We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location and Price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hollywood Liberty Hotel
Ranked #189 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great value for having a free parking lot half a block away from the heart of Hollywood! I suppose the pickiest of travelers might complain about it being a bit dated, but for them there are much fancier hotels (with matching pricetags) around the corner. The staff were incredily welcoming, free breakfast, hot showers, did I mention the large room, great wi-fi, convenient location, and AMAZING price! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura20072012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    69
    65
    49
    96
See reviews for
73
105
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Really good location if you're wanting to stay in the Hollywood area. I think it might of been pretty dusty, as my allergies we very bad when I was inside my room but cleared up as soon as I left. Wifi was good and the gentlemen at the front counter was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Let's get the negative out of the way. Broken/loose tiles, toilet that rocks around, shower cubicle that fills up with water, musty smell, grey linen and towels, air con that had seen better days. Now for the positives. Free Wifi that works (which we found rare in our USA travels), comfy bed,bar fridge, microwave,iron & board in each room, you don't get these amenities even in most $300 a night hotels. A modest breakfast was supplied which was enough to start the day, the staff were friendly and helpful but the real selling point is the location, right around the corner from Hollywood Blvd close to shops and bars etc. and free parking if required. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel for the majority of travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyMouse955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Liberty on the first leg of our around the world tour. As I chose the hotel for is location and budget cost, we were happy with the room. The shower was hot and the beds were comfortable. The daily room service was good and the breakfast was enough to get you started on the days travels. We were after a room to lay our heads at night and a hot shower and this one was perfect for that. Our tours were booked at the front reception without problem, we just gave them an extra days notice. Overall happy with the hotel

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Everything said about this budget hotel located in the heart of Hollywood is probably true. There are plumbing problems among other things, but as a native Los Angelino I stayed here for two nights and parked my car safely for free! I walked to every popular destinaion easily. The staff was courteous and helpful. Anyone on a budget who wants to visit Hollywood can do so. It is a place to sleep (and park your car!). If you want first class prices, there are many to choose from. I would stay here again and pocket the money I save without a second thought or complaint.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathmandusue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The place was disgusting
broken tiles, no battery in the smoke alarm, the room smelt the service was terrible
no plug for the basin the reply i got was sorry we have to replace the whole basin, our rooms were never attended to, there was no toilet roll holder your sat on the toilet seat you lent to one side so many things wrong with this place i dont know why this place is still in operation

Room Tip: Never book this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joshy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLLYWOODLIBERTY, Manager at Hollywood Liberty Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our property. We regret to hear that you were disappointed during your recent stay with us. We always try to go above and beyond for our guest and it seems we feel short of this goal. We value you as a guest and hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future as we are under new ownership and will be doing major renovations on all of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

So I stayed at this hotel on for 4 nights 11/2012 it was a great stay the room was very spacious, parking, free wifi & breakfast :) the staff and housekeeper made me feel like home, very polite and friendly! It's a small family owned business but it was worth what I paid for..I will definetely be coming back and recommend this place !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G_guurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#158 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#128 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highland Gardens Hotel
#230 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Hollywood
Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Hollywood
Comfort Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Liberty Hotel

Property: Hollywood Liberty Hotel
Address: 1770 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4303
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Liberty Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel is a hotel where each guest is delighted by a clean, well-maintained room, a friendly staff, and by travel value in the amenities of each hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hollywood Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing