We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Let-Down for Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
Ranked #56 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Let-Down for Westin”
Reviewed June 1, 2005

Compared to other Westins, this one is lacking. The room was just okay, nothing to write home about. The Heavenly bed was not bad for a hotel bed, but don't count on it to give you a good nights sleep if your room is facing the airport runway. This is the only time I would ever request a room facing the main thoroughfare. We are pretty heavy sleepers, so it wasn't too much of an issue, but I can see how others may be irate. The maid hadn't serviced our room on the first day by 5PM, so we just told her not to do it because we wanted access to the room at that time. There is Wi Fi access in the hotel lobby, which is nice. The pool is just okay...I wouldn't spend too much time there because the crowd looked pretty scary. Room service was quick but mediocre and expensive. The hotel restaurant isn't the greatest either...plan on eating out of the hotel if possible. The free airport shuttle is a nice touch, though. For a one or two night stay, it'll do, but for anything longer, try something better than the Westin LAX.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunkie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,145
    1,090
    657
    303
    192
See reviews for
575
832
399
1,195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 31, 2005

For the fourth time staying in this hotel, rooms were stuffy, staff is not present at the front desk at check in, unacceptable for a Westin. I won't go back. The first room I checked into (after waiting 45 mins trying to check in) had a broken air conditioner, it was almost 90 outside and just as hot inside. Stains present on furniture in "recently remodeled" rooms and smells of stale cigarettes. I can't compare any other Westin hotel to this one.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 14, 2005

I stayed at the Westin LAX after a flight from NZ. I had to catch a morning flight to NYC the next day so it seemed a good option because of the price and free shuttle.

As I exited the airport the shuttle happened to be waiting so I got lucky and was able to head directly to the hotel. Very clean and airy lobby. I was checked in quickly and efficently.

The room was clean and had a view of the airport runways. Heavenly bed was great. Lots of amennities, towels, etc.

Only two drawbacks were early morning flights that were departing directly over the hotel. Woke me up a few times, but I was the one that requested the room on the airport side because I love planes. Not the fault of the hotel. The second problem was when I discovered I left my toothbrush in NZ. Took a few calls before brush and paste were brought to my room. Staff apologized so no worries.

Overall, a great hotel to stay at if catching a flight at LAX. A bit far from attractions so I wouldn't recommend it if staying in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2005

This is a nice, modern hotel with very friendly staff members. We booked our room on Hotwire, and when asked at the front desk, were able to get a nonsmoking room, on the third floor.

Here are the pros:
The bed was extremely comfortable, with lovely sheets! Quite to our surprise, the food, ordered through room service, was good, and served on fancy silver platters with glass goblets of iced water. I especially recommend their club sandwich and carrot cake; both were fresh, filling, good sized portions, and delicious... What a wonderful surprise! Although we were close to the airport, (as the name implies), there was little noise, and the hotel is close to everything. Our room was clean and neat, and offered internet service.

The cons:
There was only ONE bottle of shampoo (no conditioner, or lotion).
While the hotel offers shuttle service, parking was $15 per day.
Internet service outside the room was pay-per-minute.

The Upshot:
Good for one night, through priceline or hotwire, (as we did, and moved to a hotel with parking included, which is quite possible), and especially nice for business travelers.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Litgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2005

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April of 2005. Hotel was nice and clean...but nothing special. But I had no compaint since I only paid about $65.00 per night through hotwire. They do charge you $15.00 per day parking fee, if you have a car.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 18, 2005

this hotel for 90 us 4 people...is the best deal in town.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 2, 2005

When you call the Westin, they claim to be the best hotel at the airport. Well, that much is true. I have stayed at almost every Los Angeles Airport Hotel. The Westin does have them all beat with the Heavenly Bed. I got in really late from a flight and I didn't feel like driving. I stopped in and they had a new desk for their Gold and Platinum members. There was no line and they treated me like I was a celebrity. I even got an upgrade to a room with a great city view. I am not sure if I was really tired or if it really was just the best sleep of my life. I was out early in the morning, but before I left I received my favorite newspaper.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#82 of 351 in Los Angeles
4,609 reviews
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#71 of 351 in Los Angeles
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
#66 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,622 reviews
Westside
Renaissance Los Angeles Airport Hotel
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Los Angeles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Los Angeles Airport

Property: The Westin Los Angeles Airport
Address: 5400 W. Century Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045-5975
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#67 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Los Angeles Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Los Angeles Airport, just four blocks from Los Angeles International Airport, offers easy access to major corporations, marvelous shopping, sunny beaches and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Los Angeles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Los Angeles Airport Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin
Westin Lax
Westin Los Angeles Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing