We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible staff, terrible room”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Tokyo Princess Inn

Tokyo Princess Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tokyo Princess Inn
Ranked #57 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
132 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Terrible staff, terrible room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Had to stay this morning at this hotel, as I work night shift and my house is under construction.
Walked in at 7-30 am. The dude behind the counter quotes me $75 per room.
- But your website states it's $70.
- Oh, ok. You want 70 - fine.
Then he looks at me (I still had the uniform and the badge) and states:
- You are RN (nurse), right? You are making good money, what do you care if it's 70 or 75 dollars? Don't be cheap!
- Excuse me?! Are you counting the money in my pocket? It's a matter of principle!
Then I am asking for the quiet room, far from the road, in the courtyard, so that I could sleep. And the guy immediately quotes me $80 dollars. What a scumbag!
Anyway, I took the room, as I was so tired after had been working for 24 hours.
The room is a complete dump (room #117). One king size bed. The sheets were very clean, as well as towels (the only good thing about this room). The curtains were torn and dirty. Walls were dirty and the paint was chipping. The facet leaked and the counter got filled with water. Bathtub dirty. Shower facet is broket, but at least it worked. No remote from the TV.
2 dirty night stand lamps that were unplugged, since there was no plug anythere in the vicinity. But there was a mini fridge.
I mean, everything was shabby, falling apart and DIRTY.
And the front counter guy was just rude.
Will never stay there again. i don't recommend this hotel. AT ALL.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank krolikv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    0
    4
    8
See reviews for
2
2
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed at this small, heavily asian-themed motel for a few nights.  The prices were reasonable for the area and the furniture seemed to be fairly new.  Overall, it was good experience and I'd go there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepperoni71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

We have just returned from a weekend trip at the Tokyo Inn. The hotel is outdated, dirty and it did not feel safe at all.
If you can avoid it, please do so.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank patryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2008

From the outside it looks like a standard, run of the mill motel, but you are in for a treat. The reception area has some wonderful oriental furniture, and an incredible picture on the wall On entering any of the the rooms, you see a trip to the orient, with all the wonderful oriental furnishings.When I was there, the spa was not yet done, so I am anxious to see and use it on my next trip. The morning continental breakfast is the best I've seen in all my travels for the last 20 years.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank lindaleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2007

I was here a year ago, and it does seem to be going downhill. As a previous reviewer wrote, there is not a lot of choice if you need to be in this area. There's a Marriot Courtyard down Ventura in Sherman Oaks and a place called "Best West Inn" also in Sherman Oaks, both about 5 minutes away. Otherwise, this is pretty much it. It's not that terrible. It has evidently been sold and they have not been maintaining it well. An old place needs constant upkeep and the new owner does not seem up to the job. It's a little shabby and things work pretty well, but don't expect more than that. There's a 24 hour desk clerk and they do try to be helpful. You don't have much choice and the prices are low end for the area. You get a continental breakfast if you're up before 9 AM, but you have to be nippy to get a banana, but there were always bagels, apples, and waffles (jam only - if you want syrup bring your own). If you are more demanding, go to the Marriot and pay more, it's only 5 minutes away. Otherwise, loosen up and enjoy the decor.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank Ketzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2007

Don't go; room was in terrible shape; light had to be plugged in to be on; other lamp didn't work; horrible TV; bathroom? ick..broken furniture; peeling veneer; looked like a flophouse..needless to say we didn't stay; got our 90 bucks back and fled...

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
3 Thank pntpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2006

I've stayed here twice. It's really the only game in town for that part of the San Fernando Valley. I paid about $80 (including tax) per night each time.

The first room was huge with two queen beds (it was a last minute booking and I lucked out) and the second time it was a standard small-ish room with one queen.

Both rooms, both times were impressively clean. Much more so than the name-brand hotel a couple miles aways and costing twice as much. While this place definitely needs a paint job on the outside (and better TVs inside) it sure is tidy. And yes, the decor is...um...let's see..."gawdy asian."

Another plus is that they have a servicable continental breakfast in the AM with coffee that was absolutely drinkable. There's also a very upscale Ralph's supermarket down the street with full service everything. This is handy because all the motel's rooms have refrigerators and there is a microwave in the check-in area accessible 24 hours a day.

Across the street their is a fabulous cafe with great coffee, good prices and a wide selection of bakery items, sandwiches and burgers. So you can really camp out here and save your money for better stuff.

BOTTOM LINE: It's a traditional, clean, no-surprises place to stay that is in one of the safest parts of the San Fernando Valley and for that reason an excellent value compared to the National Chains nearby.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HouseMDquotes-Com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Near Warner Center
#185 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#114 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
BEST WESTERN Woodland Hills Inn
#89 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Princess Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Princess Inn

Property: Tokyo Princess Inn
Address: 17448 Ventura Blvd, Encino, Los Angeles, CA 91316-3827
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Tokyo Princess Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing