We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good airplane watching” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Los Angeles Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
Ranked #60 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good airplane watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I should probably preface this by saying that I love airplanes and chose this because of its view of LAX. I've stayed here twice with my husband and would stay here again before a flight out of LAX.

That said, there are some great things about this hotel and some things that I don't love about it.

The good:
- Airplanes! If you like airplanes and don't mind a little noise, ask for a room on the south side.
- Our room was very clean and didn't look worn (like some of the reviews I've seen here--I'm thinking that we got lucky)
- There was a free continental breakfast for SPG members on the 12th floor. It wasn't fancy (scrambled eggs, pastries, coffee, tea), but it was a nice option.
- The place smells like the distinctive Westin White Tea/Aloe toiletries.
- The Heavenly Beds are very comfy.

The not-so-good:
- You'll get nickeled and dimed here. Beware: if you even lift any of the tempting items off of the in-room trays, you'll be charged for them. Ditto for the mini-bar. Seriously-they charge you $25 for use of the mini-fridge. I'm surprised that they don't charge for ice.
- If you're not a plane enthusiast, you might find the constant airplane noise aggravating. This comes with the territory to a degree (it's an airport hotel after all), but you might be awakened if you're a light sleeper.

This will do the job if you need a hotel near LAX, as it's comfortable and in a good spot, but just be prepared to pay for every little "extra" and bring some earplugs if you are sensitive to jet noise.

Room Tip: If you like plane watching, choose a higher-floor room on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alligeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    1,059
    643
    301
    186
See reviews for
545
808
389
1,151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Convenient transportation that runs every 20 minutes from the airport (does stop once). Check in was slow but friendly. Big lobby with nothing much there. Room was good size with king size bed. Bedding was good but a lot of little things did not work such as the telephone, a lamp, etc. The AC was weak and the shower head was very dated. Not everything was clean either.
The biggest complained was noise. At 0518 am I was awoken by the noise of airplanes taking off. When I complained, the supervisor indicated that "there are not enough quiet rooms in this hotel." The maintenance men started to work early in the morning in a room across from me (major renovation) and talked loudly and had the radio on loudly. When I mentioned this to the supervisor as well, she indicated that they are suppose to keep it quiet and would mention this to the maintenance supervisor. An hour later, the noise was still blaring away.
The bar was nice but found a fly in my drink (sounds like a joke I know). Bartender replaced drink for no charge.
The food at the daily grill was ok, but service was spotty.
Overall not a "westin" experience.

Room Tip: ask for at least floor 7 and up on the quiet side away from the runways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UALDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first hotel after we've landed in Los Angeles. Size from our room was ok, but it was not clean, could still see, where former guest have left their drinks on the table. same in bathroom, safe did not work as well.
But to make it even worse: they did not want to print out my receipt after checkout, told me that I'm fine and that all is prepaid by my travel agency. Instead they send the receipts as a mail to the guests. I will never accept this again! Three days later they've sent me my "updated receipt" with an additonal charge for refreshment center, which I've never used. They've never answered my request.
I will never be their guest again! I would not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

A huge marble lobby which only makes the hotel appear empty. Decent check in staff. Room was a decent size but SOOOO run down. chipped bathroom tiles, dodgy shower arrangement, and a ac unit that gave the option of sweat or not sleep. It is convenient for the airport but dont believe the concierge staff over times to get around LA. The resturant needs to get jumping. expensive and overly laid back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
242 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I don't know if this hotel ever "worked" even when I remember it opened as a Doubletree Hotel 20 some years ago. It has a very modern exterior and palacial interior, but feels cold and without soul. The restaurant on site is a LA chain restaurant called The Daily Grill. It was dead when the hotel looked busy, and no wonder: Their buffet breakfast was $23.00! In comparison, I had the buffet breakfast at the Beverly Hilton less than 2 years ago and it was a fantastic feast that was WELL UNDER $20.

I will give them snaps or should I say the front desk agent who checked me in. I arrived at 10AM looking to check into a king bedded room. None were available and the agent let me take a room with 2 beds for 5 hours unter a king was available! I thought that was very cool and virtually unheard of with most hotels.

The pool and the workout room were small, but probably underutilized due to this being an airport hotel. It looks like they are readying a hotel floor renovation and none too soon. From a room standpoint, this is one of the "dumpier" Westins you will come acrossed.

I'm not a light sleeper and sleep well in nearly all hotels. I can only say that this hotel must have some "trashy" hotel guest combined some with very thin walls. Between the very loud and obnoxious Filipinos who had no sense of it being 2AM or the rednecks who came in on the last Delta flight from Atlanta at 3AM, people had a total lack of respect in walking down the guest halls and deciding to converse outside of rooms.

If their staff acted licked they cared about the guests and showed some aggressive hospitality, I would have given them another star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking94708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We flew all night and needed a quiet oasis to renew and adjust to changing time zones. The Westin gave us early room access and the quiet we needed. Exceptionally clean and restful. Pool beautiful, exercise facility just what O needed. Food service healthy and welcomed. Heavenly bed consistently heavenly!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Chose it for a night after arriving into LA, very comfortable hotel as you would expect from Westin.

No aircraft noise at all, nice resteraunt on the ground floor for Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner, although typical American un-healthy menu :(

Right oposite Thrifty Car Rental, so I walked over to collect the car. Perfect :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#63 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#82 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,382 reviews
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
Westside
Renaissance Los Angeles Airport Hotel
LAX Area
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
#62 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Los Angeles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Los Angeles Airport

Property: The Westin Los Angeles Airport
Address: 5400 W. Century Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045-5975
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#67 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Los Angeles Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Los Angeles Airport, just four blocks from Los Angeles International Airport, offers easy access to major corporations, marvelous shopping, sunny beaches and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Westin Los Angeles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Los Angeles Airport Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin
Westin Lax
Westin Los Angeles Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing