We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the savings!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #212 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the savings!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I want to start off by saying that what you get for the price is a sleeping room, not a hotel room. By this I mean that you WILL NOT have a tv in your room or even a telephone to call the front desk. There will be NO SHAMPOO, BLOW DRYER OR EXTRA OUTLETS TO PLUG IN YOUR CELL PHONE OR COMPUTER, The soap will be the kind that comes out of a dispenser in a public bathroom (like a gas station). You will get a bed, a clock radio, and some very old furniture that frankly looks as if it was garbage picked. The carpet will be thin, old commercial grade and will have no padding underneath it. Expect to be stabbed all night with coils from your mattress. We were told there was a common fridge in the coffee room to keep some food in. When we got there it was filled to capacity with food that had been there since who knows when, and most of the time the ice machine in the fridge was not working properly. In addition to all this, THE SMELL in this place is awful. I would have opened the windows further to air it out, but the screens were all bent and did not fit the windows properly. I was afraid my children would fall out of the windows if I opened them too much,. ALSO NO AIR CONDITIONING-just a too small for the room ceiling fan. Do yourself a favor and spend a little more and stay anywhere else! Location is good, but there are other places I will try next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    20
    10
    14
See reviews for
8
10
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vila Velha, ES
Level Contributor
408 reviews
303 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

The location of this hotel is unbeatable: everything in Westwood in walking distance: supermarkets, restaurants, cinemas and even UCLA. You do not need a car, which would be difficult in other places in LA. The price is so low that you know upfront that this place is no fancy boutique neither a five star hotel, but a place to sleep, which is fine. The room we had for three was big and clean and we slept very well. No issue with bathroom as mentioned in other reviews. There is no breakfast and no parking. The staff of the front desk is very helpful and friendly - especially Leo. Also the housekeeping staff is very attentive. We will stay again in this hotel when in Westwood.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Yeah I know this place was built in 1939, and it says it is still decorated in that type of decor.... BUT they could have at least made the bathroom usable. The sink and tub are rusty and moldy. The mattresses are like sleeping on a hard wood floor. No air or heat, no in room TV or radio & like two electrical outlets in the entire room. Just overall disgusting. Front desk staff was rude, with his feet kicked up on the counter watching TV & eating a big plate of rice and beans. You can bet I WILL NEVER stay here again or recommend this dump, with the rudest staff.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nodoubtamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Despite the wonderful location and the cheap price, this hotel has fleas! I personally have been bitten alive in the stingy and old bed. The hotel smells funny, with crazy detergent they use. I would not recommend staying here, unless you don't mind bringing fleas back home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank audreyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you are looking for a solid alternative to the proudly-pricey hotels in L.A., then consider the Claremont. It's in Westwood, right off Wilshire so perfect for UCLA visitors, but also perfectly located for jaunts to Beverly Hills to the east or Santa Monica and the ocean to the west (you can even do this on the best kept secret in a town not known for keeping secrets: the LA rapid transit. Buses can take you in either direction cheaply and with frequency, day and night.)
The hotel for the price gives you a spacious, functional, room, free wireless internet included, and a 24 hour service at the front desk with clerks who actually smile and laugh. If a hotel itself is not the purpose of your stay in L.A. then consider the Claremont and spend your money on other things!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AintTalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is an old hotel showing its age. However, you can't beat the location, value, cleanliness, friendliness and excellent service. This is known as our third home; we visit our UCLA student frequently: just ask the welcoming committee Leo (aka Leon), Scott, or Lupe at reservation and front desk. (Ask Lupe for a beach front room, a standing joke)

There is a spacious visiting area, communal kitchen, free coffee/tea, and free WiFi. Basic room, no TV...so it's quiet. Lots of international visitors, we feel at home. At $69 a night, you can't find anything for that at Westwood.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drKSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

First, this is a budget hotel and as a traveler, I frequent budget hotels.

We (my 17 year old son and I) found this hotel to suit our needs perfectly. It is close to UCLA campus, which we were visiting and walking distance to many shops, cafes, restaurantsand even the Hammer Museum. The location is very upscale and absolutely safe (I don't understand why other reviewers doubted the safety of the location).

The rooms suggest that this hotel is a converted apartment building since they are somewhat odd shapes. Ours was very large, had wonderful windows overlooking a very small interior yard ("garden" would be a stretch). Everything was clean, albeit there were some stains in the bathroom (as most budget hotels have). Air conditioner worked well, although we preferred having the windows open. I don't think there is a restaurant in this hotel, but many cafes nearby. We did not find overnight parking to be a problem, but we noticed that there are some daytime parking restrictions.

One of the shining stars was the staff. they were very friendly, did everything to make our stay more enjoyable; gave good information about parking and great directions to every where we wanted to go.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wormula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Royal Palace Westwood
Royal Palace Westwood
#103 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Westside
Hilgard House Hotel
Hilgard House Hotel
#141 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Westside
Plaza La Reina
Plaza La Reina
#148 of 349 in Los Angeles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Westside
Beverly Hills Plaza Hotel
Beverly Hills Plaza Hotel
#105 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: 1044 Tiverton Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90024-3015
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing