We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
Ranked #57 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here in January 2013 and had no reason to choose any other LAX hotel.
Like previous visit we stayed for the first two nights of our holiday. The Free Shuttle bus only takes minutes to get to the hotel, but again like previous stay would have been helpful if there were bell staff available to take all our bags from the shuttle bus but there were none in sight.

Again like last time that aside we could not fault this hotel, the room was spacious, modern and clean. Breakfast at the hotel grill was very reasonably priced and had a very varied choice and the food was wonderful.

Some have commented on the noise from the airport, previously we had a room overlooking the front of the Hotel which was quiet. This time we had a room at the rear which did involve some noise from the runway, but what do you expect when you stay at an airport Hotel. We enjoyed the view of the planes taking off and landing.

Would use this hotel again if flying into LAX.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if you want a quiet stay or a room at the rear if you enjoy watching the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiddyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLAX, Guest Experience Coordinator at The Westin Los Angeles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hello KiddyBoy,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience staying at our Hotel. We are delighted to hear that we were able to provide you with a comfortable place to rest and renew when flying in and out of LAX. It is truly our pleasure to serve you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,

Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,878 - 1,884 of 3,553 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is just another 3 to 3.5 star property trying to pretend its a 4.0 due to brand name. This is the issue of reduced expectations of guests.

The bed was old and warped a bit which compressed my back causing pain. Again, most hotel beds in LAX are aged at this point so this does not make them any difference than a typical LAX hotel in this respect.

Understaffing at check-in can be frustrating and so can delays waiting to check-out due to same. Just as in other reviews - I offer the frustration with the blind transfer of calls to where you repeat yourself and the issue with unanswered phone calls.

At the end of the day - I had a room, bed, toilet, and air con and this is all one can expect in any class rating other than 5.0 these days in this particular area.

As with LAX hotels in general -- hallway noise - loud televisions at all odd hours of the night (people on difference time zones and thin walls) - kids in the hallways - bursts of check-ins and check-outs -- etc. are part of the normal curve. If you happen to not align with a big flight-- you might have instant check-in and 10 minutes later have a long wait -- it's difficult to predict.

Still as regards LAX properties - I find it consistent with others in similar rating classes - however it is my feeling that the service levels are lower across the board in recent years in this market.

If it comes up cheap only - I might repeat -- as of now - I cannot say which LAX property I would prefer as I have issues with most all of them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLAX, Guest Experience Coordinator at The Westin Los Angeles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Hello B P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are saddened to hear your stay was less than enjoyable, and was not a reflection of the service and standards Westin prides itself on. It is truly our desire to provide each of our guests with the thoughtful service and care they deserve.

We hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Be Well,

Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We came here to attend the inaugural edition of the Rock 'n' Roll Autograph Show benefiting St. Jude Children's Hospital. Stayed two nights and the Westin LAX did not disappoint!

Best tip I can give you: book this hotel through AAA if possible so you can get a rate that includes both parking and internet (otherwise those are $25-35/day and $12.95-15.95/day respectively!!). Most of the hotels in this immediate vicinity are what I'd consider pricey ($120/nt. and up) and most of them gouge you on the WiFi and parking, but with AAA, at least we were able to get those amenities included. Parking was very convenient, no trouble finding a space on the first or second floor (in and out privileges included in the rate, which is nice). Bell staff very efficient and courteous.

Second best tip I can give you: there is a Taco Bell right across the street and a Denny's about a block away. The food at the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Daily Grill, was really pretty decent but totally overpriced and not too many options for vegetarians/vegans. That being said, the restaurant staff were quite flexible with the menu and allowed us to order some of the happy hour entrees late at night.

Third best tip: ask for a refrigerator when you book the room. It's free upon request but subject to availability. The housekeeping staff had our fridge delivered to us within ten to fifteen minutes of checking in once I called to follow up about it.

The best part about our stay at Westin LAX was that they allowed us a late checkout, and when I say "late," they initially extended it from noon until 1pm, but when I went downstairs to ask in person, they gave us an unheard of extension until 3pm at no charge! This allowed us to spend one more hour enjoying the pool and Jacuzzi, which really enhanced our staycation and we truly felt like we were able to actually RELAX.

Service at this hotel was quite good. Everybody with whom we dealt was pleasant and helpful.

Rooms were nice enough. LOVED the "Heavenly" beds, with pillowtop mattresses and tons of pillows. Just SO comfortable and I slept like a baby. The "Heavenly" bath was not all that impressive; most of the major hotel chains caught up there long ago in terms of the quality with the curved shower curtain rod and rainfall shower heads.

The hotel is 100% non-smoking, but it seemed like our room had the kind of dust on the work desk that indicates to me that people were smoking in the room and it hadn't been cleaned up properly afterwards. Not that I am complaining because I'm not the kind of thin-skinned whiner you see so often on TripAdvisor about that, just making an observation.

Not having a free breakfast was kind of a bummer, but, as mentioned, there's a Denny's just kitty-corner across the street.

Airport noise wasn't a problem other than when you were at the pool area, where it was pretty obvious (but still not so bad as to disrupt your poolside enjoyment). Pool is not heated, and the Jacuzzi was a little cooler than I would've liked and the jets not as powerful as perhaps they could be, but there were TONS of chaise lounges and sun umbrellas available and towels by the pool were restocked often enough that they didn't run out.

All in all, the rate was a little more than I typically spend on a hotel and the property itself was what I'd call pretty average in quality for any name-brand chain. I felt that the service was where this hotel really shined and, again, I was just so appreciative of their allowing us such a late check out!

Well done, Westin LAX! Thanks for a wonderful time. :)

Room Tip: Pool and gym are on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuterpeThelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLAX, Guest Experience Coordinator at The Westin Los Angeles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Hello EuterpeThelo,

We thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. Other travelers are sure to find your comments and information extremely helpful! We are also thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is truly our pleasure to provide you with the heavenly experience you deserve.

We hope you have the chance to return to Los Angeles and stay with us again.

Best,

Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Pros: The service at the front desk was great. Our room on the 3rd floor was very quiet. Gym and pool were down the hall.

But this place can't be rated at 4 stars. 3 Stars at best. At every turn, deferred maintenance is apparent. The owners are obviously in 'super saver' mode.

- Elevator floor button panel dangling
- Multiple lights out in lobby
- Room AC smells of pure mold
- Bed sheets too short
- Bathroom door looks like it was rat chewed
- TV remote didn't work

Tack on the $25 per day to park and the deal gets worse. There are just too many negatives to name.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aridon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLAX, Guest Experience Coordinator at The Westin Los Angeles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Hello Aridon99,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are truly disappointed to learn your experience here was below your expectations. We do apologize for any inconvenience! Please know your comments have been shared with the applicable management for follow up and corrections.

It is truly our goal to provide you with a personal, instinctive and renewing experience. Please let us know if your travels take you back to Los Angeles.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Single nights stay, king bed reserved.

Location is close to LAX which is 1 reason why I picked it, Sheraton last 2 stays was a bit long in the tooth and in need of refreshing as well so I wanted to try this. It feels the same, dated and used. Lobby was huge and nice crown of folks hanging and socializing. Check in was fast and courteous, concierge for advice were both spot on.

Room was dirty, damp and in dire need of upkeep. Scuffs on walls and furniture, found remnants of trash not picked up like pins and paper, bathroom small and dated, molding needs to be refreshed, sheets on bed hard and I wouldn't put my behind on that sofa........gross!

Was out early so didn't use gym or anything else here but lounge. Nice staff and decent for small simple breakfast.

Stay again, nope.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2worldtravelersnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLAX, Guest Experience Coordinator at The Westin Los Angeles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Hello 2worldtravelersnj,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are extremely saddened to hear your experience here was not as expected. We hope you will give us another chance if you are ever in need of accommodations in Los Angeles. We would love the opportunity to provide you with the service and experience you deserve.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stopped here for just one night after a long flight and so we could make an early start the next day. Rooms are very clean and of a high standard. Reception at check in and check out was very professional and efficient. The hotel has a shuttle service to and from the airport-all terminals which is easy for door to door service and friendly drivers too.
Food was a bit on the expensive side, but that goes with the class of hotel and location. Although adjacent to the airport, there was no aircraft noise. Nice enclosed pool and spa pool, well maintained and clean.

Room Tip: The staff will try to get the best room for you on arrival and will try and accommodate requests whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudledoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLAX, Guest Experience Coordinator at The Westin Los Angeles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Hello Trudledoo,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a convenient and comfortable place to rest and renew.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,

Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Pros:
- Great location for staying near the airport
- Free shuttle to and from the airport
- Exclusive bus service to Manhattan beach and shops nearby
- Rooms are clean and good view of the airport with planes landing

Cons:
- We had two brand new padlocks in its new packaging missing after the daily housekeeping. We asked to talk to the manager of housekeeping, we were told they would call back but never happened. When we tried to talk to one of the maids, they pretended not to know anything. So please watch out!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kraz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLAX, Guest Experience Coordinator at The Westin Los Angeles Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Hello Kraz2013,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad to hear our location was convenient for you and your room was comfortable. That being said, it is extremely upsetting to hear that an item of yours went missing. We would like to learn more information regarding this situation, and ask that you please reach out to us through the email address WestinLAXgm@westin.com. Please be sure to paste your review in the email for our reference.

We look forward to hearing from you soon and apologize for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#63 of 355 in Los Angeles
691 reviews
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#95 of 355 in Los Angeles
5,033 reviews
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
#70 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,771 reviews
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Los Angeles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Los Angeles Airport

Address: 5400 W. Century Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045-5975
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#55 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#66 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $129 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Los Angeles Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Los Angeles Airport, just four blocks from Los Angeles International Airport, offers easy access to major corporations, marvelous shopping, sunny beaches and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Los Angeles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Los Angeles Airport Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin
Westin Lax
Westin Los Angeles Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing