We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Ranked #185 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for the location”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Room was just ok but we didn't stay a lot in the room and the bed was good. the price ok and it is next to holwd blvd. central for all the rest. No parking space or you're lucky and the gas station next to it is perfect for cheep drinks.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -ch-F1ZZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibertyHotel1, Owner at Hollywood VIP Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a response. We are striving to make this a premier hotel under new ownership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    71
    67
    51
    98
See reviews for
79
109
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were a good size, were larger than we expected. However the rooms and hallways do smell quite strange. Free wi fi was advertised, but did not work in our bedroom. We were forced to sit in the hallway to use it. Washing and drying machines available, however the change machine was out of change. The man at the front desk told us to just go to the servo to have our notes changed to quarters...why have the machines if you can't offer quarters at all times? Also my partner tried to buy a bottle of water from the vending machine. It took his $1 bill and gave nothing back. I had to go to reception once again where the receptionist told me the machine had no water and wouldn't acvept $1 bills....pretty useless when everything in it costs $1. This place is oretty poop, but it's in a good location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibertyHotel1, Owner at Hollywood VIP Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. This hotel is under new ownership and the change of ownership took place 1 day prior to your stay. We realize that the WiFi experience has been unreliable at times in the past but the entire WiFi system is currently being replaced and upgraded to make the internet experience much more reliable for all guests. We'll also be sure to have plenty of quarters in the change machine at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Oh for heaven's sake, stop whinging, all you groaners and moaners, You knew what you were getting into through reading the reviews. It was a nice old-fashioned hotel, with lots of room space - a separate big kitchen area - and I enjoyed the place. The included-breakfast buffet was absolutely positively yummy and there was so much to choose from (however I don't think the breakfast operates weekends). The building was just a hop and a skip away from everything. My one teeny-tiny glitch was that I didn't know how to make an American phone call re the number pattern and the lady at the reception desk - I think she was a fill-in - didn't speak english. The stairs didn't worry me 'cause I only had a carry-bag, I didn't give a toss that I had no view, or that the shower was a bit erratic. The cheap price of this hotel enabled me to do and buy more than I otherwise would have been able to. Because of the Hollywood Liberty Hotel, I had a great holiday in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: If you've got heavy luggage, ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixiehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibertyHotel1, Owner at Hollywood VIP Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are very delighted that you had a pleasant stay and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The location couldn't have been better! Steps away from Hollywood and Highland. Everything we wanted to do in Hollywood was walk-able from the hotel. And to get get to Universal Studios or downtown LA just hop on the Metro right at the corner.

Don't expect luxury. I wouldn't sleep on top of the comforter or eat off the floor, but its safe and clean enough. You are paying this cheap price for a reason, but to be in the backyard of the Lowe's with free wi-fi, breakfast, and parking with this price, you can't ask for better.

Would absolutely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelseycm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLLYWOODLIBERTY, Manager at Hollywood VIP Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and thank you for your pleasant review of our property. We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding our excellent location. We hope you will have the opportunity to return to Hollywood and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The thing nice about this hotel is the location. Great if you want to visit Hollywood in not a lot of time. It's a nice one night stop hotel. You will get good value for your money because of the location.

Rooms are outdated but confortable. Room set up was strange. First the door was directly in looby. Second, there was a walkin that was larger than the bathroom.

Service was poor. Staff is unfriendly and not welcoming. We did complain about hairs in our sheets upon our arrival and we were told that we were demanding customers. For sure make sure to know Spanish so you can understand when they are complaning about you...

Breakfest was ok. Toast, bagel, muffin, coffee. Can help to wait for lunch.

Not that bad, but good service would make a difference.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-François N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

What more can you ask for. I admit that Liberty Hotel in Hollywood has no LIFT which surprised me and my colleague but I got the hang of it (only has 2 floors anyway). You will only have issue when you carry your luggages during chack in and out but all in all GOOD LOCATION! it is at the heart of hollywood. Walking distance to Dolby Theatre, Walk of Stars, Sunset Blvd, Hollywood Blvd, Train station going to Universal Studios, what else can you ask for? I like the breakfast setup (free bfast) since you have to go to their mini dining hall and get your croissant/muffins/bread and drinks. Me and my friends just get our stuff and eat at our room. Wifi is good too. For that price, what more can you ask????? Dont expect a very nice/new beds, etc. You will always be out anyway, so dont fuss! all in all , the location for that price is sooo gooD! will come back..definitely

Room Tip: choose a room on the first floor if you dont want to carry your luggage upstairs or room upstairs c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annematt143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLLYWOODLIBERTY, Manager at Hollywood VIP Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We appreciate your review. Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our continental breakfast, and our centralized location. We appreciate your comments and will share them with our management staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights and had no hot water for 2. Was never told of the issue until we approached them. The room was falling apart, towel rails and shower curtain about to break, chipped tiles everywhere and the old fridge was loud. Only positive was the location. Still waiting on apparent refund.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLLYWOODLIBERTY, Manager at Hollywood VIP Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our property. We regret to hear that you were disappointed during your recent stay with us. We always try to go above and beyond for our guest and it seems we feel short of this goal. We value you as a guest and hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future as we are under new ownership and will be doing major renovations on all of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,131 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#90 of 350 in Los Angeles
518 reviews
Highland Gardens Hotel
#213 of 350 in Los Angeles
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#157 of 350 in Los Angeles
179 reviews
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#186 of 350 in Los Angeles
583 reviews
Hollywood
Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood VIP Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood VIP Hotel

Property: Hollywood VIP Hotel
Address: 1770 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4303 (Formerly Hollywood Liberty Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood VIP Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel is a hotel where each guest is delighted by a clean, well-maintained room, a friendly staff, and by travel value in the amenities of each hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood VIP Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing