We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really good orchestra - outstanding conductor”

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“really good orchestra - outstanding conductor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Gustavo Dudamel was not conducting for the concert we attended, but the program was great. Mahler Symphony and Korngold Concerto.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    20
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful concert hall with good acoustics”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Every time I have gone, we have sat behind the orchestra looking towards the conductor. I rather like this position. The acoustics are great. Dinner onsite is always a bit of a disappointment as there is only a cafeteria. More elegant dining options would be appreciated.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clinton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Show at Hollywood Bowl”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Bring food and wine. Everybody does and it lends to a great night. If I ever have a chance to go back, I definitely will.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bdubyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
931 reviews
353 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“An outstanding performance with fabulous acoustics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

while there are many stairs to be climbed depending upon where you sit (because the elevators fill up quickly) and the long rows of seats make it necessary to climb over many people to find yours if you near the middle, this is the most remarkable modern symphony center I have had the pleasure to enjoy; between conductor Gustavo Dudamel and architect Frank Gehry they have a winner

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sue o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“exterior extravagant/interior great format”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Parking is easy, seating is easy to find,ushers are polite & helpful. ultimate purpose of this venue, listening is excellent-want more characters---good is good, average is average, poor is poor---this is good

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Angeles Philharmonic also viewed

 

Been to Los Angeles Philharmonic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing