that we were able to make a "pit stop" an "unforgettable experience". It means the world to us that we are able to continually make special experiences for our guests in this very special place.

Thank you again for the great review and we will look forward to your return!

Thank You,

Robbie
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Really liked the rooms and, even though this is a self-serve hotel with no front desk service, the staff were more than willing to help with anything we needed.

The rooms are just like the pictures. Very cool and well planned for efficiency. We had two suites (one for the kids and one for the adults) and we stayed for two weeks. It was great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwmvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeniceBreezeSuites, Front Office Manager at Venice Breeze Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We love having families come stay with us, and we keep beach toys, boogie boards, beach chairs, and umbrellas our in the lobby to use for people like you.

We'll look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This place is on the Venice boardwalk, 2 blocks from the skate board park and 3 blocks from Muscle beach, outside the front door is the lively Venice beach, lined with tourist and vendors, artists, chronic weed smokers and pontificators, non of which is threatening in the least, but if you do not come from an urban environment you may find it intimidating. The action starts by 9:30 am and by sun down the board walk quiets down as the vendors pack up. Venice beach has been declared a public park and is officially closed at midnight; this means it gets real quiet at night. What is great about the beach is it is very wide and if you want to sit at the ocean, with your back facing the zaniness of the boardwalk and the beauty of the Pacific in front of you the sounds of the boardwalk fade away and you at a great beach. Thus this location gives you the best of everything, the hotel is situated 10 min from Abbott and Kinney, great shops and restaurants that are open late. (worth the walk to www.intelligentsiacoffee.com in the morning for coffee)
Venice Breeze is not a full service hotel, if you want that book Shutters just up the road, what Breezes is a cross between a hotel/hostel/short term rental. You have to make your own bed, and hang your shower towels to dry. For our stay of 2 nights it made no difference to us if there was maid service, and I am sure that if you wanted to pay to have the room cleaned you could probably arrange that. There are beach items to borrow in the lobby. The renovation that they did to this building is incredible it feels like a new old building. The micro suites are really well designed modern living spaces, complete with kitchens and amazing showers. You have probably read about the roof top, but it is an oasis, you can sit there and watch the show below on the board walk, or be there in the am or pm to hear the calm of the ocean. While we were there, people on roof top were nice and respectful, some people were drinking, or smoking or eating, but it was never a crazy party and if you want to join in on the party great and if you did not want to party that was cool too, really just a great chill So Cal vibe. We stayed on the top floor, in the back which was perfect for us, the windows give a partial view of the ocean and a partial view of the roof tops in Venice. I would absolutely stay here again, or even stay here with my family, this is not a Holiday Inn or a Marriott, it has character charm and is a real place with real people, were did not feel as just a number and that is why we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd or 4th floor in towards the back, away from the elevators and the boardwalk, you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeniceBreezeSuites, Front Office Manager at Venice Breeze Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank You! Its important to us that our guests know "What you are in for" before coming to the world famous Venice boardwalk and everything that comes with being here...

We're happy that you were happy with staying towards the back of the building, but just to let everyone know- it can get pretty noisy on the weekends during the day with all the boardwalk traffic no matter where you are in the building because of our incredible location. However, by the evening the traffic dies down and by the night-time you can hear the waves crashing on the beach in front.

I appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. We have a really unique property down here in Venice, and always want to deliver the best experience possible our customers.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#12 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,300 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#87 of 351 in Los Angeles
511 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 351 in Los Angeles
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#56 of 351 in Los Angeles
538 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,820 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Breeze Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Breeze Suites

Property: Venice Breeze Suites
Address: 2 Breeze Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Venice Breeze Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hip ocean-front Hotel on the Venice Boardwalk. Ocean and Boardwalk Views available. Each suite features a unique blend of cutting-edge design and classic Venice Beach charm. Air conditioned with kitchens. Nothing on the boardwalk compares. The award-winning Venice Breeze Suites offer state-of-the-art amenities, unmatched access to all the excitement and comfort without any compromise. Once you visit, you'll never want to leave. Ocean view roof deck with BBQ and loungers! Venice Breeze Suites offer both Studio and 1 Bedroom Apartments. Contact us for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Venice Breeze Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Breeze Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing