We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Did not feel welcome” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Mirage Inn

La Mirage Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Mirage Inn
Save
You added La Mirage Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #165 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Fransisco
1 review
“Did not feel welcome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

The place is fine. Rooms are clean and basic. Location is fine, Next to the 101 fwy and located at the base of the Hollywood Hills. The problem is the managers are not very welcoming. We went there because of the location and got treated like we were intuders. When we came back late one night, the owner (or manager) had to be woken up and came out sleepy eyed to buzz us in. We didn't want to leave again, even though we were going to a party, which is the main reason for the trip. When we came back later, he could not have been more annoyed with us. Between the inch thick bullet-proof glass and feeling like prisoners, I think we'll stay somewhere else next time.

Jessica

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — front desk
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jessiesweigart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
10
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Page, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

I came from Arizona for two days for a meeting in Hollywood. My girlfriend who lives in Orange County, stayed with me at the motel. We checked in and said we might stay another night, and we would let them know in the morning. The next morning, my girlfriend went to work. I had put my wallet in her purse the night before. I went down to the office to let them know we would be staying another night. The woman said she needed to see my credit card again. I told her it was in my girlfriend's purse, but she could just run the number again. She very rudely in her thick accent told me she needed to see the card again or I had to leave, even though she had the number from the night before. I told her I didn't have a car and had nowhere to put my things. She wagged her finger at me and told me to pay or get out. I offered to leave her my $2000 lap top for collateral. She said no! She said I could wait for David, her husband and talk to him. I did, and was late for my meeting. When David showed up, he finally said I could leave my things in the room, but surrender my key and not go into the room until I showed him my credit card again, even though it was the same card as the night before!
I had stayed there years before and told him that. He couldn't have cared less. Amazing that you pay $114 + tax for a standard motel room and get treated like that. Stay away unless you want to be treated like a piece of trash!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Very Rude!!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikey_T_2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

The room was very clean and had a nice bed, clean bathroom, close the 101 fwy, which was fine, not too noisy and located in a nice neighborhood in Hollywood, close to "Hollywood", but in a more suburban neighborhood. The problem was: I paid $114.00 per night because the only remaining room had a kitchen. The "kitchen" was a mini fridge and a microwave. The manager or owner, David was nice enough, but I felt like a criminal staying there. I had to pay a $20 deposit for the tv remote, like I would steal a $5 remote, so I have to put $20 down to ensure that won't happen. Also, I was staying by myself, but had a friend in town, and when I tried to bring her to the room just to grab some stuff, so we could go out for the night, he actually tried to charge me $5 for her to come into the room!!! Why not $20? After all, she might steal the remote. I was so offended I told him I would not pay the $5 (out of principle) and he told me I had to pay it or I could not stay there. I paid the $5, which I wish I hadn't, and just gone somewhere else, but I didn't.

I understand you're in Hollywood, where there are some criminals, but I can find a place in the same neighborhood that doesn't think I'm one. You have to have better judgment than that.

That whole experience ruined it for me. Next time I'm in town for business, I'll go to the Best Western, two blocks away.

Mike Moore

  • Liked — clean room
  • Disliked — being treated like a criminal.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank starbucks25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

We stayed the La Mirage this past weekend and had a very good experience. It is an excellent value. Our first choice was the Best Western down the street, but it was booked (and $70 more per night).
La Mirage is a bare bones hotel, but very clean. Bring your own shampoo - they don't provide it. They didn't have a crib for our baby so we had to bring one which was no big deal. I was a little worried about staying there but on the strength of the few reviews I read here, I decided it was worth trying. We would stay there again.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank LittleGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2006

Nestled in the Beachwood section of Hollywood the Mirage Inn is an excellent place to stay while in the area. A family owned operation where each guest is treated like a member of the family. Rooms are large, clean and neat. The Beachwood area has everything you need and is a short walk from downtown Hollywood. I highly recommend the Mirage Inn to anyone staying in the the Los Angeles area.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2005

Stayed there during the week of July 4th. For the price, I think it was a very good place to stay. Not having seen many reviews on the net, we went there with trepidation. We found the place to be clean, safe, they locked the doors during the evening and night and would ring you in, and the management was responsive. One night a guest made a distrbance at 4 am and he would not calm down. The following day he was evicted. The room did have airconditioning and because the room faced Franklin Ave we did use it at night. It was very convenient, we walked to downtown Hollywood (it was a good hike) and also took the dash. It was close to cafe 101 to get coffee, but I do wish they had coffee in the room. I would stay there again in a heart beat. I have read about other Høllywood hotels that were dirty, buggy, and had questionable people around them, and I did not find that at all with this hotel. Ask for the weekly rate if you are staying there for a week or more. It is a bargain. It is not a fancy place, but it is clean and safe.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2002

I love Mirage Inn and the Indian family that takes care of the small hotel.There are roses and blue flowers around and in front there is a school. in the winter, you can hear the sound of the lesson, each hour. I travel all around the world, sometimes in the most beautiful hotel, but Mirage Inn is special, islike an adventure, is like to read a book of Nathanael West, <The day of the Locust>, or a book about the old Hollywood. The Hotel is small, but clean and the Indian family takes care of everything and you can use your computer with easy acces to Internet. It is very quiet, near the freeway, near Sunset and Hollywood Boulevard and you can go in five minutes all over, in the Valley, to Griffith Park, to the hills. It is not depressing as someother wrote: you need fantasy to stay there and every day to leave for different places and, in the evening, to came back in the clean room, with your dreams.
Globe trotter Giovanna

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Villa Delle Stelle
Villa Delle Stelle
#129 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#175 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
#6 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#23 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Hollywood
Le Bon Hotel
Le Bon Hotel
#247 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mirage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mirage Inn

Property: La Mirage Inn
Address: 6020 Franklin Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5530
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
La Mirage Hotel Los Angeles
La Mirage Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing