We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool, comfortable place - you'll feel right at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hollywood Pensione

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hollywood Pensione
Ranked #17 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cool, comfortable place - you'll feel right at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We found this place to be utterly charming – perfectly situated in LA for access to anywhere, and particularly convenient to the wonderful West Hollywood, Los Feliz & Silverlake areas. Free parking, and you can even walk – yes, walk – to several restaurant options and even to Griffin Park.

Doughal is a pleasant, friendly host (we were out a lot and never got to meet his wife). They offer a simple breakfast (fresh fruit and muffins/pastries), but I didn't really expect or want more from a B&B in the big city. Full access to a stove an fridge in a lovely kitchen if you wish to stay in and cook a night. There is a washer/dryer in the kitchen/common room area for your use as well. We stayed in the "Peace" room, which lived up to its name - peaceful and comfortable in a simple, minimalist way. Nice, sizeable bathroom with a huge clawfoot tub that made my bath-favoring girlfriend incredibly happy.

Was here for only three nights, but it suited our needs perfectly, and in fact felt like a perfect base for a longer trip to LA. As much as I am charmed by some places, I generally wind up having an urge to try something different if I return to a place. But I'm quite confident that if and when I do return to LA, I will be eagerly checking to see if the Pensione is available, which, when I think about it, is among the highest praise as I can think of.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Wolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
49
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent start to our honeymoon at this b&b. We adored the relaxed and friendly atmosphere, amazing fresh homemade breakfasts, walking location to hollywood and friendly owners. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We picked Pensione because we wanted to be in the Hollywood and surrounding areas, and like the price. On arrival we were greeted by Dougal and given a tour of our temporary home. The shared kitchen provided a private frig. The bottle of sparkling wine was an unexpected welcome. Coffees and tea were available for the making. The other 2 rooms were occupied by a young couple from Australia and a mother helping her graduate son look for an apt. It felt like we were staying at a hostile, only clean and quiet. It was easy to visit with the other guests or be secluded in your room which had a minimalist decor. One of the best things was waking up in the mornings to the smell of the most wonderful freshly baked pastries and fruit awaiting you in the kitchen.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChanticleerVineyardB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week over Christmas and felt that we had landed on a hidden secret in LA. Arriving from the airport after sitting in rush hour traffic, the check-in was easy and it was like walking into an oasis of calm. The complimentary bottle of fizzy wine waiting in our personal fridge was very welcome and the room was comfortable, cosy and very well equipped. Breakfast was absolutely delicious every day and it was wonderful have access to cooking facilities. Location is excellent, right next to the 101 but in a very residential area with Franklin village within walking distance where we ate in a couple of lovely local restaurants. The best thing about the place was the owners Dougald and Erica; friendly, kind and very helpful, we felt very welcome in their house and would recommend the pensione to friends and definitely stay again if we're back in LA.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Watkins_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I loved this B and B! It was so nice and calming. The bed and sheets are seriously the most comfortable thing ever. It felt like you were crawling into angels wings. I even went home and ordered the sheets they use. The inn keepers are very nice and organic type of people. The room we stayed in was very nice just such a cool place to come back to after exploring all day. You can tell that the inn keepers work hard to keep their home and the rooms nice. There are several restaurants within walking distance and if you are avid walkers, you could even make it down to the chinese theater and walk of fame. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hollywood Pensione for our honeymoon and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. First of all, the breakfast each morning was delicious. Breakfast consisted of freshly made pastries and fruit. Since LA is constantly going, it was nice to be able to stay at a place that was super peaceful and calm. The room was very nice, a big bed and exceptionally comfortable. Also, Dougland was really nice and helpful throughout our stay. Another huge plus of this place is the off the street parking. I would recommend staying here to anyone, very much a home like environment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Hollywood Pensione is a great change from the typical chain hotel scene. It is very clean and comfortable...and a wonderful older home. The room was spacious with a nice footed soaking tub. The best part was the extremely comfortable bed and luxurious sheets on the bed. Yay for those! What was missing was any type of enthusiasm by the owners. Of the three little snacks left in the kitchen for breakfast in a three day period, two were essentially the same thing...dry corn muffins with a few berries baked inside. The other day was a puff pastry with some chocolate inside. Passable but not great. It was nice to have fresh fruit & tea available all the time. The wife said maybe 5 words to me in 3 days. Never saw the husband. That's okay because I was busy. But when I smelled chocolate chip cookies baking downstairs in their unit do you think they brought any up? I would stay again because the place was centrally located and I liked the setup and the price for the stay was reasonable. The innkeepers could just use a little personality. I've stayed a lots of B&Bs and the innkeepers are usually part of the experience. Would have given 5 stars for the facility and value for the room...but I think they feel a little short on the rest.

Room Tip: Any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Want2TrvlMore_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#45 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#22 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Pensione

Property: Hollywood Pensione
Address: 1845 N Wilton Pl, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Pensione 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Pensione is a Newly Renovated Eco-Conscious Boutique Inn in specializing in weekly and monthly stays. We cater to International travelers and artists from all over the world. The Pensione offers all of the comforts of home with the privacy and amenities of a luxury hotel. All or our rooms are Newly Renovated Suites with private bathrooms inside each room. Each room comes with new Luxury Queen Pillow Top Mattresses, 1500 Thread Count Egyptian Cotton Linens, a 48" Smart TV with DVD Player and Writers Desk. Two of our rooms feature very large bathrooms with classic Claw Foot deep soaking tubs and shower. All of our bathrooms feature our Luxurious Organic Hotel Towels and bath amenities. Our newly renovated Guest Kitchen, offers our guests state of the art appliances equipped with a Stove, Oven and Culinary Tool Essentials making it easy for all guests to enjoy. Each suite has individual refrigerators located in the guest kitchen for their private use along with self-serve laundry facilities. You may also enjoy our Guest Lounge & Balcony. We are located in the heart of Hollywood in the Franklin Village less than three blocks west of Griffith park & three blocks east of the Hollywood Sign. We are walking distance to hip cafe's, restaurants, bars, boutique shops, hiking trails and the metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hollywood Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing