We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensational!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gjelina

Gjelina
Ranked #40 of 9,854 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Home Style
Neighborhood: Venice
Cross street: Milwood
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place has incredible food, absolutely phenomenal ambiance, and a wonderful wait staff! Everything I had was absolutely wonderful! Try the rhubarb desert, it's to die for! The location is primo! Definitely one of my favorite restaurants in LA!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess_cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    236
    83
    45
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Food was delicious! One person in our party had dined there and knew just what to order. For a party of 9 adults, we ordered 12 small plates. Everything we ordered was great! The only negative was the wait. We had reservations, and still had a 30 minute wait. And that was standing on the sidewalk out front. Place is very trendy and loud, but the food was amazing!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank slhwk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Fun place to come with small group of friends to share all the little plates. The food was fresh & creative but the vegetables were STELLAR! Still dreaming about the grilled radicchio. If Gjelina can make that taste like heaven...seriously....no words!!! The staff was super attentive and gave awesome recommendations. Love the fact we can dress super casual but experience super amazing food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SOPHIA_88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good as always”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The food is very good and tasty, especially the appetizers to share.
The pizza is crunchy, the fish fresh and meatballs are homemade style.
There is only one problem, they don't do any variation to their food in any case, which I understand but having a 4 years old boy with deadly food allergies should have had the chef reconsider the policy when little kids are around...I asked the waiter several times to check with the chef if he could do some changes- not put oregano in the pizza- but he did not want to as he told me that the sauces are made well before
Anyway always very good food, especially if mother nature was nice with you...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NycGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Yum! No other way to describe Gjelinas, we've been lucky enough to eat here twice and the food is amazingly delicious, good service, good wine list, good people watching, great setting. Try sit in the courtyard if you can.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank job1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gjelina also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Gjelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing