We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FRONT DESK VERY RUDE!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saharan Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saharan Motor Hotel
Ranked #198 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Calexico, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“FRONT DESK VERY RUDE!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

The front desk man (I am not sure if he was in charge but he sure acted like it) , was very rude and not helpful at all. A taxi cab was blocking our only entrance as we arrived, I called the front desk to notify him and he RUDELY answered that it was "not his problem". Then we had no remote in our bedroom, he wasn't helpful of that either. There was a cracking sound in the room that woke me up very early and kept me awake. If your near the stairs.. prepare for footsteps right next to your wall aaalll day and night. It was decent clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    191
    183
    56
    73
See reviews for
109
211
46
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We chose to stay at the Saharan because of its central location on Sunset Boulevarde. We hoped that this location would mean proximity to great eating places but we ended up with a fast food meal as there seemed little else within even a long walk.

The staff were indifferent to the point of hostility, we arrived in the early evening, there was no one else for the manager to have to help but he treated us as an unwelcome interruption.

We asked him for some suggestions for a restaurant, he ignored us at first, on repeating the question he just said "take a right-heaps of places.."

I should have done some homework of course but I did kind of expect that this sort of local information would be forthcoming from the staff.

The room was okay, fridge was very noisy, there was a great deal of noise from the road and also from guests at the motel, loud voices and footsteps, also very loud cars coming and going through the night which did not make for a restful end to a long day.

The bed was a standard double, quite old but clean enough.

The Motel itself seems kind of run down and faded, something that may have related to the winter season as well as the lack of welcome from the staff.
The breakfast was dull as well with just waffles and bread products, no cereals and low quality coffee.

The good thing about the location was that it provides a good exit from LA heading north, that would be the only reason for me to stay there again.

Some sound proofing and some welcoming staff would be needed to get the place back to some of its former glory.

It was not expensive though, so on that score I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for one at the back.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-RPHotelOwner, Owner at Saharan Motor Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are making improvements to our exterior with painting and landscaping. We have waffles and muffins for breakfast, our coffee is from Royal Cup, a major coffee vendor for hotels. We need to offer limited breakfast because we pass that saving on to our guests. Our hotel does not even charge for parking, but the other hotels in the area do. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We allowed a maid into our room to clean our room for the first and LAST time due to upon returning to the room an iPhone was missing and a half a bottle of highly sedating personal prescription medication. Upon informing reception they said they would follow it up in which they never did. Reception was generally rude and unhelpful. They couldnt even inform of us of where certain streets or places were when they could have easily looked up it on their computer. "Breakfast" was a joke. Cold. Only positive thing I can say is that the room and bathroom were clean and tidy and it is in good location for Hollywood Blvd. Would still avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BennyD92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-RPHotelOwner, Owner at Saharan Motor Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest, we will work on our guest service, especially knowing locations of restaurants and streets. Our housekeeping staff does deny taking iphone or prescription medications. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The location of this hotel is one of the best in the city. If you are looking for location, clean place to sleep, easy access to the main atractions of Los Angeles in a good budget this is the place. It is not luxury, but accommodate very well and walk distance to the walk of fame, Dolby theater, Chinese theater, on the way to Universal Studios, good stores and restaurants around it and parking. What else do you need? Very quite and breakfast is included. I will return and recomend it.
Do : try to request a room on the second floor. They are more quite.
Check the cleaness of the room when you get there. Ours was ok, but a friend of us didn't like and they changed it imideatly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here for a night after landing at LAX. Good parking but can imagine it being a little tight to manoeuvre if the lot was full. Our room was decent but had an extremely strong chemical smell.. We left the window open whilst we went out to try and get rid of it.

Saharan is a short walk from the Walk of Fame etc. which is a plus point. Breakfast was just ok, with bagels, waffles, and coffee, however is situated in the main reception area. Whist eating we heard two other guests complaining- one about a rude member of staff the night before (I think I heard the police got involved) and another lady and her partner complaining of being absolutely covered in bed bugs.

Would stay here again, but for no longer than 2 nights, and simply for the value and location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llm15_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, California, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

we recently stayed at this hotel, and it was great. I had previously reviewed other hotels as we where going to the house of blues for an event, and either they where too pricey or very far from the venue. We did not make any reservations just because we where not sure of which hotel to stay, as we were driving by sunset blvd we found this hotel and it seemed decent, we asked the price for stay and it was $90 which for me it was decently priced, the room were not excellent but i would say great flat screen tv, clean coffee maker, a mini refrigerator a/c, hairdryer and although the bathroom had a little problem like sink clogged it didn't matter to us much as we only stayed for one night.. they also offer continental breakfast which included oj,coffee,bagels toast and waffles in which you made them yourself(nice). staff is very nice they greeted us all the time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gurrumina2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Saharan Motor Hotel is a nice place to live on a budget tour. Good location, free parking and wifi and fine and clean rooms. The personal is nice and the breakfast is okay enough.
From here you can walk ten minutes to Walk of Fame and you can reach every part of LA easy by car.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludvig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#69 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Liberty Hotel
Hollywood Liberty Hotel
#189 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Hollywood
Rodeway Inn Hollywood
Rodeway Inn Hollywood
#199 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Comfort Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Hollywood La Brea Motel
Hollywood La Brea Motel
#184 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saharan Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saharan Motor Hotel

Property: Saharan Motor Hotel
Address: 7212 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90046-3406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Saharan Motor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hollywood, California, the newly remodeled Saharan Hotel is an oasis of hospitality on world-famous Sunset Boulevard. Our friendly, boutique-style hotel delivers a special blend of contemporary flare with vintage Hollywood service. Whether sightseeing or working, the Saharan is an intimate, comfortable lodging that will make you feel like a Hollywood star! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saharan Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saharan Motor Los Angeles
Hotel Saharan Motor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing