We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious with a side of snob”
Review of Gjelina

Gjelina
Ranked #39 of 10,045 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Neighborhood: Venice
Cross street: Milwood
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious with a side of snob”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

You can't argue with the delicious food. The people watching is also kinda special - interesting locals, celebs, sexy people. The service can range from really friendly and good to utterly snobby.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank avideno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    251
    92
    45
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were recommended Gjelina's, and felt lucky to get a reservation. On arrival we had to wait (although not much space to do that) for our table. It was ready within 10 minutes. The menu was great - quite different, and the style of food and flavours I love. It was very cold the night of our visit - but the outside eating area was still open with patio heaters. We ate inside, but my husband had a very cold draft all night from the open doors. The restaurant was packed so there was no chance to ask to move anywhere else, and could tell they were unable to close the door as needed to stay open for service. The food was delicious - chicken parfait to start, then an eclectic pizza - far to big, wish we had shared like the couple next to us than had one each. I just had a glass of wine, and it was more expensive than my main course - far too pricy for an ordinary wine and one of the cheapest on the list. Everyone in the restaurant seemed young and trendy average age 28 I would say. Service was a little unfriendly. Think it would be better to go with a crowd than as a couple.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babyblackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best Thai In Los Angeles”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Constantly great imaginative Thai Food, One of the best outside of Thailand I . We love eating here. Do not let the strip mall location stop you , once inside you will not be disappointed. Going to Gjelina for over 20 years.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ladady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, to cool for school.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Excellent food, casual service, beautiful people, long wait (unless you go in the in-between times which I recommend)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tamer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service, cool ambience and decent value”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

LOVED it here. Absolute must, but make reservations. We were there on a Monday eve and it was packed. Also, GTA next door (take away version) is unreal. I dream of the pork belly sandwich!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scubagirl302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gjelina also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Gjelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing