We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, Modern, Kitschy....a great combination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farmer's Daughter Hotel
Ranked #26 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cute, Modern, Kitschy....a great combination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2005

This was my 2nd time staying at Farmers Daughter. Was previously here in March 2005. So, i guess the fact that I came back for a 2nd stay says something.

We were going to the Price is Right - so we only stayed here one night. You absolutely cannot beat the location if you are going to TPIR. Its directly across the street - which is especially convenient when you're waiting in line at 4:30am. Also, its so close to The Grove / Farmers Market - there are a lot of nice shops and restaurants here...again, just walk across the street.

The rooms are decorated in country kitsch theme. Gingham, linoleum hardwoods, etc. Clean and cute. The lobby area is a mix of country flair with modern accents. Very open and breezy.

Since we were checking out early - the hotel worked well with us so that we could leave our car there and pay valet, plus check our luggage at the desk and pick up when we finished with TPIR. it all worked out very nicely.

Would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pharmgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    387
    94
    53
    38
See reviews for
240
286
72
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the FD for three nights this week -- it was great! We stayed in a king deluxe room that was funky/chic and roomy...spotlessly clean and perfectly comfy.

Check in was easy, the location is fantastic (we had meetings all over LA and it was central to everything), parking was reasonable ($10 a day with in&out), and the staff was nice. The kitschy theme of the hotel is fun and one they're really committed to -- I felt like we were in the next to-be-discovered hot spot in LA.

One fascinating quirk of the hotel is Ted, front desk clerk and in-house "The Price is Right!" specialist. If you're around some night at 10:25 p.m., DO NOT MISS his treatise on how to get on TPIR as a contestant. It is a hoot. And it works! The show films at the CBS studios right across the street, so it's a convenient tourist activity for folks at the FD. I suspect they will soon have pilgrimages of people desperate to be contestants who will stay here... There are dozens of pictures in this lobby shrine of all the contestants who have won stuff on it, with his tutelage of course. I might have not believed it, except when we were checking in, a girl was on the phone in the open air lobby (very cool!) telling her mom that she'd just won $7000! Funny, and sweet.

The open air lobby was really cool and aesthetically appealing & the pool looked clean and inviting, but it was cool during our visit and not really swimming or hanging outside kind of weather. The only drawbacks to our visit -- and these were minor inconveniences -- were that the free Wifi signal was very weak and spotty in the room, we had better luck in the outdoor seating areas (but as I mentioned, it was kind of chilly). They had a total shut down one day, so perhaps they were working on the system. Also, there was construction happening for a (needed) bar/restaurant on the premises. The banging was kind of a drag, but never before 9 a.m. and we weren't in the room much anyway. Having a restaurant right there would be a perfect addition to this funky cool spot.

And the Farmer's Market across the street (and The Grove shopping complex) was just fantastic. We walked over for a number of meals and had great inexpensive food every time. (Oh -- except one morning we went to Cantor's, a 24 hour legendary deli a few blocks north -- an experience, to be sure, but not one I'd ever repeat. Try the Kokomo? Cafe on the South end of the Farmer's Market. KILLER Pancakes and great southern inspired dishes.) Another terrific place is the "Authentic Cafe" on Curson & Fairfax, 1/2 block north and a few blocks west of the hotel...this was a FANTASTIC dinner of south american cuisine -- herbed chicken with rice & beans and plantains, etc -- gorgeous food for a good price, about $60 with wine and tip.

We plan on making the FD the place we stay when in LA, which is quite often. It's just great: mellow, quirky, comfy, and in the best location we could imagine.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2005

I stayed here for 6 nights and
found the room to be very comfortable and clean. The shower was excellent. The best thing about the Farmer's Daughter is the location; right across the street from the Farmer's Market and Grove.
We did not have a car, so after taking tours during the day, we could just walk across the street for the evenings.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2005

Because a friend was booked at the Farmers Daughter we decided to stay there and liked the idea of the No Tell Suite. We talked to the front desk and got a rate of $165/night for the 3 night.

A day or so later we confirmed that the trip was on, checked online for pricing, got the same price and decided to book the room that way instead of dealing with the clueless front desk staff.

When we arrived, we went to our room and realized it was not the No Tell Suite, but the Farmers Suite. When we called the front desk they said that we booked our reservation it was through an online service and that the room was not guaranteed by booking that way. There was no mention of it anywhere online or in the confirmation info. They never mentioned it before or at check-in.

They were not appologetic and acted like we should have known and it was our fault for booking online. That's a lame business practice because we are regulary in LA and will NEVER stay there again and will NOT recommend the hotel.

If you're trying to save a few bucks and want a clean, new place it's not a bad choice, but there are MUCH better places to stay in LA.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 415Traveler415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2005

What a great hotel, stayed there for 3 nights nice rooms but was also woken up by phone calls in the middle of the night, from weird people stayig there!!

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2005

We searched and searched among the cheaper places to stay in the LA / Santa Monica area and finally chose the Farmers Daughter - we were SO pleased when we got there.
The staff were really friendly, the hotel looked like something straight out of a design magazine and our room was spacious, well equipped and very clean.
Within walking distance are many shops, the Grove outdoor mall (which includes a nice cinema) and the Farmers Market, where you can get the best fresh food around. Within 10 minutes in the car, you can easily be in Beverly Hills / Hollywood tourist areas. Universal Studios are about 20 minutes away by car.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muk_muk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2005

My Wife and I spent 3 nights in magnificent LA in late May this year.
The Farmers Daughter is absolutely perfect for any stay in LA. For a small fee, we were able to park and retreive our car at anytime, the blokes running the Valet were always friendly.
The room is a classic in its styling, and very comfortable.
The front desk staff were always really friendly. Jonah was a real help with our luggage, storing it for us on our last day, as we had a late night flight home to Sydney.
He also dug my new Fender Tele Deluxe that I'd just bought up on Sunset so, good onya Jonah.

Its in a great spot, the Daughter, close to Hollywood, Sunset, Melrose and the Farmers Market has heaps of shops.
And we also discovered the legendary Canters Deli up the street. We loved it there for breakfast each morning.
All I can say is - DO IT AT THE DAUGHTER!!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steagnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#31 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#100 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#28 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#21 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmer's Daughter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmer's Daughter Hotel

Property: Farmer's Daughter Hotel
Address: 115 S. Fairfax Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90036
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#44 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farmer's Daughter Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmer's Daughter Hotel is a unique West Hollywood hotel offering country styled hotel rooms and down-home hospitality right in the heart of Los Angeles. Our location can't be beaten: Farmer's Daughter Hotel borders Hollywood/West Hollywood & Beverly Hills. We're across from the Grove, walking distance to Museum Row and the pedestrian-friendly parts of 3rd Street and Melrose, and, of course, CBS Studio where "The Price is Right" is filmed. When you book your reservation at our Los Angeles boutique hotel, get ready for a unique experience. Our Los Angeles boutique hotel rooms are truly inviting, with rocking chairs, hardwood floors, rain showers and plush bedding. Plus, as a pampered guest at our West Hollywood hotel, you'll be invited to join us for our Whisky Hour, dine at TART Restaurant, chill at the pool, relax in the courtyard, plan your Hollywood adventure, or just enjoy our fantastic down-home hospitality. At the Farmer's Daughter boutique hotel in Los Angeles, you are surrounded by many of the best places to visit, dine and play in Los Angeles, Hollywood and West Hollywood. No matter what your flavor of fun you're looking for, whether you're here for business or vacation (or a little of both), you will find it all at the Farmer's Daughter Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Farmer's Daughter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers Daughter Motel
Farmers Daughter Los Angeles
Farmers Daughter Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing