We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice gym equipment.. albeit rather quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
Ranked #79 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Fla
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice gym equipment.. albeit rather quiet”
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Stayed 06/08; friendly greeting; large room - clean although the building is a bit old (ie. rug).

PROS:
1. Inside basketball court
2. Inside track and pools
3. Very high-quality Kaiser gym equipment (high pressure) -two floors of weights and good stuff

CONS:
1. surrounding area of LA is typical big city.. not very walkable

  • Liked — Close to business meeting
  • Disliked — Its way too quiet - ie non-existent social scene
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Son-of-Poochmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    154
    41
    18
    11
See reviews for
44
154
39
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2007

I spent a weekend here -- first time in downtown L.A. -- for a business conference and frankly wish, in hindsight, that I'd booked elsewhere.

It's certainly a popular place and was sold out for our weekend but the room was beyond depressing (I rarely do this but asked to move) and so was moved to the only other room available (which they told me was smaller) and because it was smaller it didn't have, for instance, a mini-fridge. No big deal but rather silly. Both were depressing; gray in decor, charmless, a nylon bedspread, and no view out of the windows in either room. Meaning not just a bad view but you looked at other guest rooms no matter how you sat.

And we were there for business and yet there were no business services (such as a desk). Maybe in the "bigger" rooms? But not in the two I saw. As well, the onsite restaurant was empty at night and ... here's that word again -- depressing. Perhaps it's a good weekday lunch spot but again, for the leisure-oriented traveler, ick.

And the location is poor. It's not near anything. In fact despite what I'd heard about a renaissance in LA (and it's true, there are definitely areas in downtown that sparkle) this wasn't one of them. I'm a fairly intrepid traveler but I was leery about walking around at night -- which is I why I stayed onsite for dinner the first night.

I did venture out the second (couldn't face another meal in the dining room) and tried the Water Grill -- it's a seafood restaurant a few blocks away, highly recommended and rather expensive. But it was marvelous, just marvelous and was the highlight of my weekend.

One of the benefits I'll admit to an LA Athletic Club stay is to use the facilities -- and they have a pool and tons of space for working out -- but attending a conference meant there really wasn't time to utilize them.

I'd go back downtown in LA again but I would stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — the location, the gloomy ambience
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coryhtri, Manager at The Los Angeles Athletic Club, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
The 72 hotel rooms at The Los Angeles Athletic Club have been completely renovated since your visit. Go to laachotel.com to see updated pictures. Downtown LA has also changed a lot and now the most popular restaurants and bars are right across the street from LAAC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2007

Enjoyed my stay at the L.A. Athletic Club . The room was more than adequate: terry robes, refrigerator, nice bathroom with shampoos, razor etc. The building itself is grand ! A beautiful indoor pool, a basketball court , cardio, weights and spa facilities...if you like to work out you can't do much better. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, coffee and muffins brought to your room in the morning...a very professional staff, nice atmoshere. I found the area walkable, and mostly pleasant...a homeless person here and there but hey it's a city. The only negative I'll mention is that the mattress was a little on the firm side , but I would definitely stay there again .

  • Liked — location and gym/pool facilities, staff, breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — too firm mattress
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cecilskong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2006

I recently stayed here for three night on business. What a bargain!

The pluses:

It's conveniently close to the freeway, right in the jewelry district of LA, and very reasonably priced. Staff are fabulous: polite, helpful, and friendly. It's a beautiful old building, and the rooms, while small, are very nice. It's got an older, slightly funky charm. You can see signs of wear-and-tear on it, but I have to say the bed, while firmer than I like, was still reasonably comfortable, and everything was very clean. There are such nice little touches, too, like a basket of fruit and cheese delivered to your room before check-in, chocolate mints every day on your pillows, and you can order free morning coffee service delivered to your room. I've never before seen not just shampoo, conditioner, soaps and creams in the bathrooms, but also a fresh disposable razor, shaving cream, & a toothbrush and some toothpaste, as well.

It also has a very good restaurant on site, which offers a free breakfast: no continental silliness here: this is a full breakfast, with eggs, potatoes, toast, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, yogurt (the real stuff, not just yoplait, though they have that as well) etc. On Fridays they have a cook there doing omelettes to order. The restaurant offers dinner and lunch as well, and, by LA standards, is reasonably priced and pretty good quality.

You are free to use the athletic facilities, too: an indoor pool, weights, sauna, steam room, etc.) It IS an athletic club, after all.

Over all, I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, except possibly someone who was mobility impaired: while there are elevators, of course, I think there may be some areas (like the parking garage) which would be at least a hassle to get to for someone on crutches or a wheelchair, or just had trouble with stairs, if in fact it's possible to avoid the stairs from the lobby area to the elevators which go to the garage.

Indoor parking is reasonably priced and seemed more than adequate for the size of the hotel.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared to drive, this is not a walk-friendly area, particularly not at night. Of course, is there any such thing in LA?
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarolSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 30, 2006

I attended a conference at this hotel, and was fore-warned not to book a room. I'm glad I did not. The area is loaded w/aggressive pan-hanlers and street-sleepers (my sympathies, but not a great vac experience). The desk had to call a cab each time, and warned me not to wait outside the door. The facilities were down at the heels and just sad.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 11, 2004

I stay at the LAAC once a month and I love it. I especially appreciate the workout facilities. The buffet breakfast is wonderful and the staff treat you well. The robes and fruit baskets in your room are a welcome addition. I highly recommend staying here to my coworkers and friends.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 17, 2004

I stayed here for 4 nights for a convention in LA. It's an 12 story building with the top three floors as a hotel. the hotel is in a bad area with lots of homeless people (you can't walk out at night which is the biggest drawback). also, cabs do NOT hang out at the LAAC, which means you have to call a cab, I had to walk to the Hyatt (5-10 minutes away) each time! Previously, I've stayed at the Omni which is in a much better area and a much better hotel.

Plus: free breakfast and athletic facilites are extensive with lots of athletic classes to choose from.Minus: my room was very dusty/dirty and the curtains and lamps were old. The lamp in the hallway on the 12th floor was dotted with dust and obviouly stained but no one bothered to clean it.
The athletic facilities need to be updated,too out of date

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
693 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#85 of 351 in Los Angeles
404 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#68 of 351 in Los Angeles
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#55 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,264 reviews
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#39 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Los Angeles Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Los Angeles Athletic Club

Property: The Los Angeles Athletic Club
Address: 431 W. Seventh Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-1601
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Los Angeles Athletic Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you need a private getaway after a long day at work, a hideaway for a romantic weekend, or accommodations for your V.I.P. guests, our 72 elegantly appointed rooms atop The Los Angeles Athletic Club await you. Guest have full access to 88,000 sq ft of athletic facilities, 3 restaurants and a rooftop lounge. Breakfast and discounted parking are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Los Angeles Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel Los Angeles
The Los Angeles Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing