We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As a Hotel General Manager in Montana, this place is a 5 star!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farmer's Daughter Hotel
Ranked #26 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“As a Hotel General Manager in Montana, this place is a 5 star!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Clean clean clean!!!! What a great staff, this would be a dream place to Manager with awesome staff & feel. Cannot say emough, i ran my hand across window sills, checked under beds, looked at walls & the bed is very comfortable!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picataggio, Owner at Farmer's Daughter Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
thank you!!! Your super kind review will be shared with all. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    387
    94
    53
    38
See reviews for
240
286
72
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in April2007, and liked it so much we came back with my sister in law last week. It was wonderful to see that nothing had changed. They still had the wonderful staff at the front desk (Suzanne), the great waiters at Tart (Michael), and the perks that most people don't even think about., They have bikes that are complimentary for guest use, a "library" out front, complimentary food items ranging from potato chips one time to the legendary chocolate chip cookies. We loved the outdoor seating at the attached restaurant (Tart), and saw the pool with the giant rubber duckies. The only thing I didn't like was the view from our room. We had a view of the auto mechanic next door, but as another reviewer stated, we just kept the curtains closed. In 2007, we stepped outside of our room to a wonderful view of the Hollywood sign.

This hotel is really in the heart of LA, but when you are there, you never feel like you are in the middle of a bustling city. You feel like you are at home!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picataggio, Owner at Farmer's Daughter Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
First and most importantly thank you for staying with us again...
Thank you for the super kind review, I will share this with the staff right away.
Th wife and I are constantly looking to make little tweaks that add to the brand, you mentioned the Library, that just went in.
We believe very strongly that in this day and age of electronics that sitting with a real book and letting your mind create the visual of the words on the page is more important than ever..

Again thank you for choosing us as your place to stay while in town. Next time you are in please be sure to stop in and say hello...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed for four nights in January at the Farmer's Daughter. I came to LA to find an apartment, i was in the process of moving and it was my first time in LA. I couldn't have picked a better hotel with a better location. The Grove and the Farmers market are across the street, Park La brea is a few blocks away. When I needed some guidance on where to look for apartments Manu the AMAZING front desk employee gave me a list of places to check out and even gave me her number if I needed any guidance. I am a super clean freak and this hotel is EXTREMELY clean. Like Four Seasons clean. I got it late and they gave me a water bottle. They always have free refreshments in the front desk. The hop on hop off bus stops in front of the hotel at the Grove. I cant recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picataggio, Owner at Farmer's Daughter Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hi, and thank you for the words. Manu is an amazing asset and we are lucky to have her.

Clean oh yes, we go all out for the super clean. We set the bar super high and thank you for pointing that out. I will share this with our Housekeepers right away and thank them for creating such a great experience for you..

Safe travels and next time you around please stop in and say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I loved this hotel. It is motel style but with a five star cheeky and cool design upgrade. The rooms are fantastic - really large and well equipped. Comfy superking bed etc. The lounge and bar areas are semi-outdoors. The staff are friendly and helpful including the valet parking. The breakfast was huge and really good. It is just across the road from the farmer's market, a great mall and cinema. Very central location for Hollywood etc. I got a good deal for three nights. The pool is small and doesn't get much sun but if you want to sunbathe stay on the coast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanSnipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picataggio, Owner at Farmer's Daughter Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
ian, your review put a smile on my face for sure. I have printed it out and it will be posted to be shared with the whole staff.
It is really about the bed isn't it, at the end of a long day or evening one wants to come back to the room and not worry about being in back pain in the morning...

Safe travels... As always we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My sister and I spent two nights here and really enjoyed it. It was so adorable. The beds were comfortable, the food was great, staff was pretty good. Clean, and had everything we needed.
There were only two negatives:
1. When I signed up for this online they offered a breakfast at $15.00pp. I purchased two assuming that it was a deal. It was a ripoff because their most expensive dish with coffee doesn't even equal that amount. That was annoying and deceiving. I still don't see the point.
2. The bath was stopped up. Not a big deal but taking a shower was tricky near the end.
The valet parking was good and we really enjoyed the complimentary sweet potato smoothies we received at checkin. Yum.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picataggio, Owner at Farmer's Daughter Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hi Rebecca...

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is very appreciated. We share with the staff and it gives us a chance to improve on items that got over looked or changed.

On my list of things to look into today is the breakfast item issue you pointed out.

I do trust that your bath issue was taken care of write away, if not please do not hesitate to call the hotel and ask for me directly.

Safe travel as always...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2012. We picked it because of the location and because we bought a voucher on Plum District. I honestly would not have noticed it without the voucher even though I have been to the Farmers Marker and the Grove while in LA in the past.

First the location is AMAZING. You can walk 1/2 block (about 300-400 feet) to the most amazing outdoor food bazaar in LA and the fanciest shopping center (The Grove). Amazing! Also within 1/2 block is a Traders Joe's market where you can get food. A Whole Foods market and CVS is about a block away. So there is a ton to walk to! Also closeby is museum row and Griffith Park.

As for the hotel, its hip, small and modern. We loved the small pool with the jumbo rubber duckies and the ping pong table. The room was small- bathroom very tiny! But we weren't there to hang out in our hotel so that was fine. The best thing about the room was the hardwood (fake) floor- no worries about gross carpet!

I took one star off for the noise from the restaurant patrons late at night. Our first night there there was an extremely loud party drinking well past 10pm. Because the outdoor restaurant patio is visible from the surrounding hotel rooms, the noise also travels. This group was super loud- playing some sort of drinking game I suppose.

My other complaint is the excessive display of sexually charged mottos such as "do it at the daughter" and "she's not the same girl you used to know..." I don't think most people were there on their honeymoons or romatic getaways (we weren't) and I just think this is a bit much and not needed since the overall hip farming theme is so well executed.

The best recommendation for a hotel is to say I can't wait to go back! And I can for this place! Hope to get back in a few months.

Room Tip: request one as far out of the path of noise travel of the outdoor restaurant patio as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExcellentCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picataggio, Owner at Farmer's Daughter Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
thank you for staying with us and thank you for the review.

Carpet is gross, you just never really know at the end of the day. When we put this in 10 years ago everyone in the hotel business and design business was voicing an opion that this would not go over well. They said CARPET is the standard and what people expect. Well we are not ones to always go down that normal path and for the reasons you pointed out we made the choice to go with planks..

That group was from CBS Television City ( across the street from us ), they come over once a week. Yes we that night I do recall us having to ask them a couple of times to tone it down a bit.

Yup, no doubt about it. We have many double meaning - figure it out for yourself expression. It is purposeful. You see when we first purchased the property back in 1997 is was a DUMP and catered to creatures of the night.
When were designing the new look, theme, business plan and where to take her we did not want to forget where she was. So we put little sayings like that around that are both funny and can mean anything you want them too.
There is also a bit of truth in " She is not the same girl you use to know" :)

Safe travels and thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a funky little motel style hotel in Los Angeles. We were offered cookies upon arrival by the very friendly desk staff. Made us feel relaxed at once.

Downside was the staff member was not very helpful in assisting us with some ways of getting to the theme parks by shuttle buses however they always endeavoured to do their best for us.

The pool is small and nothing to rave about but the decor is funky and they sell merchandise for the hotel. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Really comfy beds and a good nights rest can be had here.

There is a restaurant/cafe attached to the hotel called 'Tart' - great food and fantastic value for money. They will even deliver to your room if you need. It seems to be a hot spot for the rich and famous as the night we arrived they were shooting scenes for a movie in the cafe area, another day we had lunch next to cee lo green and another day they filmed for a reality show in Tart again. So much action going on!

Location is great, right across the road from the Farmers Markets (a MUST for great food and shopping). 10 Minute drive to Hollywood walk of fame and Beverly Hills - however this is good as LA is very big and everything is spread out. The hotel also offers free bike rental for its guests and the bikes seem to be in great quality.

The price was extremely reasonable and great value for money. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gen_TravelJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#31 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#100 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#28 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#21 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmer's Daughter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmer's Daughter Hotel

Property: Farmer's Daughter Hotel
Address: 115 S. Fairfax Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90036
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#44 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farmer's Daughter Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmer's Daughter Hotel is a unique West Hollywood hotel offering country styled hotel rooms and down-home hospitality right in the heart of Los Angeles. Our location can't be beaten: Farmer's Daughter Hotel borders Hollywood/West Hollywood & Beverly Hills. We're across from the Grove, walking distance to Museum Row and the pedestrian-friendly parts of 3rd Street and Melrose, and, of course, CBS Studio where "The Price is Right" is filmed. When you book your reservation at our Los Angeles boutique hotel, get ready for a unique experience. Our Los Angeles boutique hotel rooms are truly inviting, with rocking chairs, hardwood floors, rain showers and plush bedding. Plus, as a pampered guest at our West Hollywood hotel, you'll be invited to join us for our Whisky Hour, dine at TART Restaurant, chill at the pool, relax in the courtyard, plan your Hollywood adventure, or just enjoy our fantastic down-home hospitality. At the Farmer's Daughter boutique hotel in Los Angeles, you are surrounded by many of the best places to visit, dine and play in Los Angeles, Hollywood and West Hollywood. No matter what your flavor of fun you're looking for, whether you're here for business or vacation (or a little of both), you will find it all at the Farmer's Daughter Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Farmer's Daughter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers Daughter Motel
Farmers Daughter Los Angeles
Farmers Daughter Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing